We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Metadee Resort and Villas
Ranked #13 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed April 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights in a Private Pool Villa. The villa was big and clean and matched our expectations. We loved having the extra room and private space to swim and relax. The staff were pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was enjoyable. This is a quiet resort perfect for couples trying to escape the rat race.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SebGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

515 - 521 of 1,387 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the Metadee in March 2013 as a couple. Booked 5 nights as a relaxing end to a month of travelling round SE Asia. We booked in advance online and got a very reasonable room rate. Check website for multiple deals.
The hotel itself is set in lovely grounds and is extremely well maintained - always gardeners out watering plants and cutting the grass. The pool is very large - a real treat and having it's own little meandering canal is a unique characteristic.

We stayed in a Pool Access Villa and found it to extremely spacious and comfortable. The bed was comfy and large, shower was huge, nice big TV and direct access to the pool which is a bonus, though you don't get much sun on the terrace so don't expect to be able to sun bathe there all day. (we weren't fussed and spent most of our time at the main pool). One thing I would say is that I felt that the room was very "gappy" with lots of space round doors for bigger creepy crawlies to get in. This probably wouldn't bother most but for me it felt a little more "closer to nature" than I would choose to be. We did have some little ants in the room on bedside table and in the dressing room/round a window which we told reception about but it didn't seem to be too much of an issue to them, so we just made sure we didn't have any food or drink inside the room and ignored them and didn't see much of them. I think for some this would be an issue but they didn't bother us too much. If I am being picky, I think the place could have been a little bit cleaner, though it was not dirty - just room for improvement in bathroom cleaning in particular with some marks left that probably could be scrubbed off. The rest of the room very well maintained, clean and really pleasantly designed. The free mini bar (only soft drinks) is welcome.

The staff were extremely attentive and friendly and they all work together very well. You can see them all smiling and getting along which is lovely to see. (I have no doubt that if I had have made more of an issue about the ants then something more would have been done but we just weren't THAT bothered)

Poolside is very chilled but also family friendly if you are with children. The food was lovely though both food and drinks are pricey in comparison to other places we stayed in Thailand. We still ate there most days and enjoyed all dishes. Breakfast was great too - lots of choice and fresh food.
Buggy service to main road is a luxury because really it is not far to walk at all.

We didn't use the spa and instead went to one of the cheaper local spa's in Kata - I think the pricing was much more reasonable there.

Nearby restaurants we recommend Cafe Opera Live, The Boathouse (£££) and The Horn Grill Steak House (or something like that) all within walking distance.

Overall a lovely stay here. Kata beach is not a paradise destination as such and felt rather more touristy and a bit more "Benidorm" than many of the places we had visited previously in Thailand, but if you are looking for sun, sea, beaches, decent grub and family/couple holiday atmosphere with entertainment such as Elvis tribute "Delvis" on your doorstep lol.... then it is great and metadee is a great value, friendly place to base your trip from.

Room Tip: Pool access villa are lovely if you want a dip into the pool, but i think our experience would still...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19lmk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

With all the positive reviews on TripAdvisor, I decided to book the Metadee for my family visiting from the US. We were not disappointed. The rooms were great, buffet breakfast was delicious and we spent countless hours by the pool. One thing that I didn't realize was available was their buggy service to the main road in Kata. This makes their location easy to access and very convenient. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhelliot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We booked the Metadee after recommendation from a friend and reviews online. The hotel was as pictured on their website and we weren't disappointed. Staff were very friendly and nothing was ever a problem, we booked a pool access villa and would do this again as the ease of access from the room to the pool was brilliant.
Our booking included breakfast and we found we usually skipped lunch due to the amount and variety of foods available. The pool is a real plus especially if you have one of the access pool villas, as its like having your own private section we didn't feel the need to take a lounge around the main pool area for the whole time we were there.
The Metadee might not be in the midst of the noise and nightlife but if that's what your trying to avoid we'd highly recommend it.
We'll be back...

Room Tip: The Pool access villas are brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pkbrawntravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Was given an upgrade on arrival into a access pool villa. Room was simply beautiful! Great finishings, lovely bathroom and bedroom with nice lounge and comfortable king bed. Access to the pool was a great touch and you could just swim from your room to the main pool area.
Staff very friendly and happy to be there, singer with guitar plays each night. The buffet breakfast was very very good! Lots to choose from.
Overall we loved this hotel and loved the area, many restaurant choices on one of the best beaches, and only a 10 minute tuk tuk to patong so still close to main city area but away from the loud liveliness.

Would definately stay here again, a pool bar would've been a nice touch and the only thing I could recommend to make this hotel more amazing. But drinks prices very cheap at bar and happy hour is 2 hrs long.

Room Tip: Access pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Metadee hotel is very nice place, where you feel comfortable et happy. We had a pool access room , well designed in a thai style, where water and vegatation is dominant. it's clean and confortable. The staff pay particular attention to customer satisfaction. The hotel by a lovely, present and professional lady. She proposed us spontaneously a free late check-out the day before our departure despite the fully booked hotel. The argument was that a pregant woman have not to wait a lot in an airport for a late flight departure. A lovely example of thai hospitality. A little effort will be done for improve the choice in breakfast , to reach the prefection

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saadparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is our second stay at this resort and we were still impressed. We stayed for 13 nights as a large family group across 3 pool access rooms - which were all lovely but not private like the pool villas (which we were all temporarily upgraded to until our rooms became available). Although busier than last year, there were always enough deck chairs and the pool (200m +) was never crowded. The day spa staff were very professional and polite - the spa had 50% off deals during our stay which made prices comparable to the road side spas. The reception staff were excellent and helped us out on numerous occasions including; fixing our safe, breaking the lock off our case after we lost the key and making phone enquiries to a non English speaking tailor on our behalf. Staff behind the bar and in the restaurant were fantastic, always remembering us and our regular order. Pool access rooms are quite large and provide more privacy than pool access villas (due to the garden layout). Beware that the twin share rooms do not have mosquito nets, thankfully staff were happy to relocate me to a different room even though the resort was fully booked. It may not have beach views or much of a nightlife but I would highly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Twin rooms don't have mosquito nets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashes856
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,174 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 10 in Karon Beach
2,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 55 in Kata Beach
793 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 55 in Kata Beach
933 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metadee Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metadee Resort and Villas

Address: 66 Kata Road, T Karon, Phuket | A Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $117 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metadee Resort and Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, Fastbooking, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Metadee Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metadee Resort And Villas Hotel Kata Beach
Metadee Resort And Villas Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing