We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Metadee Resort and Villas
Ranked #14 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A bit of paradise”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This resort was absolutely perfect - everything we could have wanted for a much needed beach holiday. The staff were friendly and very helpful - the free taxi service to area attractions (elephant trekking, Big Buddha & islands) was really handy (not to mention the luxury of being chouffeured to the top of the mountain in air conditioning). Our room (2nd floor) was beautiful with all the amenities you could need. The large free-standing bathtub was especially inviting. The food was delicious and the rooms and grounds were always pristine. We also enjoyed the spa facilities and the beautiful pool. The beach shuttle was also very convenient although we never made use of it as the beach was only a short walk. We also used the airport pick up service which was very reasonable and made our journey stress-free.

We had a wonderful time and have no complaints, a truly amazing resort if you're after a totally chilled & relaxing holiday by the beach. One of the most beautiful beaches we've ever seen and some of the best food we've ever eaten. We were very impressed by the attention to detail of all aspects of the stay here and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms provide more privacy than poolside - we were very happy with ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sputnikwashere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    771
    378
    107
    31
    30
See reviews for
267
771
24
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had such a good time at Metadee we didn't want to leave. The staff were so friendly and helpful. The pool was amazing and the hotel isn't too big like the one our other family stayed at. Metadee is central to most places you might want to go. We are coming back next year. Thank you Metadee for a relaxing, quiet and friendly holiday.

Room Tip: Delux pool access room best choice, swimming from your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ogg818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel it so outstanding!
When we arrived the hotel was overbooked and we had to stay overnight at another hotel, but Metadee was worth waiting for. We were then upgraded to a Access Pool Villa - a realy great (and big) room. The hotel staff was so nice, kind and helpfull.
The distance from the hotel to the main road is a long walk, but the Metadee has a small golf-car and you just ask the reception to bring you up to the main road. A small "bus-stop" shed with a direct phone to the reception is placed by the main road and you just pick up the phone and ask them to pick you up by the main road again - very nice!
The pool is huge and is pleasant and enjoyable. The hotel is very nicely maintained and you're provided with an outstanding service. It is the best that money can buy.

Room Tip: The access pool villa is a nice, private and romantic room with direct access to the pool from the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Christina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed for 8 nights in a private pool villa as we went to Phuket for a family wedding, I can not fault this place. The staff were amazing ( especially Sebastian and Boy ) everyone was fantastic with the kids , the facilities were great, clean and nothing was too much trouble. We were part of a large group staying there and everyone was very impressed. Only a short easy 10 minute walk to the beach but a hotel shuttle bus will take you there on the hour ever hour. Reception staff are only too happy to help with booking activities and the food, and buffet breakfast at the restaurant was beautifully presented. Cocktails were great, I would highly recommend this beautiful resort, thanks for a great holiday !!! Elissa and family

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elissa N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We stayed at the Metadee from 8 Feb to 23 Feb 2013 and had a brilliant holiday. The airport transfer to pick up and drop us off was spot on and we relaxed and felt at home from day one. Thank you to all the fantastic staff (Tao, Dang, Sebastian...) and Tommy the manager. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, so friendly and just wonderful with our five year old daughter who just loved it. The rooms are designed to a contemporary style and the location is perfect, the best of both worlds: tucked away from the main hustle and bustle of Kata Road if you want a quiet oasis but also close enough to walk to explore Kata beach, shopping and restaurants (we loved the buggy lifts to Kata Road). Kata Noi and Nai Harn beaches are all a short tuk tuk away as is the fab elephant trekking at Kok Chang. It’s also easy to get to Phuket town and the big shopping malls by taxi, the guys at reception are always ready and waiting to take you anywhere you need to go. The food was great a good selection and drinks by the pool were always a pleasure. The pool is huge and to swim to end to end was a great daily exercise. The only down point was having to keep logging onto the Wi-Fi.

The Metadee offers great service and style at an affordable price; it’s the perfect location to explore Phuket. I would thoroughly recommend a stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MMBMMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

POSITIVES:
When my husband and I arrived at the resort, the staff were friendly and when they found out that we were celebrating our anniversary they had decorated our room (a private villa and pool) with rose petals and red towel swans, the bath tub had been drawn and filled with floating red/pink rose petals as well as a welcome platter of fresh fruit.
The staff at the resort thought of everything; when we wanted to go to Kata beach, they had provided a beach bag filled with water bottles, towels, sandals and umbrellas! They even arranged for a staff member to drop us off at the beach so we wouldn't have to walk in the midday heat.
The food outside of the resort is watered down Thai cuisine for the increasingly prevalent Russian community, we found by paying approximately $3 more per meal the quality of the food in the resort was AMAZING. Additionally, the staff at the resort also threw several celebrations for two couples who were on their honeymoon. The resort has a live band play during dinner, the singer dedicated songs (and took requests) to the couples as well - much to the couples surprise!
The staff also put on an outdoor buffet BBQ dinner around the swimming pool, we ate dinner under the stars that night - it was magical especially with the red lanterns being lit and floating up into the sky from the nearby beach. It was particularly nice to see other guests dressing up for the dinner, which was clearly appreciated by the staff considering the extra effort they went to organise it.
Now, the pool itself is pretty cool, it runs around the entire resort, it feels like you're swimming through a mini jungle (minus the reptiles!), at night the pool has twinkling lights and it feels like you're swimming through the stars.
One last thing about the staff, they actually took the time to get to know our names, from management to the waitstaff at breakfast. Not only that, they remember your tea/coffee choices as well.

NEGATIVES:
It was unfortunate to see other guests at the resort treating the staff rudely, particularly two Australian families who demanded room upgrades, refusing to pay for them and demanding extra beds for extra guests but refusing to pay. The staff we professional and were as helpful as they could be from what the entire resort witnessed. Being Australians ourselves, I can only assume by the uncultured behaviour (topless sunbathing and ignoring clearly marked signs banning it due to being offensive to local customs and the constant swearing/tantrums amongst themselves) that this was their first ever trip abroad - including the parents.

Don't let this put you off, we are planning on going back later this year.
This resort wasn't just for lovebirds either, there were businessmen there holding a banquet, families with young children and groups of friends as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lakshami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were at metadee from 4th feb until 20th feb 2013 and loved every minute, the staff in restaurant we helpfully and nothing was too much trouble, especially waiter named Boy.
The only negative we experienced was when we first arrived to be told our pool access room was not available for first night! We were put in a villa which was lovely and we would not have minded staying there for our whole stay but had to move into our original room the next day, I felt this wasted a day of our holiday so a little annoyed as we had book our holiday 6 months prior. The reception staff although spoke English not enough to understand we were not happy about our first night experience, very frustrating as we arrived tired and just wanted to unpack and begin our holiday.

Room Tip: If we returned I would choose a villa with pool access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
1,026 reviews
2.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.7 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 57 in Kata Beach
906 reviews
0.8 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metadee Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metadee Resort and Villas

Property: Metadee Resort and Villas
Address: 66 Kata Road, T Karon, Phuket | A Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metadee Resort and Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Metadee Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metadee Resort And Villas Hotel Kata Beach
Metadee Resort And Villas Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing