We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metadee Resort and Villas
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I just have to share the wonderful stay hubby and I had at Matadee Resort. We booked a pool access room but was upgraded to a pool access villa for our 2 nights stay. The hotel receptionist was very friendly to greet us and prepare a welcome drink for our check-in. Furthermore, the buggy car service was prompt and very much appreciated. Even the staff who managed the buffet breakfast area can remembered us after our 1st day breakfast.
The pool access villa was clean, big and comfortable. Furthermore, Matadee Resort is located inner of the main street so we get to enjoy peace and quiet in the villa. (not to worry, the buggy car will drive you to the main street if you need to go) and villa also provides hourly service trip to Kata Beach.

thanks Matadee Resort for the wonderful stay :)

Room Tip: pool access villa :)
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prystal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
There are newer reviews for Metadee Resort and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

522 - 528 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

We had the pool access room for 4 nights. People complain that it is far from the street....but that is the best part about it! You can get away from the madness of kata. The staff were lovely upon arrival, treating us like royalty. The layout of the complex makes it very private and quiet. The pool is amazing and the pool access rooms means that you can just dive right in from your back door. A cheaper taxi can be gotten from just outside the hotel, so book that rather than pay the 1200 from the hotel itself. Great hotel for married couples looking for a relaxing retreat. GREAT EXPERIENCE OVERALL, HIGHLY RECOMMENDED.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Reynoldsgunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Well what can I say other than what a great resort! We have stayed at a lot of resorts in phuket, Bali and Fiji over the years and this is now voted by us as the number 1 resort we have ever stayed in.From the time we arrived and checked in to our room all went well. The room was a pool view room with 2 double beds joined as one! it was a really big bed!!! very very comfortable. The room has a rain shower which was just the best shower ( never wanted to get out of it). Each room has a fridge and a safe. The air conditioning works a treat. The WI-FI internet works best if you use the desk near the window.
The staff were so friendly. The main thing that makes this hotel a winner for us was the great pool. Its a pool plus a long swimming canal which allows you to stroll up the canal to a small waterfall (great for your back) and a jet spa you can use outside of the villas along the way.
The beach is close by and so too shopping.

Room Tip: Any room is a great room. the pool view rooms are on level 1 so if u have problems walking up steps...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pedrotheswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Outstanding accommodation. Friendly staff, room extremely comfortable (private pool villa). Beautiful resort, well maintained, clean rooms. Because the hotel is a bit far from the main road, they have a buggy service to take you there whenever you want although not as far as you couldn't walk. They have a bus service to the beach every our. Good restaurant (pricy though if you compare with the food around Kata) but you pay for the comfort of not having to walk around.
I don't know what more one can ask when it comes to good accommodation. Our experience there couldn't be better.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Nane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Honeymoon stay here in December was nothing short of beautiful! Friendly staff, very nice pool that doesn't get too busy and tucked away from the main road in kata. About 5 min walk to the main road and 15min walk to kata beach?? if your the lazy type there's a buggy that takes you from the hotel to the main..

Pool view rooms are probably better then pool access due to the fact there's nobody swimming outside your room we found. Couldn't get over the friendliness of the staff always smiling. Really missed this place when we went to patong to finish off our honeymoon before leaving. Will be returning same time next year:)

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RTLU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel based on the photographs on their website and the good reviews it had received. We weren't disappointed! Going to make this review practical and positive as there is nothing we could complain about. Location: we appreciated the fact the hotel was off the main road very quiet. Road to hotel very safe to walk down at night with a security man on the gate.

Resort: kata's entertainment consisted of a Thai Elvis! But it is busling at night with plenty of restaurants to choose from. karon is within walking distance with a little more going on.

Hotel: stunning! Lives up to the website. Pool is amazing and as it is so big you feel like there's no one else around. Practical point if you want sun on your apartment get a pool access villa as the apartments don't get the sun. Don't let this put you off as it was so hot we appreciated no sun on the room. Didn't have any issues getting sunbeds.

Room: large, comfy bed, authentically Thai. Beach bag, beach towels supplied along with little extras won't spoil the surprise! Tim cleaned our room spotlessly everyday and managed to time it perfectly, never ever saw her! Oh and they supply mosquito plug-ins.

Breakfast: if this doesn't satisfy you nothing will. Everything you could think of and catered for every nation. It was nearly the best meal of the day for me.!!!

Gym: small with dumb-bells didn't use the equipment but there was a basic runner and cross trainer. We went most days and it wasn't really used by other guests could get compact but just have to time it right.

Staff: fantastic. Can't do enough to help you. Thoughtful and respectful. Note the boss lady that walks round every morning checking every last detail! No topless sun bathing as we found on day 12 when boss lady caught us ooops! Even the gardening staff greet you with a smile or good morning. Very attentive.

This is a top hotel doing a top job. The bar food and prices are a little more compared to kata prices but a fridge in your room gives you the chance to keep bought items cold.

Overall if you're looking at the website now and reading this review.. Get it booked!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank abifinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Arriving in the Kata Beach area is a strange experience. This is because, as you get closer and closer to it - the Thai people (and their culture) seem to disappear entirely. We were, instead, surprised to find the place full of sunburnt Russians and tacky little tourist shops. It felt instantly like a kind of Thai costa del sol.

The hotel itself is placed at the end of a long driveway that stretches back from the main road. There's a telephone box at the start of the drive - where you can phone for a hotel golf buggy to come and pick you up - but we always just walked (as it only took 5 mins max). The driveway is not massively attractive - and is lined down one side by massage shops and low-budget chalet rooms. Once you get down as far as the hotel though - the place is very nice looking.

Check-in was slow - and the person on reception answered the phone several times during the process, ignoring the fact that we were sitting there waiting to be checked-in and taken to our room.

We had chosen a pool access room (after reading through Trip Advisor) - and it looked amazing as we arrived. The bed was enormous - and everything looked clean and fresh. We were impressed by the little decked area outside our patio doors - and by the pool. In fact, the pool is very clearly the best thing about the Metadee. It snakes around the entire resort and is lined by vegetation and waterfall features. We couldn't wait to get in there.

Of course, the downside to having the swimming pool just 2 metres from your backdoor is the noise generated by other guests. We'd been in Thailand for a week and a half when we got to Phuket, and the Metadee was to be our 'relaxing' end to the trip. However, it was hard to enjoy laying about in the room during the day as there were kids screaming their heads off in the pool - just metres from our bed. Later in the day we found a different problem, and that was that, although people were meant to stop going in the pool at 7pm, there were some who insisted on going in as late as 1045pm - and again, every splash, shriek and giggle sounded like it was happening right there in our room. 1045pm doesn't sound all that late, I know, but the heat and humidity in Thailand will sap your energy - and you'll want to get your rest! So, although it depends on the other guests who at the resort when you're there, be warned that they pool access rooms can feel a little bit noisy.

Breakfast at the Metadee was ok. There was a decent selection of bits and pieces to choose from - but it was, perhaps, a little uninspired.

The thing that annoyed me hugely about the Metadee was the fact that they couldn't order us a cab to the airport when we wanted to leave. Yep, seriously. We went to reception, asked for a taxi - and were told that we had to ask at the 'taxi desk' which sat directly outside the reception room. We went to that desk and were given a price that was about £10 higher than we had paid the taxi driver that brought us to the hotel. Being Thailand, we thought that we could haggle this price down - but no, it was a set price. Not wanting to pay such a ridiculously inflated (and quite frankly offensive) rate, we went back into reception and asked the receptionist to call us another taxi company. She replied that she couldn't do that - and that if we wanted to use a company other than the one situated on site, we would have to phone them ourselves - or walk down to the beach and book it with one of the street vendors. I found this completely and utterly unacceptable. Being told that we had to either use the expensive taxi or make our own arrangements was a kick in the teeth, in my opinion. We wandered down onto the strip and found the 'least sleazy looking' taxi company, booked a cab - and found that it was, indeed, much, much cheaper than the one from the Metadee. So, what I would say is DON'T BOOK YOUR TAXI BACK TO PHUKET AIRPORT USING THE METADEE TAXI SERVICE - and don't rely on reception to help you out with getting in touch with a different taxi company. Absolutely useless service. 0/10 for that aspect of the stay.

Overall, the resort is pretty impressive looking - and the pool is among the best I've seen. There are, however, downsides to the pool access rooms - and the service given at reception area is poor to average.

We wouldn't stay at the Metadee again - but then, we wouldn't stay in Kata Beach again either (it's too tacky and costa del sol ish).

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metadee Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metadee Resort and Villas

Address: 66 Kata Road, T Karon, Phuket | A Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $55 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metadee Resort and Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metadee Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metadee Resort And Villas Hotel Kata Beach
Metadee Resort And Villas Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing