We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Intelligently laid out resort with fantastic pool and cheerful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Metadee Resort and Villas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Metadee Resort and Villas
Ranked #18 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
470 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 743 helpful votes
“Intelligently laid out resort with fantastic pool and cheerful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was our first vacation where we only staid at one hotel - we were used to backpacking before. The Metadee was a great place for this experience.
The pool is probably the most exciting part of the hotel. It stretches through all of the resort. I guess from one end to the other (around some corner) it was about 150 meters. It was fun to swim back and forth and if you did this a couple of times quite a good workout. The water was always crystal clear. Since many of the rooms have direct pool access the beds at the main pool were never fully occupied.
Our room (without pool access) was fully and modernly equipped and as clean as it is possible in this climate. The only problem was the sliding door of the toilet, that was a little loud and made nightly visits a little complicated if you didn´t want to wake up your partner.
I was happy with the second floor room and without direct pool access (all rooms on the first floor), since the rooms were lighter and we could leave the balcony door open without being afraid, that our baby daughter would drown herself in the pool. We were also better protected from views into our room from swimmers in the pool. I experienced, that most people in the pool access rooms - understandably - always had their curtains closed.
Staff was really cheerful, starting from the gardner we met every morning on the way to breakfast up to the general manager, who took her daily rounds through the grounds. The staff at breakfast was also great, they joked around with our daughter a lot.
I found breakfast great, since I like Asian food and there were a couple daily changing options available. In addition there was fresh fruit, cereal, lots of breads, noodles, potatoes, individually prepared omelettes and salad.
We knew about the location but didn´t find it a problem. There is a "buggy service" with golf carts from the hotel down the 300 meters to the road, where you can walk an additional 15 minutes to the beach, if you are without a stroller you might even make it in 10 minutes. There also is an hourly shuttle to the beach, which we missed on most of the days. But since we always did some shopping on the way that was no problem. We even walked to Karon beach a couple of times which also is just 30 minutes.
We stayed here over Christmas and New Year´s. While we didn´t go to the Christmas party we attended New Year´s Eve party. It was quite expensive at 5.000 THB per person. We expected some professional dancers at the promoted performances for this price and were a little disappointed when it was all done by hotel staff (starting from the maids to engineers etc.) The party was still nice with a special flair and almost familiar and quite intimate. We had a good time but probably would´t attend it again for this price.

Room Tip: I was happy with the second floor room and without direct pool access (all rooms on the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marchlewski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    366
    99
    28
    30
See reviews for
253
733
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

Metadee is a picture perfect resort. It lived up to the beautiful images we've seen before finalizing our booking. However, a couple of things got to us after having spent 3 nights at the hotel. On our first night the electricity got cut off twice. There was no emergency lighting and no flash lights provided. Not ideal especially with a baby in the room. The reception did not offer any explanation other than that blackouts are common in Phuket and that a flash light will be sent to our room. It never came. We also had very bad wifi service even with a strong signal. There are over 40 tv channels to choose from, but almost all of it is in thai. Even english movies are dubbed in Thai so we had a very hard time choosing anything to watch. Then a day later, we called for a buggy from the main street and waited for a good 20mins before deciding to walk. When we reached the hotel, there were a few buggies parked and the girls at the reception were chatting away. I suppose the message didnt get to the drivers. Our impression of the resort was pretty much tainted from then on. The only thing we loved about it was the pool access rooms. Spacious and clean. Also, the pool was great. Other than that, nothing was truly special about metadee. The beach is not as close as it appears on the map, surely for the price, there are better resorts to choose from.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bedede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the matadee and could not have had a more pleasant experience. The hotel has a short walk to the Main Street (the hotel does offer a golf cart shuttle to the end if you do not feel like walking) and is roughly a 10 minute walk to the beach. We felt completely safe and secure at all times, and enjoyed the nightlife surrounding us.

We had a room which connected to the pool with and outdoor shower. If you stay here, you must get this type of room, it's was the best part of our vacation. Being able to wake up, enjoy a cup of coffee on the deck, and jumping directly into the pool was delightful. We even enjoyed a few night swims. :-)

Housekeeping left us a different towel creature each day, and cleaned the room well.

We would not recommend eating at the hotel, the food was average at best and somewhat overpriced.

If we were to ever return to Thailand we would definitely stay here again?

Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Carrie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2013

We just checked out of this hotel, we stayed for 7 nights in a pool access room. The hotel is lovely. It is off the main road and yes the drive way is long, however there is a 24 hr buggy service, just pick up the phone and 30 seconds later someone is there to pick you up. Not sure what other people expect in breakfast but there was lots more than bacon and eggs, agreed not to my taste but I was not let for wanting anything.
I would suggest that you book an airport transfer, the cars are clean, cool and the drivers are great. We used the one driver for all our stay and he was great spoke ok English and new all the things we should do.
The food at the hotel was really good we choose Thai food and it was really good.
We found house keeping very good as well extra towels delivered and a blown light blub fixed within 10 mins. An hourly transfer to Karon beach is offered free of charge and Kata beach is only 5 minute walk from the main road, 10 if you walk the drive way as well, yes the gym is small but this is a resort not your local training facility the treadmills worked an you can do a weights workout with a little creativity in your exercise choice.
We found all the staff just delightful and they even got to know our name ( and the hotel was full)
The hotel pool speaks for itself it is very big and runs thru the resort.
We were very sad to have to check out!

Room Tip: From what I saw all the rooms looked good but seriously recommend the pool access rooms or pool acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gauteng
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights from 24th December. We came to Metadee on the back of positive reviews we read on Trip Advisor and having spent a fantastic week at Centara Grand Beach in Karon, we decided to spend a week in Kata.

For benefit of others wanting to stay at this hotel I will comment on the various aspects of the hotel both positive and negative:

Setting
When we arrived at the hotel I was shocked & so disappointed to see the location of this hotel - the hotel is quite a way off the main Kata road and hence is a fair distance from the beach (you need to go by hotel shuttle). The hotel is in fact down a long driveway and is anything but elegant as would be expected from a 4.5 star "Resort". I would say calling this a "resort" is a stretch.

Rooms
We stayed in a 1 bedroom pool Villa which was very nice, fairly new and quite spacious. We have no complaints with the accommodation.

Reception area
For a hotel that is wanting international guests, the staff speak very limited English and even booking a restaurant or organizing a Tuk-tuk was challenging at times. I noticed other clients coming in to ask the most basic questions and were met with blank stares!

Other services
Kids club - This is a small room off the driveway with a TV and a few toys. Hardly meets any definition of a kids club. No one seemed to ever use it for this reason. There is no staff there to look after kids so you can't leave them there alone.
Gym - Small gym with 2 treadmills, weights, a bike and step machine. Initially the treadmills weren't working (we complained and it was fixed) but the bike never worked. The aircon is totally ineffective and hence it was like doing gym in a sauna - not pleasant.
Pool - nice pool, very big as it stretches across the whole hotel.
Babysitter - We asked the reception to arrange us a babysitter for our 3 kids, gave 24 hours notice. On the day when we went to confirm we were told there wasn't one available and then when I complained they said we could get one for 1000 baht/hour. This is 4X the rate at Centara. I eventually arranged one myself through another hotel at a fraction of the cost.

We raised our concerns with the hotel manager who could not do much to help us (on any of our issues) - other than offering us 50% back if we checked out (doesn't help if you need to pay accommodation elsewhere).

Overall, there are some positives but if I read the positive comments on Trip Advisor I find it very hard to believe the accuracy of these (have a look at the pictures posted by "travelers", seems quite professional to me - we certainly felt misled if we compare these to the hotel we stayed at. For the price we paid, it is certainly not worth it - and would not recommend this nor return to this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dani O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Espoo, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Tranquil, peaceful hotel in the heart of Kata, but just enough off the main street. Helpful staff, buggy and taxi service runs smoothly. Everything was taken care of. Poo larea was excellent, kiddie side was not right in front of you. All the best to you all: Manager Boy, Waiters Boy and Golf, ladies at the restaurant and reception. Thank you, us Marttinens

Room Tip: If you are on the second floor in the two-story building, ask for a room with less vegetation in fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Timo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 7 nights at Metadee over the NYE period. We took a cab from the airport due to our flight arriving late but would highly recommend the hotel transfer. The airport is absolute chaos and not a fun experience after flying a few hours. The additional fee you pay for the transfer is well worth it (plus the drivers are safe and there is seatbelts). We were warmly greeted by Metadee reception staff and upgraded; we booked 3 nights in the pool access room and 4 nights in the private pool villa (for our honeymoon) and Metadee upgraded the whole stay to the private pool villa.

We paid a lot of money to stay at Metadee and our expectations for the price were not met..

The good points... Spacious villa, massive bathroom, great outdoor shower, great private pool and alfresco, buggy service to main road (great when hot!), good central location to Kata attractions and restaurants, staff fairly friendly, main pool was big and clean with day beds surrounding, lounge room was great for guests with flights much later than the check-out time, room service food was good.

Things that we weren't happy with and we feel could be improved... Housekeeping (sheets/pillowcases/towels were dirty, laundry left on doorstep for many hours after letting housekeeping know its ready for pick-up), fitness centre is tiny so fills up quickly and of the minimal machines available there was one not working, tiny fridge and no alcohol stocked so could only order from room service, tile fell off roof and into pool and decking where we were swimming, wifi was either slow or didn't work, most of the staff didn't speak English, taxi service located near reception was convenient but pushy and nosy, breakfast was fairly average (overcooked bacon and eggs), coffee service and coffee was terrible, air con cut out during night, pillows were uncomfortable, only one sanitary bag provided per clean, pool bubbles cut off after 60 seconds, decking needs serious maintenance, there were no recreational activities within the resort (i.e. tennis court, hire equipment etc) so not much to do, many tv channels but few in English.

We wouldn't return to Metadee.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nuala D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 926 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.9 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metadee Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metadee Resort and Villas

Property: Metadee Resort and Villas
Address: 66 Kata Road, T Karon, Phuket | A Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metadee Resort and Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Metadee Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metadee Resort And Villas Hotel Kata Beach
Metadee Resort And Villas Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing