We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing cozy little dream world...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Metadee Resort and Villas
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed in a private pool villa for 7 nights and would definitely book again...just not @ high season prices (I think the 'green season' prices are about the right fit to be honest).

PRO's
Privacy - you aren't really bothered by too much noise. Once you walk through your front gate, you are pretty much in your private little world.
Bathroom - very spacious with a really lovely rainshower that had great pressure, a separate huge bathtub that was very relaxing.
Daybed - was nice & large. A great way to relax on a rainy day without messing up the bed!
Housekeeping - housekeeping was very good. She was unobtrusive, and careful to make sure she was not disturbing anyone.
Pool - having a private pool was a really lovely luxury. It's just a dipping pool, but the warm humid weather keeps it from being too cold.
Breakfast - always love having breakfast included. The freshly cooked eggs were great but the general variety wasn't crash hot.
Smoothies - Jacky is the smoothie man!
Golf carts - it was very good being able to get the golf cart to/from the main road in hot sweaty days!

CON's
Fridge - not very cold. Ice didn't even freeze!
Room service - very inconsistent. Great one day, really lame the next - even for the same item the servings sizes were completely different!
Mini Bar - although is was refilled for free daily, it was pretty well just water, soda & coated cashews. Not much variety and I would have happily swapped some of the soda for some water or ice tea.
Customer service - very inconsistent, with absolutely terrible english from most of the staff. Completely acceptable for some roles, but certainly not for the person taking room service orders, reservations or working on the front desk.
Spa - didn't use because the prices were ridiculous!
The mouse - there was a mouse in the room for the last 2 nights. Given the vegetation around the resort, it was not really anyone's fault but it was poking around everytime the lights were turned off leading to a lack of sleep....I think management could have done more than put a sticky square on the floor with a piece of bacon (which it got off of..sneaky thing! lol) but it's not like I complained about it.

All in all, I'd stay here again for the privacy and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amusethesuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,370)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

603 - 609 of 1,370 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We staied at Metadee resort in february 2012 and really enjoyed the luxury of this simply looking from outside, but really outstanding hotel. We were upgraded without charge due to wedding anniversary and birthday and staied at pool access villa. The villa was spacious, cosy, quiet and luxurious for the price we paid. We staied some days at Kata beach resort, wich was wonderfull, but the Villa at Metadee was far beyond our expectations. We would have to say, that the look of the hotel, the reception and the restaurant are a bit outdated and need upgrading. However, the accommodation itself was wonderful. The hotel is positioned away from busy road, but easily accessible by walking. The area of the hotel is very green with lots of plants and the pool is really long. The villa had a terrace with table and chairs and outside shower as well as inside shower and a bath. The breakfast was also suffucient and tasty. We used the fitness room and it was good, but a bit too warm. We would definitely recommend this resort.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool access villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HolidaymakerDenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Too regret that we only stayed one night. Our room is deluxe pool access, amazing bed, amazing bathtub, amazing pool, friendly staffs! Shuttle bus provided from hotel to beach. You could just lying on the beach bench at the pool and relax for whole day. Will come back for sure~

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chloe_Bi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Pretty much agee with latest reviews that the hotel is reasonably good but not anything above a 3.5 star. Stayed there 10 nights and had nice time. Room nice but damp smell which was attempted to be masked out with lemon freshner. Enquired about late check out as our flight was 10.45 pm. Told to check back day before departure and when we did was advised that no complimentary room was available. We could get a room for the 6 hours we wanted at 150 AUD which did not go down well as we paid 100 AUD each day (24 hours) so a bit profiteering going on. We decided just to lounge by pool that day and take a shower/change of clothes before leaving for airport. On enquiring were we could shower we were directed to toilet block beside pool. I had already checked shower temperature which was cold and advised this to hotel. No response from staff other than take or leave it. Its the same old story that once you have paid your bill and settled account the hotel interest in you goes downhill. The staff are very nice and courteous but this has left a sour taste preventing return. I think the hotel has to examine its facilities for guests leaving on late flights. As a minimum provide hot shower facilities and certainly not expect guests to shower in toilet block or try and maximise with the 150 AUD for 6 hours (rediculous). Interested if manager will comment as they only usually respond to the positive blogs.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grant10150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights last week.

First impressions are very good. Check in was very smooth, and once completed we transferred to our pool access (highly recommended!) room by buggy.

Unfortunately, our first room, 5119, had a very damp smell coming through the air conditioning system which was a shame because the staff had prepared our room specially as we were on honeymoon.

We reported the problem and a member of staff was sent round to try and fix the problem. This involved putting a lemon air freshener inside the ac vent....when I explained to them that I thought that that wasn't necessarily going to solve the problem, there was initial confusion. In my humble opinion, I suspect that the ac filters and vents havent been properly serviced or cleaned for a while which is why there was such a strong smell of damp. However, the very helpful girl at reception arranged for us to move to a new room which was identical to our original room, but with fully working ac.

The rooms themselves are very comfortable, with great, rainforest showers, enormous and very comfortable beds and the pool access is great.

The pool itself is incredible and huge. There's a main pool area which is nice enough with some decorative fountains and all the sunbeds and pool bar around it, but if you just venture round the corner, the pool stretches for at least 150metres, under bridges, through lots of greenery and ends in a waterfall- really stunning. At night from the main restaurant, there are hundreds of little lights in the bottom of the people lit up which looks pretty special.

Food wise, breakfasts are ok, but nothing spectacular. Fairly standard fare for a buffet breakfast really, but the egg station is good where you can freshly poached, fried or scrambled eggs as well as omelettes.

We only had one evening meal. To be fair, it was really good. My wife had a pizza and I had a duck breast in red curry. However, as is usual with hotel restaurants, the price was significantly more than any of the other restaurants we ate in outside the resort.

We would highly recommend Mama restaurant, Lucky Sam's and Cappaninna (though don't bother with the garlic and herb bruschetta!).

However, the absolute best meal we had was at Bella Vista. This restaurant really is an absolute gem. It's at the far left of Kata Beach as you're facing the sea. Food amazing, views stunning and the service top class. If you only eat in one restaurant when in Kata Beach, Bella Vista has to be the one.

Overall, we would definately go back to Metadee. However, I would describe it as a very rough diamond that just needs a bit of spit and polish to make it a really top rate hotel/resort.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VampyVampy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Stayed at Metadee for 3 nights with my husband, loved the fact that we could jump into the pool from our balcony. We waded to the breakfast area in our swimwear while holding on to our robes, and waded back. Note of caution -- bring your robes back to your room, otherwise the hotel will charge you 600baht for each robe (we had to speak to the manager and insist that we left the robes by the pool after breakfast). Standard of buffet breakfast wasn't fantastic, there was variety but not quality. Service overall was OK, buggy service out to main road was always prompt, staff were often courteous, room service was lack-lustre though, the hotel ran out of bath towels on our first day and we had to plan our baths around that constraint. Loved the tub, and the rain shower faucet.

Room Tip: Get a room with pool-access, if you are all about chilling out by the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoyceLYH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at this resort for 7 nights in Aug/Sept 2012. Metadee is one of the nicest places I have had the pleasure of staying at! The rooms are clean and spacious with a nice bathroom that included a sweet tub (We stayed in the pool view villa). The pool and pool area is awesome, great for a swim or just lounging in the sun to catch some rays.

The staff are very helpful (I would have to say that Thai people in general are some of the friendliest people I have ever met) for things like booking daytrips and the golf buggies to the main road can be a lifesaver in the heat. For those concerned about being far away from everything, we found that Kata Beach is a much better option to stay in than Patong and only a short tuk-tuk ride away.

The buffet breakfast is definitely better than your standard buffet with plenty of cooked and fresh options and was well utilised each day.

I would recommend this resort to anyone and everyone and can not wait for my enevitable return to stay at the Metadee!

Room Tip: Unless you especially want direct pool access from your room I would recommend a pool view room beca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
770 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metadee Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metadee Resort and Villas

Address: 66 Kata Road, T Karon, Phuket | A Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $89 - $317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metadee Resort and Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Fastbooking, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Metadee Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metadee Resort And Villas Hotel Kata Beach
Metadee Resort And Villas Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing