We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AMAZING!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Metadee Resort and Villas
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Just wanted to say a big thankyou to the staff at Metadee Villa's for making our stay so perfect! Upon arrival we were upgraded to a Pool Access Villa which was one of the nicest rooms i have ever stayed in. Staff were always happy, smilling and saying hello. I cant find a single negative thing to say about Metadee. Even the few hundred metre walk to the street was nice (you could be chauffered in a buggy, but we preffered the walk in the sun). Thanks again and we will be back in no time

Room Tip: You have to get a Villa. They are amazing!!
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,358)
There are newer reviews for Metadee Resort and Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

630 - 636 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012 via mobile

We are a party of 3 with 1 adult and 2 children aged 7 and 12 and staid at the Metadee for 4 nights, but won't be returning
What they are good at:
1) Pool villa: because of the long wait at check in we were upgraded to a pool villa which was very spacious and nicely fitted out but without expensive finishes. The villa was big and private but the pool was tiny. Like my son said: "one stroke and I am at the other side of the pool!". We were supposed to stay in a pool access room and am glad we didn't as they looked rather dark with small balconies.
2) buggy and bus service: the hotel is at the end of an alley, so they provide a buggy service to main road and an hourly bus service to the beach. Note that you can actually walk to the beach if you don't mind walking for 10 to 15 minutes
3) make something out of nothing : this hotel cannot be called a resort as it has very limited grounds and only one restaurant. It has no beach access nor a beach view. Somebody bought a piece of cheap land and turned it into a relatively nice small hotel / villa compound by adding a large pool. There are no gardens to walk around, everything feels rather crammed in.
What they are really bad at:
1) check-in : took more than half an hour. Communication was poor and quite aggressive. They wanted to charge me extra for breakfast for my 7 year old, which I refused to pay, but it took them 20 minutes to finally make a decision and agree. I had to wait 2 hours for the room to be cleaned despite the fact that I arrived at the correct check-in time
2) breakfast and food: very average. Breakfast was what one would expect as a minimum now. Coffee was still served out of heated and reheated coffee pots. Only the omelettes were freshly cooked. Pancakes were terrible. Fruit selection poor. Only raisin rolls and croissants over and above sliced bread selection. No low fat options. Only 1 type of cheddar cheese. No smoked salmon etc...we ordered room service several times because my daughter was ill and were never impressed. Food selection is limited. Food quality is average. Give the masandam curry a skip. It was awful. Plates arrived without the right number of cutlery sets.
3) room cleaning : was around 3 to 4 pm every day ... Far too late when there is room service food sitting around. Cleaning was. Dry superficial. Towels were not replaced in sufficient numbers.
Generally, I was happy to check out of the hotel despite having a nice villa. The front desk staff are insufficiently trained. Could not tell me the cost of seeing a doctor. They did not have a doctor on call either and directed me to a public clinic???? The restaurant staff are friendlier but the food disappointing. I am still trying to understand why people rave about this place? I, for sure, have staid in far better places... And this does not mean more expensive... A smile costs nothing

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Poessing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I went with a friend and stayed in a villa with a pool during the rainy season. Even though it rained almost every day we absolutely loved it there. The resort is just off the road so you get more quiet (minus the frogs!) but still walkable to both Kata beaches. (The hotel offers a golf-cart ride out to the main road at any time and you can call for one back - or a shuttle straight to the beach (you have to walk back)).
The restaurant had the best Tom Kha Kai soup I had the entire time I was in Thailand but their "Western food" wasn't the best.
I will stay at Metadee again if I'm ever back in the area. I was pleased that the reality was the same as the website photos.
There isn't much to do for kids besides the pool but I'm not sure how that compares to other resorts in the area.

I liked the beaches in the south the best - Kata, Karon and Nai Ham (definitely visit Nai Ham - it was the prettiest!)

Room Tip: Villa 3105 was nicer than 2106 (our roof leaked in 3105 so we had to move but overall 3105 had more...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lauren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Metadee lived up to all our expectations which were based on reviews on tripadvisor. We had two rooms, a pool view for my 17 yo son and a pool villa. Both were beautifully presented and maintained with every facility you could wish for. The staff were friendly and attentive without being obtrusive. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Princess3039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2012

The Metadee is a fabulous place to stay. We were there for 12 nights. We had connecting rooms (deluxe rooms with pool view) as we have two young children. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and cleaned every day. Breakfast is lovely, with a great selection of Western and Eastern foods. We only had dinner at the restaurant once, it was very good. The staff are very friendly, especially towards our three year old daughter, who received no end of attention! The General Manager (Tomy) gave us a warm reception on arrival and was so good with our daughter, chatting to her every day and sometimes she took her for a stroll around the grounds. She very kindly gave us a late check out even though the hotel was full. Everything ran smoothly despite how busy they were. The staff were very efficient. The pool is superb. It is very large and beautiful, with landscaped gardens around the sides and ‘islands’ with shrubs through it and even waterfalls. There is also an enclosed childrens’ pool within the main pool, which is great for the little ones. It is well maintained with staff regularly removing leaves etc. The toilets by the pool are kept very clean and there is a pool bar as well. Even when it was raining and we couldn’t go to the beach we were able to swim in the pool. The hotel is set back from the main stretch of restaurants/shops as it’s at the end of a cul-de-sac so there is no through traffic. There is a buggy service that drives you to the end of the street whenever you want to go into Kata and also free hourly transport to Kata beach. The walk back is around 5-10 mins or you can grab a taxi. Kata beach is nice. There are some good restaurants at the southern end which have great sunset views too. Because it rained quite a lot, we didn't get there as often as we would have otherwise.You can arrange a taxi through the hotel to other places of interest. We really enjoyed our stay and LOVED the Metadee, we will definitely return.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with pool view are the cheapest but lovely, they have everything that the pool acce...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chiaraSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We stayed at the Metadee for 7 nights in a pool access room.The rooms are clean and large.Gardens are superb and add to the ambiance of the resort.The resort has a large clean pool.The breakfast is adequate with freshly made coffee,which is a nice touch.
The buggy service from the main road is a blessing after being out for the day or an evening meal.
We would definitely stay at this resort again.It is close to the beach and a number of quality restaurants.

Room Tip: Stay in a pool access room.Nothing better than being able to walk out of your room into the pool.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank XLPlus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

We are a family of 4 and had 2 rooms, pool access....fantastic. Reataurant great,brekky execellent.Staff friendly and will do anything for you. It is a perfect location...we LOVED it.

Room Tip: werent interconnecting but right next to each other.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunandfun97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,117 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 9 in Karon Beach
2,023 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
919 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
763 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Metadee Resort and Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metadee Resort and Villas

Address: 66 Kata Road, T Karon, Phuket | A Muang Phuket, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $55 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Metadee Resort and Villas 4.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Metadee Resort and Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metadee Resort And Villas Hotel Kata Beach
Metadee Resort And Villas Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing