We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overrated”

Eightfold Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 149 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $16
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: From 4/5/2016 - 25/5/2016 restaurant closed
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Read the reviews on Trip Advisor hence we went for a try, sorry we were totally disappointed. We had the regular dishes ie padthai, tom yum gung, seafood fried rice etc. None was up to our expectation. Sad to say we did not manage to find a restaurant (or hawker stall) that serves really good and authentic food.

However, the staffs were really attentive and nice.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LengCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    801
    397
    91
    26
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Consistently good!”
Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the centara and eight fold is literally opposite the entrance so we are there regularly. The food is excellent - good value and compares with the more expensive restaurants, the service was quick and the guys in there are very friendly and remember you. We are big lovers of pad thai and we all agreed that eight folds were the best that we had tried!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tanz1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect when you are staying close by!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed in walking distance of this local restaurant and went back a few times for lunch and dinner.
The food was excellent and well priced and the penang curry was the best!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Good food friendly staff, they also make good take away pizza
Recommended for a low key venue, we also had a sit in meal which was good too

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spaghettijet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food, reasonably priced”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We discovered Eightfold Restaurant on our first night in Kata. We returned three times in 5 days. The thai food was delicious, very fresh and tasty. The Tom Yum chicken was beautiful and was the best I have ever had. I asked for spicy and it was very spicy, just how I like it. My four children also sampled some western food, cheeseburgers, fries and pasta and they were all very happy with their meals. The owner was very friendly and remembered us each time we visited.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Miss_Quito_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Eightfold Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing