We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location Big Roms! Good value for Money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Ranked #7 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
topmanagerhsv
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Location Big Roms! Good value for Money”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Not Directly at the Beach opposite the Club med! Big Roms, Nothing Special! Nice Pool, Good value for Money, Deventer breakfast. Unfortuntely Many Russian Guest! Good for 3-4 Nights! Dont Pay more than €40

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topmanagerhsv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    250
    86
    30
    15
See reviews for
83
473
31
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed here for a week, by international standards this is 2.5-3 star property, staff were great very friendly and helpful but the amenities need some help, there was a funky smell coming from the drain in the shower which i am guessing was attached to the same line as the sewer, had to put 5 airwicks in to keep the smell down. The beds were changed during my stay, they had a huge delivery of new beds arrive but they are extremely hard, like concrete. The pool is very nice but the filters are rarely run so I am not sure how clean the water is, just look at the sides of the pool and you will understand what I mean. Television is acceptable, mostly sourced from a vietnamese satellite service... in English though.... but how they source this is a mystery! Cost of taxi to the airport is excessive at 1000bt, about US$35 but no choice, either that or walk, no meter taxi's down here in Kata, even if there was... they don't like to use the meter, arriving at the airport I went to the meter taxi stand and was told 700bt or no ride, when i got in, the meter was covered by a cloth, I noticed he still put the meter on and off under the cloth, maybe to show his bosses he uses the meter... overall, I probably won't be back to Phuket, the beaches are becoming like Bali, full of trash and the hassling from Tuk Tuk, Massage and Indian tailors in relentless, shame used to be a really nice place 2-3 years ago!

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are very dark so try high up
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wilrc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I booked this hotel and stayed there for 3nights. Room is clean & good decorate. Almost room front to the big pool , You can see a pool from your room. If you stay at the ground floor, so you can swim from a balcony. Breakfast is ok, they prepare only 7 kind of food + fruit (pineapple,watermelon)+coffee/tea.
Receptionist have a good service mind. They can help you as much as they can.
Location is good , not so far from Kata beach and near colony of restaurant&supermarket&tour agency.
Tour Agency at the hotel is not good, say expensive price for tourist. walk a little bit to bazaar then you will get a cheap tour trip.

Room Tip: If you need to swim from balcony please choose a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benzwinwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Good day. Thank you for choosing our hotel and it's our pleasure to serve you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel. And, we are hoping to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

During my stay at this hotel for 3 nights, have given me the best experience.The location is good (about 5-10mins walk to Kata beach), near restos, receptionists speak good english and room is spacious. Great if you want to have a quiet holiday.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ArvindPatkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadia059, Manager at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Value Guest, Thank you very much for your kind comment us on TripAdvisor.Regarding to your recent stay with us in TROPICAL RESORT we very appreciated to hear that you have a wonderful stay and we are looking forward to welcome you back to stay with us again. TROPICAL RESORT TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 5 days with husband. The location is good (about 5-10mins walk to Kata beach), near restos, receptionists speak good english and room is spacious. Great if you want to have a quiet holiday. But dirty bathroom floors and flies aplenty on the breakfast table. Expect the same breakfast every morning.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mChiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the tropical resort for 5 days and it was a really terrible hotel,the only nice thing about it was the appearance of the rooms everything else about it was terrible. There were ants in the beds the mattress was really bad didn't get a goods nights sleep ,the breakfast was awful. The staff were not friendly and most of them didn't speak English and for a broken cup they charged us 350bht. The internet was really bad we paid 100bht for 100min.but you don't get the time you are paying for,I would't recommend this hotel to anyone. This is not even a two star hotel in my opinion.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Shema A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We booked a pool access room for 3 nights and were very pleased with the room. The bathroom was huge and had lovely deep bath and large shower room. The room was very large and had LCD, DVD player and all conveniences including electric lighted magnifying mirror for the ladies! We spent many hours relaxing and reading on the chairs outside our room with direct pool access - we loved it. Staff very friendly and housekeeper real sweetie. We found the place pretty clean, although a bit more windowlene would not go a miss on the toilet door. The swimming pool was lovely but on the 4th day I felt it was not getting cleaned daily. I woke everyday with sore back, but my husband had no issues with the bed. We felt this was extremely good value for pool access room (NZ$81 on agoda) and I would stay again, but I must mention the cockroaches.

We spray our hotel room before going out at night to kill any lurking mosquitoes, and occasionally it can bring out a dying cockroach. First night we did this and came home to a dying cockroach on the floor, which we removed. That night at 4am I awoke to a cockroach on my neck/chest area, very brave to hop onto a human - obviously looking for his mate! We did big spray next day and 2 more came out and after that we had no more issues in the room, although one was caught climbing out of the drain on our porch area.

If it was not for this i would have rated excellent for hotel, I suggest they step up their pest control process.

Room Tip: We did not take breakfast deal after reading reviews, recommend cooked breakfast deal for 99b at Buf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynneandcarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.2 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,322 reviews
0.2 mi away
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
Centara Kata Resort Phuket
#17 of 56 in Kata Beach
791 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Romantica Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Romantica Resort

Property: Chanalai Romantica Resort
Address: 62 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Romantica Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Tropical Resort Group offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely" Tropical Resort, a luxurious elegant couple 4-star resort is located in the well-known Kata Beach, Phuket. It is an ideal resort for hideaway retreat. This luxurious resort ideally locates in the centre of the beach town of Kata in less than 10 minutes walk to the beach , Kata shoping Plaza, resatuarnts, banks dotted around the resort. To get to the nearby tourist spots is very easy. 20 minutes to Patong, 10 minutes to Kata View point etc.The couple theme Tropical Resort offers 13 luxurious deluxe pool access, 24 deluxe pool view and 28 superior pool view rooms. The room facilities are great to meet the guest’s need; separated show and bathtub with hot and cold water, LCD TV, DVD player, TV satellite channels, Tea coffee making facilities, bathrobe, full stock minibar, IDD phone, private safety box in room . The resort also provides internet access in room and internet room , a restaurant , a swim-up bar, tour desk, mail service, taxi service and doctor on call 24 hours.The wheel chair can access to the room.Let put your hair down on the tropical island resort with us.a touch of paradise on Kata beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, ACCOR, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chanalai Romantica Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Kata Beach
Chanalai Romantica Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing