We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Ranked #8 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Versailles, France
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good value!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

We book 3 nights in this hotel and ended up staying 17 nights! We got upgraded to a room with the pool access which was very nice! The rooms are specious and clean. Location is also good, very close to the beach (5 min walk). We had a great stay in this hotel and it is a great value for money!

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the first floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kapriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. we are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. We wish to have you back to stay with us again in the near future. Tropical Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    232
    80
    30
    14
See reviews for
79
418
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

Great hotel, room was very clean, staffs were very friendly. The staffs assisted us to early check in and also suggested us places to eat, mode of transportation and also informed us how to plan our tours. It was a really exciting stay at the hotel. The Kata Beach are was quite quiet and there were not many things to do at night.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank as_yaacob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. we are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. We wish to have you back to stay with us again in the near future. Tropical Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2012

We stayed at Tropical resort one month(april 2012).Not the first time we stayed there.Maybe 4-5 times now. Big nice rooms.Big balcony.Very nice staff.We would recommend this hotell for couples,who will have a nice relaxing holiday.Only short walking to the very beatiful beach. Many restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: All rooms are ok,but pool acces rooms is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boAorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, July 11, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. We wish to have a chance to welcome you back.
" At Tropical Resort, we care"

Yours
LAILA
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in 2011, We extended by one night, then we decided to extend for two more nights then we extended one more night, We decided if we didn't leave we wouldn't see anything of Thailand. We left, returned in a week and spent the rest of our holiday here. Price and quality is 1st class and service was excellent. We are returning in April 2012 and will post again after. I hired a motor scooter and looked at a dozen resorts. For the money this was by far the best and 1 street back from the most beautiful part of a most beautiful beach. I read a poor review for this hotel and wonder if it reflected a significant change in the resort or if it was more a reflection of the reviewer. I suspect the latter but we will find out. Look, the coffee was average, the bacon was ordinary, but that aside the included breakfast of fresh fruit, toast, eggs or omlette cooked to your specifications was fine. The important thing for us was the room was spacious and beautiful and the pool was excellent. We spent a magical afternoon at the bar in the pool. The internet was a bit expensive, so I went 2 minutes down Kata Rd. and didn't think about it again. I have seen rooms in Kata that are 20% better with ocean views for literally 20 times the price. If you dont have money to burn ask to see a room here and make them an offer.

Room Tip: The ground level rooms open onto the pool. They are more expensive. We stayed on the 1st level becau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. we are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. We wish to have you back to stay with us again in the near future. Tropical Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra del Fuego, Chile
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

Ifound this to be a comfortable hotel in a very convienent location, lots of places to eat,numerous bars all withih a short walking distance... the beach was only a 10/15 minute walk. Pool access rooms spacious , good shower, comfy bed. Breakfast was so ! so !Myself and my wife loved the pool area beds aplenty. Generally the staff were polite and helpful.
we would recommend this hotel for couples looking for a nice relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: pool access rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimbobshere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Good day. Thank you for choosing our hotel and it's our pleasure to serve you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel. And, we are hoping to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

We booked superior rooms but to our surprise got upgrated to pool access rooms that are very nice, large, comfortable, nicely decorated/painted, clean and well equipped. Air conditioning was not too effective at all times but worked ok with a little patience. Reception staff very friendly and helpful but unfortunately cannot say the same about the phlegmatic staff in the pool bar. Would definitely stay again in a pool access room, hotel is well located in Kata. Wifi works well but you have to pay extra (100 baht/100 minutes). No hairdryer in the room which is a bit odd considering the room has a number of other things for guests to use such as robes, flip-flops, umbrellas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Venga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadia059, Manager at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. we are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. We wish to have you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Tropical Resort Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

From the moment I was greeted with their welcome board my surname in gold writing to the moment we left, the service was exceptional. We really were happy with the resort because everyone was so helpful. I was also expecting the resort to be much more tacky and basic, however I was impressed with the large gorgeous pool, beautiful design of our modern room. We requested a high floor, and it had a lovely view and a beautiful big bath.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jadecassandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nadia059, Manager at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2012
Thank you very much for your great review. we are pleased to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us. We wish to have you back to stay with us again in the near future.

**THANK YOU **
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 970 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#23 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.8 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Romantica Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Romantica Resort

Property: Chanalai Romantica Resort
Address: 62 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Romantica Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Tropical Resort Group offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely" Tropical Resort, a luxurious elegant couple 4-star resort is located in the well-known Kata Beach, Phuket. It is an ideal resort for hideaway retreat. This luxurious resort ideally locates in the centre of the beach town of Kata in less than 10 minutes walk to the beach , Kata shoping Plaza, resatuarnts, banks dotted around the resort. To get to the nearby tourist spots is very easy. 20 minutes to Patong, 10 minutes to Kata View point etc.The couple theme Tropical Resort offers 13 luxurious deluxe pool access, 24 deluxe pool view and 28 superior pool view rooms. The room facilities are great to meet the guest’s need; separated show and bathtub with hot and cold water, LCD TV, DVD player, TV satellite channels, Tea coffee making facilities, bathrobe, full stock minibar, IDD phone, private safety box in room . The resort also provides internet access in room and internet room , a restaurant , a swim-up bar, tour desk, mail service, taxi service and doctor on call 24 hours.The wheel chair can access to the room.Let put your hair down on the tropical island resort with us.a touch of paradise on Kata beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chanalai Romantica Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Kata Beach
Chanalai Romantica Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing