We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tropical....paradise!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Ranked #7 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We arrived at the Tropical Resort after a very long trip and feeling very tired. Check in was very effecient and friendly and we were whisked away by the smiling bag boys who told us all we needed to know about the room and the resort. We had opted for a pool access room and upon opening the curtains we were greeted with a beauitiful view of the resort and could step straight into the sparkling clear pool....miraculously our tiredness dissapeared and it was straight into the pool for us, we swam over to the poolbar and after a little wait we were sipping a delicious cocktail!! (A small improvement would be a buzzer at the bar to alert staff that somone was waiting at the bar) We then showered and dressed and off to explore Kata. This resort is in the perfect position, lots of shops and restaurants very close by the beach a five minute walk away the local bus goes straight past the front door of the resort, a terrific way to experience the real local life and a great, cheap way to get around. The resort was very clean, linen pristine and staff very friendly. We were leaving at six in the morning and unfortunately check out was a wee bit slow but otherwise a wonderful stay at a lovely resort and we certainly will come back!

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are a must if you like to swim!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MitzfromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (804)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 804 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2011

even though this states this is an adult only hotel i got to stay here for 4 nights with my daughter who is 6. we had a pool access room and could nt believe how gorgeous the room was. the staff was so friendly and had our names on a board welcoming us. with robes and slippers and lots of lovely details in our room to make us feel special. we moved on to the centara hotel (which is a 4 star) and wished we had stayed in the tropical. i highly reccommend this hotel and was sad to leave.and hopefully i can book in here again without waiting 10 years till my daughter is 16!!! a big big thank you to all the staff

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank izbev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

Lovely modern hotel with spacious rooms, bath and shower and large balconies overlooking the pool. Everything was very clean and the staff were very helpful. Lots of choice of food as part of the buffet breakfast. Towels provided for both pool and beach use. Plenty of loungers and umbrellas. Have done a fair bit of travelling between us and this was one of the best rooms we've had - really can't understand the moans and groans in some of the reviews!

Room Tip: All rooms have pool view and seem to be very simir
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2011

On the main road ,directly behind the Club Med Complex, you find the reception in a white, moorish style domed tower. Very friendly and extremely helpful welcome. The hotel is only a few years old and is extremely modern. The rooms are very spacious and luxurious. Impeccably clean and well fitted with fridge and tea/coffee making facilities. Even has a flat screen TV. The wash area is separated by a glass wall and you have separate shower and toilet areas with glass doors. Even has a bath tub. You also have your own safe in the wardrobe.The total design of the rooms and hotel is very upmarket. It is L shaped with 5 floors. Every room has a balcony and the ground floor balconies go right out to the swimming pool, which runs along the whole building and has a sunken bar. It's as if you have your own private pool. Breakfast was well presented with a chef on hand to cook your eggs etc. Extremely attentive and very friendly staff that are only too willing to help. The restaurant had theme dinners and entertainment almost every night. There are other hotels either side and a wide choice of bars and restaurants all around. Most close before midnight, so no noise problems during the night. Airconditioning in the room is very good and the beds are extremely large and comfortable. Cleaning staff were very good every day. This hotel is not for families with young children, mostly couples and honeymooners. It's also suitable for people with walking problems, as there are two very good lifts and no steps in the room. If you are in a wheel chair, you have a room entry step of about 1 inch and the sink unit is much higher than normal. I spent almost three weeks there with my wife and thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandMlagos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kountone, Manager at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2011

Thank you for your review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us. Wish to have you back very soon!

Jimmy R

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2010

The bathrooms have no mirrors!! First time I see this. Anyway who need a shave on vacation...

Pretty dissappointed: No gym as advertised, 2 creepy cra... in bath tub, loud bar opposite, breakfast supposed to be until 10:30 - no - thats actually the time they "kick" you out.

Happy we booked only 2 nights!!

I would give this hotel a clear 2 star rating!

Cheers

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank endaxi0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

we saw this hotell while on a day at kata beach from patong.Kata beach fabulouse.We booked for 3 nights when we came had our name on board saying new guest gave us cold towels and drinks took only mins to get to our room and what a room very new and hip had bath and shower view over looked pool could sit and have drink on balconey breakfast beside pool lots of choice . Staff very helpfull fresh beach towels every day on the bottom road so only a short stroll to beach .At nights only mins from shops bars restraunts not as crazy as patong .We enjoyed it so mutch we stayed a extra 5 days till we retuned pattaya .We will return next year for sure

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skippy021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angel A, Guest Service Agent at Chanalai Romantica Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Good day. Thank you for choosing our hotel and it's our pleasure to serve you. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here in our hotel. And, we are hoping to see you again in the near future. Have a nice day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2010

This resort was recommended to us as it was new and supposedly good value for money. We had booked for 10 nights in a pool access room with daily breakfast and free fully stocked mini bar.

The rooms were large, but very poorly and cheaply fitted out with no tiles to wet areas and badly marked concrete floors, second rate bed linen and towels. The hotel looks much older than just 12 months, as it appears maintenance is not a priority with the swimming pool having a layer of grime around the edge tiles.

The free fully stocked mini bar turned out to be 2 miniature cans of coke, 2 small cans of beer and a tiny toblerone. We questioned management about the stocking of the mini bar and were advised this was all that was included. This was not the free fully stocked mini bar advertised on the hotel web site. We believed this to be very dishonest and as we were very disappointed with the standard of the hotel we advised the manager we would stay for only one night. We left this hotel and checked in to the Avista for the remaining 9 nights. The Avista is an amazing hotel and cost us 100 baht per night less than the Tropical Resort.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kangarooroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
2.6 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 11 in Karon Beach
2,121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#17 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,005 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Flora Resort
Chanalai Flora Resort
#8 of 55 in Kata Beach
600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#11 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chanalai Romantica Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chanalai Romantica Resort

Address: 62 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand (Formerly Tropical Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#5 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $58 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chanalai Romantica Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Ideally located on the small peaceful beach town of Kata, the Tropical Resort Group offers the three elegant different hotel styles, depending on your budget and taste namely" Tropical Resort, a luxurious elegant couple 4-star resort is located in the well-known Kata Beach, Phuket. It is an ideal resort for hideaway retreat. This luxurious resort ideally locates in the centre of the beach town of Kata in less than 10 minutes walk to the beach , Kata shoping Plaza, resatuarnts, banks dotted around the resort. To get to the nearby tourist spots is very easy. 20 minutes to Patong, 10 minutes to Kata View point etc.The couple theme Tropical Resort offers 13 luxurious deluxe pool access, 24 deluxe pool view and 28 superior pool view rooms. The room facilities are great to meet the guest’s need; separated show and bathtub with hot and cold water, LCD TV, DVD player, TV satellite channels, Tea coffee making facilities, bathrobe, full stock minibar, IDD phone, private safety box in room . The resort also provides internet access in room and internet room , a restaurant , a swim-up bar, tour desk, mail service, taxi service and doctor on call 24 hours.The wheel chair can access to the room.Let put your hair down on the tropical island resort with us.a touch of paradise on Kata beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chanalai Romantica Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Kata Beach
Chanalai Romantica Resort Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing