We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money, great location”
Review of Rico's Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rico's Bungalows
Ranked #44 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed August 31, 2010

I've stayed at Patong, Kata and Surin on previous trips, and Kata is by far my favorite! Rico's bungalow is a great place to stay!

1. the price was GREAT (800 THB per night)
2. it's in a good location (about 5 minutes stroll to the beach)
3. you can walk out easily for shops and dining
4. there's a local bus station that can take you to Phuket town for 30 THB if you're feeling adventurous. if not, there's a taxi errm, station right across the hotel.
5. it's CLEAN.

it's a pretty basic room, but if you're not looking for a villa with a private pool and personal butler, this will suit you just fine. We travelled with our 2 year old toddler who has really happy with the pool right outside the room. Save on the hotel fees and pig out on seafood in phuket! :)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank melsymel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (132)
There are newer reviews for Rico's Bungalows
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

74 - 80 of 132 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed at Rico's for 26 days in June 2010. Did first book for 4 days but was very satisfied with both bungalow, pool, service, daily cleaning with change of sheets and new towels, remote controlled high power AC in the room, location, quietness (except for a noisy family from Sweden who did not care about other guests at all)
The only negative thing to say about the room was that the wifi-coverage was not to good. You need to be close to the reception area to get your computer online.

All in all I decided to stay a little longer and stayed all my time in Kata Beach at Rico's. Not the best hotel ever visited, but certainly a lot of value for money and I did really relax at the place.

I'm very happy with the staff at Rico's and says thanks a lot for the service and help provided. Even the night security guard started to smile after some nights ;)

One heads up, you'll need to pay your room with cash, but there's an ATM just outside the main entrance.

The location in Kata gives you a good choice of restaurants outside, a close walk to the beach, lots of shopping and transportation was also very easy. If you need better nightlife than Kata provides Patong is just 15 minutes away with taxi or tuk-tuk. But if you're going anywhere, just demand a taxi, better comfort and feels more secure than the tuk-tuks. Transport are highly overpriced in the area and are the highest in Thailand.
When you arrives at the airport at Phuket, book transportation in advance or go right when you leave the terminal building, there you'll find the meter taxis which give you better prices than the people in front trying to get you to choose them.
When you're going on a trip on Phuket it might be a good idea to get a drivers phone number and agree on a fixed price, then you can get a good mileage for an affordable price :)

I will for certain stay at Rico's again and will recommend it for other travelers and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Terje D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2010

Awesome place! Ok, not very Thai, this could be a Travellodge or similar but very welcome to us in between beach huts.
Great location
FREE WI-FI and a compter to use if you don't have your own. (This saved us a fortune)
Lovely pool
Big Air con room
TV & DVD
Clean and modern
Hairdryers etc

Compared to any other place we stayed in a month of being in Thailand this place was the best value by far, it had all the mod cons we'd missed in our beach huts and for the same price. 900B for 3 beds per night.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Vickyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2010

I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of June. I found the standard of the bungalows to be very good with working air-con and a hot shower and the swimming pool 5 footsteps away was certainly an added bonus.

The location of the bungalows was also good......about a 5 minute walk to the beach and they are set back from the main road so do not get noisy at night.

Although i only had a short stay here i found it to be very enjoyable, a very good standard of accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crock27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2010

Stated here for just over 1 week in June 2010. Paid 700baht a night for a poolside bungalow. Very spacious, good outside area. 2 free bottles of water every day. Good location, close to beach. Free wifi in reception and use of 1 computer. On the main street but set back so doesn't get noisy. Pool is quite big and has shallower area for children. Reception staff very helpful. Very good value for money. Room cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. Can get pool towels on request.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sweetie107uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2010

I picked this place randomly, but was pleased with it. I paid 1500 baht, which seemed to be on par with other mid-range hotels in the area. The grounds and room were clean, although the bathroom was quite small. They have free WIFI, but it's only in the lobby. I got no reception in my room. The location is great, right next to many restaurants and a short walk to the beach. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aHappyRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2010

I stayed here for a week in July 08 as a single traveller and returned for a night last August 09 with a friend. This place is is great, it's not on the beach but it's just a short walk away. You get your own bungalow which is modern, clean and well equipped (hair-drer,tv,dvd). It's right next to all the restaurants too. I stayed in Rico's hotel in Patong (which was also nice) before deciding to switch to Kata. Patong makes Benidorm look like Cannes but for better or worse it offers the only night life that I saw on Phuket. Kata itself is mostly made up of families, not the best place for backpackers to stay. But if you're looking for a gorgeous beach, some nice restaurants and market stalls then you'll be more than happy. While you're there walk over to Mom-Tri's boathouse hotel and restaurant, it's expensive- my friend and I just had a few cocktails in the bar- but the views over the sea are stunning and the staff were really friendly.In fact if I return to Phuket I'll blow the budget and stay there...if only...

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#41 of 56 in Kata Beach
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#36 of 56 in Kata Beach
333 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#49 of 56 in Kata Beach
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#46 of 56 in Kata Beach
87 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#32 of 56 in Kata Beach
166 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuket Kata Resort
Phuket Kata Resort
#31 of 56 in Kata Beach
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rico's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rico's Bungalows

Address: 42 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $17 - $85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rico's Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rico's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rico`s Bungalows Hotel Kata Beach
Rico's Bungalows Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing