We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best value for money in Phuket”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rico's Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rico's Bungalows
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best value for money in Phuket”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2010

Awesome place! Ok, not very Thai, this could be a Travellodge or similar but very welcome to us in between beach huts.
Great location
FREE WI-FI and a compter to use if you don't have your own. (This saved us a fortune)
Lovely pool
Big Air con room
TV & DVD
Clean and modern
Hairdryers etc

Compared to any other place we stayed in a month of being in Thailand this place was the best value by far, it had all the mod cons we'd missed in our beach huts and for the same price. 900B for 3 beds per night.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Vickyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
43
42
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
england
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of June. I found the standard of the bungalows to be very good with working air-con and a hot shower and the swimming pool 5 footsteps away was certainly an added bonus.

The location of the bungalows was also good......about a 5 minute walk to the beach and they are set back from the main road so do not get noisy at night.

Although i only had a short stay here i found it to be very enjoyable, a very good standard of accommodation at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crock27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

Stated here for just over 1 week in June 2010. Paid 700baht a night for a poolside bungalow. Very spacious, good outside area. 2 free bottles of water every day. Good location, close to beach. Free wifi in reception and use of 1 computer. On the main street but set back so doesn't get noisy. Pool is quite big and has shallower area for children. Reception staff very helpful. Very good value for money. Room cleaned every day and fresh towels provided. Can get pool towels on request.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetie107uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2010

I picked this place randomly, but was pleased with it. I paid 1500 baht, which seemed to be on par with other mid-range hotels in the area. The grounds and room were clean, although the bathroom was quite small. They have free WIFI, but it's only in the lobby. I got no reception in my room. The location is great, right next to many restaurants and a short walk to the beach. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aHappyRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2010

I stayed here for a week in July 08 as a single traveller and returned for a night last August 09 with a friend. This place is is great, it's not on the beach but it's just a short walk away. You get your own bungalow which is modern, clean and well equipped (hair-drer,tv,dvd). It's right next to all the restaurants too. I stayed in Rico's hotel in Patong (which was also nice) before deciding to switch to Kata. Patong makes Benidorm look like Cannes but for better or worse it offers the only night life that I saw on Phuket. Kata itself is mostly made up of families, not the best place for backpackers to stay. But if you're looking for a gorgeous beach, some nice restaurants and market stalls then you'll be more than happy. While you're there walk over to Mom-Tri's boathouse hotel and restaurant, it's expensive- my friend and I just had a few cocktails in the bar- but the views over the sea are stunning and the staff were really friendly.In fact if I return to Phuket I'll blow the budget and stay there...if only...

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2010

Stayed here in dec 2009 for 9 nts,FANTASTIC little property ,short stroll to the beach , night life, restaraunts ect , nice litle pool , ideal for relaxing stay ,would definatly go back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chaswarden1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2009

We stayed here with two young children in February 2009. We chose it for its price and proximity to the beach. We stayed for 2 weeks. When we arrived, we checked prices on neighboring properties, and the other properties with beach were more expensive. The major problem we encountered was the pool - for the two weeks we were there, the staff did not seem to clean the pool. We watched the pool get progressively murkier until it was no longer safe for swimming. Also, one of the women at reception was very rude to my husband, which was uncalled for, given the length of our stay and that we rented two bungalows.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bishkek09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#48 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuket Kata Resort
Phuket Kata Resort
#31 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
#35 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natalie Resort
Natalie Resort
#39 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rico's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rico's Bungalows

Property: Rico's Bungalows
Address: 42 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rico's Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rico's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rico`s Bungalows Hotel Kata Beach
Rico's Bungalows Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing