We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing and tucked away”
Review of Rico's Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rico's Bungalows
Ranked #45 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Southampton
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Relaxing and tucked away”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

We stayed at Rico's Bungalows which we found by walking around the area of Kata Beach. It is tucked away down a corridor between shop fronts. We were pleasantly surprised as the rooms are all located around the big swimming pool and smaller pool attached. There is a walkway around the pool with all the rooms with a patio. We had one right next to pool with a large glass sliding door. There was air conditioning, comfortable bed and room and en suite. Shampoo, soap are supplied along with tea and coffee etc. The receptionist is very helpful and you can order food in or bring back food to eat on your patio. It was never noisy. There were lots of sunbeds and gardens as well. The Bungalows are well situated as near the beach, town, buses etc. We got a good rate for the room.

Room Tip: There are rooms set back from pool with a garden section in front of them which maybe more private o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellight55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    56
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
43
41
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

The location of the hotel is perfect. Very close to the beach. It is a really nice stay may it be with friends, as couple or as family. The rooms are also good. The swimming pool is great. Me and my daughter were not ready to come out of it. The staff can speak good English. Staff is very welcoming and very helpful. Would surely like to stay here again.

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have windows. Check the same before booking. Still the A/c arrangement is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShivajiAtre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2014

Spent two weeks here while in Phuket and it was an amazing value. All of the rooms surround the pool and each room has a private patio both of which are very nice to cool down when the temps begin to hit the 100 degree mark in the afternoons. The room is cleaned daily, and the sheets are changed with each room cleaning so the room always felt clean and fresh. Every one of the staff memebrs went out of their way to be helpful and the manager Ree became like a friend who I looked forward to seeing every day. As others have said its not a fancy place but it is a tremendous value at 900 baht a night and would highly recommend a stay here for anyone who just wants a clean friendly place to stay, a great pool, and a friendly staff.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are right on the pool so you really cant go wrong. Its very quiet at night no matt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mace648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

Great location. Very nice staff. Rooms very plain. Pool nice and clean. Tours booked through them were good. No bells or whistles but pleasant. Near by restaurants, massages and shopping. Quaint. Nothing fancy.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Julieplum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

I spent some time hear and was only booked in for 3 night but ended up staying for 9 as the place was so good and quiet, the staff Jen and Julie made me feel so relaxed and welcome if I needed anything it was not a prob. It is aimed at the lower end of the market but the rooms were clean and tidy and for 900baht a night that was all I needed.

So a big thank you to the hole staff especially the lovely reception girls I will be back

Cheers Karl oz

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Karl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Between centipedes running up your leg in the shower to exploding toilets - this place had it all. Whilst he did upgrade me for free, coming back to find the whole floor flooded and the toilet backing up into the room, I cannot think how pissed I would have been if he had not. After two changes I finally was in a room that was adequate. Not recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have visited Kata Beach 5 times now, including 3 times with our 3 kids.
We walked passed Rico's every time we were in Kata without even knowing the Bungalows existed.

This trip, we were after cheaper accommodation and Rico's popped up.
We had extensive communication with Kent, who is a partner in the business, due to the fact that we booked 4 bungalows with about 6 months notice.
Kent was always prompt to reply.

I did a search on Trip Advisor to see what sort of reviews people were giving Rico's. and I was worried!

We were greeted on our arrival by Win, who assisted in every way possible in settling us to our rooms.

The bungalows are spacious. The beds are extremely comfortable. They did not charge us for an extra bed.
There is air conditioning, hot showers, tv, DVD player, safe & cupboards to pack away suitcases.
There's also tea, coffee, fridge with drinks at low cost.
2 bottles of water are supplied daily.

The house keeping were awesome. Fresh sheets and towels supplied when necessary but usually every day.

You could also collect beach towels at reception daily.

The pool is clean - the only negative is that they use a lot of chlorine so the kids constantly had red eyes. Goggles fixed this though.

We stayed here for 14 nights and we had a fantastic experience.
I went in with the lowest of expectations - I mean what do you expect for 1000baht a night. (Which is what we paid - and in peak season too).

Some of the comments annoy me on here. Broken cupboard handles.... Really?
We've paid 5 times more in different hotels in kata and have had bigger problems.

These bungalows are a must to consider. But bare in mind that you get what you pay for.
There's no breakfast included but many choices outside in restaurants.
I'd prefer to pay a reduced rate for the room and go elsewhere for breakfast anyway.

We walked 3 steps to the pool.......... And paid 1000 baht!!!!! I can't believe it!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelandlyndsay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#48 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuket Kata Resort
Phuket Kata Resort
#32 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
PGS Casa Del Sol Hotel
#36 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
0.2 mi away
Natalie Resort
Natalie Resort
#38 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rico's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rico's Bungalows

Property: Rico's Bungalows
Address: 42 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
#19 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rico's Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rico's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rico`s Bungalows Hotel Kata Beach
Rico's Bungalows Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing