We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and value for money”
Review of Rico's Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rico's Bungalows
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great location and value for money”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Nice clean room with fridge, safe and TV. Each room has a small outdoor area near the pool, but there is little privacy. Easy walk to the beach, great location near shops and restaurants and set back from the noisy road. A basic breakfast would be good for $60 a night.

Room Tip: Room 1 is the only one with any privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jbootsaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    56
    14
    8
    7
See reviews for
43
42
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gorey, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Clean neat bungalows in a busy location behind shops but very peaceful with a pool & plenty of lie-out chairs.
Bungalows quite close together but not a problem. Beach very close if you go left rather than right on leaving the complex. Good eating options close by. Songthaew from Phuket Town stops close by but you need to stay on to last stop.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great location within walking distance of beach and plenty of dining and shopping options. We even walked to Karon beach from here...not a problem. Great internet never had a problem in four days. Pool was clean and enjoyed by us all. Complimentary bottled water in our room and our room cleaned/made up every day. We got what was expected without having to chase things up which was fantastic. You can even book taxi transfer to airport at a good price with them. We had to leave at 3.30 am and our driver was right on time.

Room Tip: Room 11 was great for us so we weren't right beside the pool but I could still watch kids from o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Beachgirl207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

The room we were originally given had ants, but we were immediately given a new room. Room was cleaned every day; new towels and more water! They also have beach towels for pool or beach use. Room was spacious. Yes, all the rooms face the pool, but close the blinds! (Pool is great, very clean.) Rico's is in a great location in Kata--short walking distance from the beach, several little market stores and restaurants nearby. Overall, great experience at Rico's.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank Ashley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taiwan
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Kata Beach is very busy but Rico's rooms were off the road and in a very good location, convenient to the beach, shops, restaurants and song thaew. Nice pool, liked our room with good tv channels in English (best of our 2 weeks in Thailand), fridge, daily water bottles, and Room 9 had more space although had a buzzing noise from generators(?). Nearby, there is are small evening foodstalls selling saltcrust fish, bbq pork and chips, with drink stands. A staff member who was very helpful was Ree who called to make sure we managed to secure a boat-ride to Raya Island to our next hotel where the receptionist did not speak English. I would return here!

Room Tip: If you don't mind buzzing noise from AC unit/generator, choose Room 9 as it is larger for the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satayforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncan
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here April 2013. Was very surprised at the condition of these bungalows as the price was very low. Basic room with plenty of storage for suite cases etc. Very small bathroom with no counter space. Shower worked well. Pool was clean. Safe was in working order. Some front desk staff did not speak english but did find another that could if needed. About a 5 minute walk from Kata Beach. Plenty of dining and entertainment options very close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanIslDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were booked for two nights but checked out after one. The room was boxy, boring and tired. Blinds were damaged, wardrobe handle broken and the bathroom, though cleaned, looked old and very dated. The bed was hard as nails. All rooms face onto the pool and thus look in to each other so there is no privacy. Limited sun lounges around the pool. Early in the morning a foul smell emanated from the bathroom. We left unshowered and when provided feedback to the receptionsit on check out were told "it was fine yesterday" suggesting we may have been responsible??? The bathroom smelled so bad we didnt even use it! This is a boring, budget, basic hotel, the only thing going for it is it's central location.

Room Tip: Avoid all together and try a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tastravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Maithai Hostel
Maithai Hostel
#52 of 56 in Kata Beach
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
Phuket Kata Resort
Phuket Kata Resort
#32 of 56 in Kata Beach
197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#41 of 56 in Kata Beach
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#34 of 56 in Kata Beach
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Color Kata
The Color Kata
#48 of 56 in Kata Beach
120 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#28 of 56 in Kata Beach
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rico's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rico's Bungalows

Property: Rico's Bungalows
Address: 42 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rico's Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rico's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rico`s Bungalows Hotel Kata Beach
Rico's Bungalows Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing