We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Liked this” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rico's Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rico's Bungalows
Ranked #42 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Taiwan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Liked this”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Kata Beach is very busy but Rico's rooms were off the road and in a very good location, convenient to the beach, shops, restaurants and song thaew. Nice pool, liked our room with good tv channels in English (best of our 2 weeks in Thailand), fridge, daily water bottles, and Room 9 had more space although had a buzzing noise from generators(?). Nearby, there is are small evening foodstalls selling saltcrust fish, bbq pork and chips, with drink stands. A staff member who was very helpful was Ree who called to make sure we managed to secure a boat-ride to Raya Island to our next hotel where the receptionist did not speak English. I would return here!

Room Tip: If you don't mind buzzing noise from AC unit/generator, choose Room 9 as it is larger for the ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank satayforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    54
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
42
41
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Duncan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here April 2013. Was very surprised at the condition of these bungalows as the price was very low. Basic room with plenty of storage for suite cases etc. Very small bathroom with no counter space. Shower worked well. Pool was clean. Safe was in working order. Some front desk staff did not speak english but did find another that could if needed. About a 5 minute walk from Kata Beach. Plenty of dining and entertainment options very close by.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanIslDuncan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We were booked for two nights but checked out after one. The room was boxy, boring and tired. Blinds were damaged, wardrobe handle broken and the bathroom, though cleaned, looked old and very dated. The bed was hard as nails. All rooms face onto the pool and thus look in to each other so there is no privacy. Limited sun lounges around the pool. Early in the morning a foul smell emanated from the bathroom. We left unshowered and when provided feedback to the receptionsit on check out were told "it was fine yesterday" suggesting we may have been responsible??? The bathroom smelled so bad we didnt even use it! This is a boring, budget, basic hotel, the only thing going for it is it's central location.

Room Tip: Avoid all together and try a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tastravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Phuket at the Kata Beach area. Ricos is well located. Right next to the pub street. This is a busy street with a dead end. Lot of knick knack shopping, local flavour and an awesome pancake guy at the head of the road selling stuff from a cart.
The hotel itself is clean and tidy. The pool is good. The bathrooms are also very clean but the fittings can be better.
The beach is a very quick walk away.
We went as a big family and had loads of fun. Did not spend too much time at the hotel. Either it was the pool, the beach or the pubs around the corner.
There is a pharmacy right outside the hotel which was good because we needed some medicinces. It was difficult to communicate as the shop manager did not English too well but after a while of broken english, expressive hands and the works we got what we needed!
If you are driving the parking is away from the hotel. A couple of minutes of walk.
We travelled in December 2010 but don't have option to select that in the links section.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arpanar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked this hotel for 3 nights, because I have stayed there before. The reason we wanted to stay there again, was the pool outside the door.
Well we had confirmation and arrived in the afternoon to find that we had been double booked.
The girl at reception remembered me and knew she was going to have a problem with me when she told me, about the double booking.
I said give us another room she said we no have any more rooms, so I was not happy, she tried to put us in a guest house next door, then another crappy hotel up the road, as we were walking the streets with our suitcases in tow,my daughter who had never been there before was getting upset, thinking we won't be able to find another room, i said we we will be ok, don't worry.
so eventually we found a nice room at the kata sea breeze it was more expensive, and after a lot of hastle the girl at rico's agreed to pay the difference. do yourself a favor stay at another hotel and pay a little more.

Room Tip: If you want a good room, find one in another hotel,
See more room tips
Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank aussiescorpion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Vale, Australia
Level Contributor
111 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Although lacking Thai charm, these bungalows are clean and well located. The pool is clean and the staff are friendly. Beds are pretty decent too for this price range.

They arranged an early morning taxi and nothing was too much trouble. Walk to eat- street. Bit noisy as its very central.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

1) Place
Plase is OK, 5 minutes walk to the beach, bars and restaurants are close.
2) Stuff
I'did not likt the stuff on this hotel. man on reception does not speak English, and girl on reception was not so polite. We asked so simple questions (where can we rent a bike, or how to get to the nearest 7-11) but she could give us any answer.
ATTENTION! There are robberies in this hotel. 200$ was stolen. It was on our bag on a secret pocket, so somebody looking for something in our bag.
3) Room
All furniture is old, lamps did not work.
4) Swimming pool.
It's OK, but tile at the bottom was broken and our friend crashed his leg.

I won't come this place again. It's better to pay more money and book a good place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
408.3 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#32 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
408.1 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#45 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
408.1 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#31 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
409.3 mi away
Kata Poolside Resort
Kata Poolside Resort
#41 of 57 in Kata Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
407.7 mi away
Boomerang Village Resort
Boomerang Village Resort
#13 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 903 reviews
0.6 mi away
Vanilla River Ratchaburi
Vanilla River Ratchaburi
#5 of 44 in Ratchaburi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rico's Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rico's Bungalows

Property: Rico's Bungalows
Address: 42 Kata Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rico's Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Rico's Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rico`s Bungalows Hotel Kata Beach
Rico's Bungalows Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing