We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“How I Saw It” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Casa e Mare

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Casa e Mare to your Saves list
Casa e Mare
90/9 Kok Tanod Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“How I Saw It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Casa e Mare is in a handy location 500m from Kata Beach on Kok tanod Road. The hotel has 5 floors and 20 rooms. You would feel more at home here being Italian but the family owned business of Eddy, Lorella and son Michael will go out of their way to help you. Located in a quieter area in Kata its right next door to a 24 hour Family Mart and 7 Eleven is just up the road. Good restaurants within close walking distance are Kitchen Kata, Ragualetta and Red Chair. A laundry facility is diagonally opposite the Hotel and several massage places are within close walking distance.

First impressions of the room were how clean and nicely presented it was, first ever hotel in Thailand - I was impressed. Wifi in the room was poor to good. The safety deposit box to my room was bolted by two screws to a wooden cupboard shelf – I didn’t use it. I found another hiding place for my valuables and took my friends advice to leave 20THB on the pillow with a ‘thank you’ note. The room maids were excellent anyway and respectful of belongings.

Some niggles...the hot water system in the shower (see photo) is aging and water lukewarm...not a good hot shower. It took me a while to work out how to close the Thai curtains with their wooden handles and the bed is very firm but I found these to be the norm in the four Thai hotels I stayed in. All in all I enjoyed my stay here and recommend it. Thank you Eddie, Lorella and Michael for your hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    27
    4
    3
    1
See reviews for
19
62
27
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and the room was really great, clean and big. The owners are really friendly and helpful but the only downside was that the prices of food at the hotel are pretty high so we ate breakfast in a hotel 50m away. We also rented a scooter at the hotel. The hotel is 5 min walk to the beach and the center of Kata.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pixlpoxl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed in 2 rooms - 1 was an upgrade. We found many ants crawling out from beneath the fixed wardrobe in the non-upgraded room the first night. We told the owner (husband) but he barely speaks English and didn't understand. The son went upstairs to check our room, then asked his father for advice (the son, though passable at English, is not at all knowledgeable).

His father gave us a can of insecticide. Though we weren't happy about sleeping in a room freshly sprayed with insecticide, he immediately told us that we couldn't change rooms because hotel full. On the bright side, at least the chemicals did the trick...?

In the upgraded room, the toilet didn't flush properly right from the start (caused water to flow into sink). The next morning, we told the owner (husband). After some gesturing, he understood, but basically said blamed me for flushing too much toilet paper down the toilet... (Let's just say he's not very professional - or friendly) He also wouldn't really confirm whether or not someone would fix it. We returned from a day at the beach and the sink was STILL overfilled and gross. We luckily caught the cleaners working right outside our room and they fixed it for us.

FINALLY, on our third and last night, we asked the owner (husband) and son hanging out downstairs about getting a taxi to the airport. They reported it would cost 900baht. We were a bit surprised, as on meter to Casa it was 750baht, so we asked if there was a metered option/why going back cost more. Then the dad/husband suddenly got very pissed/defensive - he loudly told us that he didn't set the price and he wasn't ripping us off.

We were really confused by his anger, but reluctantly asked him for another transport option. He waved his hand to dismiss us and basically said 'no'. He then turned to his companion and obviously talked badly about us in Italian (ah, yes, his usual professional behaviour).

While ants and broken toilets are forgivable as they happen often, it was THE WAY the owner (or the husband in particular) treated us and the situations that was offensive and unacceptable. OWNING a hotel requires good customer service and professional behaviour. The husband's attitude was outright immature during the 'taxi incident'! With due credit to the hired Thai staff, however, they were all very polite.

Room Tip: If you must stay here, I guess at least choose a room that doesn't have several coin-sized holes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

Stayed here for a night and loved it! Very clean and extremely helpful staff. Internet signal was great as well. Didn't get a chance to dine here but the food looked and smelled delicious. The Italian owners were great! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank josh43551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We were quite surprised to have paid very little for the awesome experience and the comfort that we had at Casa E Mare Hotel. It was not my first time to have a vacation in Phuket so comparing it with my previous experiences, staying in this hotel made my Beach holiday more unforgettable. To start off, we booked this hotel because of it's price since we were already in Phuket at that time and just thought of extending more nights there. So minutes ago we just booked it and asked a taxi to bring us there without expecting anything. When we arrived we were greeted by 2 super adorable puppies who are very friendly. Ofcourse aside from the puppies we were greeted by an Italian lady and a local girl who were both friendly. The Italian Owner was very kind and even gave us a room upgrade. she went with us to our room which we were very surprised of how it looks like. It was nicely designed, clean bathroom, good sized mirror, comfortable bed and a nice balcony overlooking the mountains. That totally changed my holiday from better to best. My friend even extended her stay in phuket too since we just loved everything about the hotel. They also have a restaurant which serves italian cuisine. We enjoyed the food and the service there too. In fact we even changed our last dinner plans from a fine dining resto to their place since we were thinking of enjoying every moment of our stay there. The Wifi is fast too by the way! They even arranged a taxi for us who was on time to pick us up. The Italian family who owned the place really made our stay the best it can be. I have already recommended them to my friends ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Miss_EllaineL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was the best value for money we found in phuket, kata beach is alot nicer and cleaner than patong beach, we stayed 2 nights in patong and 3 nights in kata. Patong is good for the party scene but alot gets a little too much after a couple nights, depending on what your into. Kata is alot quiter but still has plenty of restaurants, bars and markets. Case e mare was exellent value at 700 baht PN about halve what other hotels of simular style are charging. It is run by a friendly italian family, there is an italian restaurant/ bar downstairs in the loby.the hotel is about 1.5 km away from the beach which is a bit of a walk in the heat, you can rent a moterbike from the hotel for 200 baht for 24 hrs that makes it very easy to get to the beach and restaurants, bars etc. Overall exellent value for money in phuket. Has free WiFi, aircon, fridge, cable tv, and all the essentials for a budget but comfortable hotel. Would defiantly stay again when we return to kata.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peacelovehappieness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The hotel is clean, friendly staff who are very accommodating. Restaurant serves full menu of cuisines and great Italian food. The hotel offers assistance with tours and excursions including motor bike rental. Overall excellent choice as a hotel to relax and the base for your holiday plans.

Room Tip: Stayed in a Superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
#7 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 862 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nook Dee Kata Beach Resort
Nook Dee Kata Beach Resort
#10 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#4 of 129 in Karon
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#16 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 645 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Melody Phuket
The Melody Phuket
#18 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa e Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa e Mare

Property: Casa e Mare
Address: 90/9 Kok Tanod Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for budget BUT CLEANING AND NICE accommodation for an exiting beach holiday in Thailand, the CASA E MARE is the right choice. The CASA E MARE, is ideally located on a peaceful Kata Beach one of the most beautiful beach in Phuket. Markets, restaurants and nightlife venues are a short walking distance from the hotelCASA E MARE is a friendly hotel with homely hospitality and offers a range of useful quality services (like a high speed Internet wireless connection free of charge in every room, motorbike rental, tour desk etc etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Casa e Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa e Mare Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing