We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Cheap but very poor!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa e Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa e Mare
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Cheap but very poor!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2011

There is NO taxi service as mentioned.
There is NO pool as mentioned.
There is NO laundry service as mentioned.
There is NO carpark as mentioned, room out front for about 10 mopeds (which the hotel own most of)
Internet is terrible unless your in room A1 (we moved about four times)
Food is a rip off in the hotel it cost me 350thb for tea and toast which should cost 120thb MAX, there is NO port "down the street" as mentioned.
The hotel is very Italian orientated.

The owner encourages you to go behind the reception desk to leave in your key and take it out... If I can do this can't other people take my key???

The room was OK - bed linen was ripped and had cigarette burns in it!
We also woke up every morning with lots of mosquito ans ant bites!!!

Room Tip: Room A1 has the best internet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Megan-Katie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    40
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
25
100
41
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

We have to come to Phuket for business from time to time and used to stay next door - but it was getting tired and staff changing so we had walked past here many times and decided to try it. The room has just been done up and was clean and had good pillows and bed. The price is excellent and we like the location because it is walking distance to the main beach. The owner was friendly and we will definitely come back when we go to Phuket again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aquaholiclanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We originally booked to stay at this hotel for a couple of days, then intended to look round for a hostel in the area!! There was no need this place was fantastic value for money and cheaper than any hostel we would have found!! The rooms were spacious and clean with fantastic bathrooms, TV, WiFi, fridge!! The owners Eddy and Lorella were so friendly and fantastic we went on trips and left my luggage there whilst we were away at no extra charge and they squeezed us into a room at short notice when we returned early!! we ended up staying for 2 weeks and it was a great 2 weeks. Its a short 10-15 Min walk from the hotel to the centre of town, or you could do as we did and hire a moped for only 150 Bhat a day!!!
If we return to Phuket we will definitely be staying at this place again and would also recommend it to anyone!!

Thanks for a great 2 weeks Eddy & Lorella!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyliem85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great Location, but too small room with double-decker bed.
Besides the room size, I have nothing to comment.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kavin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
326 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

Casa e Mare has probably the best value for money in Phuket. The rooms have budget prices (400 to 600 baths) but great amenities: Western bathroom (including a separate shower and free shampoo and shower gel), satellite TV, AC, comfortable bed...
Location is good, with two beaches within walking distance (10-15 minutes) and another one quite close too.
The hotel also has an Italian restaurant (great espresso!) and sells gelatto.
We will definitely go back if we can.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pixxidix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2010

Nice hotel, well decorated, large rooms. Hot shower (with glass doors- unusual in Thailand), A/C, free wifi. No free bottled water, or free hot drinking water in the hotel, or free breakfast (things that many other hotels in Thailand do provide) Owner willing to bargain for a good rate. Easy walk into town and beach.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2010

Room was very good, staff was resonsive, Good rates on bikes, got me a taxi to airport very early,
Had a great time in Phuket,
Will stay here again next yr

Great Stay

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stonetexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.0 mi away
Navatara Phuket Resort
0.0 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#5 of 131 in Karon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.0 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 316 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.0 mi away
The Tint At Phuket Town
The Tint At Phuket Town
#1 of 81 in Phuket Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa e Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa e Mare

Property: Casa e Mare
Address: 90/9 Kok Tanod Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for budget BUT CLEANING AND NICE accommodation for an exiting beach holiday in Thailand, the CASA E MARE is the right choice. The CASA E MARE, is ideally located on a peaceful Kata Beach one of the most beautiful beach in Phuket. Markets, restaurants and nightlife venues are a short walking distance from the hotelCASA E MARE is a friendly hotel with homely hospitality and offers a range of useful quality services (like a high speed Internet wireless connection free of charge in every room, motorbike rental, tour desk etc etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Casa e Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa e Mare Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing