We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and convenient”
Review of Casa e Mare

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa e Mare
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2011

We have to come to Phuket for business from time to time and used to stay next door - but it was getting tired and staff changing so we had walked past here many times and decided to try it. The room has just been done up and was clean and had good pillows and bed. The price is excellent and we like the location because it is walking distance to the main beach. The owner was friendly and we will definitely come back when we go to Phuket again.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aquaholiclanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 245 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

We originally booked to stay at this hotel for a couple of days, then intended to look round for a hostel in the area!! There was no need this place was fantastic value for money and cheaper than any hostel we would have found!! The rooms were spacious and clean with fantastic bathrooms, TV, WiFi, fridge!! The owners Eddy and Lorella were so friendly and fantastic we went on trips and left my luggage there whilst we were away at no extra charge and they squeezed us into a room at short notice when we returned early!! we ended up staying for 2 weeks and it was a great 2 weeks. Its a short 10-15 Min walk from the hotel to the centre of town, or you could do as we did and hire a moped for only 150 Bhat a day!!!
If we return to Phuket we will definitely be staying at this place again and would also recommend it to anyone!!

Thanks for a great 2 weeks Eddy & Lorella!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kyliem85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

Great Location, but too small room with double-decker bed.
Besides the room size, I have nothing to comment.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kavin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2011

Casa e Mare has probably the best value for money in Phuket. The rooms have budget prices (400 to 600 baths) but great amenities: Western bathroom (including a separate shower and free shampoo and shower gel), satellite TV, AC, comfortable bed...
Location is good, with two beaches within walking distance (10-15 minutes) and another one quite close too.
The hotel also has an Italian restaurant (great espresso!) and sells gelatto.
We will definitely go back if we can.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pixxidix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2010

Nice hotel, well decorated, large rooms. Hot shower (with glass doors- unusual in Thailand), A/C, free wifi. No free bottled water, or free hot drinking water in the hotel, or free breakfast (things that many other hotels in Thailand do provide) Owner willing to bargain for a good rate. Easy walk into town and beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Room was very good, staff was resonsive, Good rates on bikes, got me a taxi to airport very early,
Had a great time in Phuket,
Will stay here again next yr

Great Stay

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stonetexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2010

We booked this hotel based on the good reviews and photos from the other traveler but they are definitely not what we experienced. (please see my photos)

Location:
Good: not a long walk to Kata Beach
Bad: No one knows where it is. We took the airport bus which dropped us off at the wrong location, we dragged our luggages and couldn't find the place. Couldn't find a tuktuk that would stop. Managed to make a phone call answered by a Thai lady who doesn't speak much English, finally the lady of a massage place next to the phone booth helped told her where we were and she said she would come. A Thai lady showed up on a bike with an Italian who didn't talk nor look at us. She tried to waive a couple of tuktuk to no avail then finally got one who wanted to charge us more than what we paid from for the airport bus. Then she said she got to go and drew us a "map" then left! We walked 2 blocks in the heat and finally found a tuktuk that would take us. He couldn't find the place neither and phoned 3 times but no answer, this was 4pm, no one answered at the hotel??? Finally asked at least 5 people and found the place. The owners came out and greeted us, we told them no one answered the phone, they just shrugged their shoulders and conveniently like they don't speak much English (mind that I don't judge people by their fluency of English as it is my second language too). So remember it is hard to find, they will charge you 1000 baht for pick up but taxi will cost only 750.

Room:
Really small, our windows open up to windows of another building, definitely not what the photos show. And when you make reservation there is no different grade of rooms to choose from. Bed is big as other review but it took up the whole width of the room. There is no shower curtain nor doors so when you take a shower, the whole bathroom/toiler get wet.

Service:
Not much to mention about, we were always the one to say hello first. It is a gathering place for Italian, we often walked by and the staff or owners were always talking among themselves and didn't even acknowledge we were there. They have a firm policy that if you don't let them clean the room by 2pm it would not be cleaned that day. As for security, we were told to put our keys in a key box behind the office desk which marked "Staff Only" and picked it up when we returned, if we could do that so did anyone else!! No one checked whether we were taking the right key.

While this place is a short walk to the beach the surroundings is not very appealing (see photos) There are much better place to stay than this, even next door, the Kata Lucky Villa seems like a decent place and more secure. We arranged a taxi from the laundry lady across the street for 800 baht rather than pay 1000 from the hotel, after all they never asked if we need transport or anything to that matter.

Definitely will not go back and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AllensWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 55 in Kata Beach
1,173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#6 of 55 in Kata Beach
793 reviews
5.8 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 331 in Patong
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Yama Hotel Phuket
The Yama Hotel Phuket
#9 of 135 in Karon
644 reviews
1.0 mi away
CC's Hideaway
CC's Hideaway
#4 of 135 in Karon
795 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa e Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa e Mare

Address: 90/9 Kok Tanod Road, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kata Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $35 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you are looking for budget BUT CLEANING AND NICE accommodation for an exiting beach holiday in Thailand, the CASA E MARE is the right choice. The CASA E MARE, is ideally located on a peaceful Kata Beach one of the most beautiful beach in Phuket. Markets, restaurants and nightlife venues are a short walking distance from the hotelCASA E MARE is a friendly hotel with homely hospitality and offers a range of useful quality services (like a high speed Internet wireless connection free of charge in every room, motorbike rental, tour desk etc etc). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Casa e Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa e Mare Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing