We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyable”
Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Baray Villa
Ranked #20 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2010

the service there is very good.
the whole process is comfortable and relax!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zhao_yihan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

407 - 413 of 487 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2010

We first stayed in another hotel in Kata. The moment we arrived I allready wanted to leave. The next day we started our hotelsearch. Though it was low season a lot of hotels were fully booked.
After visiting a few hotels we arrived at Sawasdee village in Kata and asked to see the Baray villa.
We were so amazed by it and immediately booked a villa. Oke, it wasn't cheap but it was such a spacious and beautiful villa! It had a living room, two bathrooms, high speed internet in the room an dupstairs was the bedroom with a huge huge bed !!
Service was great and very personal. Thank you for everything staff of Sawasdee!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vadimchristel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2010

We spent 5 days in the Baray villa... amazing.
We organised the baray villa limo super van to pick us up form the airport when we arrived.. I'm so glad we did this as the trip to the resort was approx 1 hour. As we reclined in the limo super van our driver told us a bit about the areas we drove through.. although it was night and we couldn't see very much
when we arrived, Mr Moo tok us straight to our villia where we carried out all the check in procedures. What a great way to check in!
Our villa WAS amazing. (check out the photos).
The resort had been informed we were vegan, so we were told that if we wanted "anything" cooked for us, just to ring our butler. It was great! Anything we needed was taken care of.
The only downfall was our bed was not soft... but it was HUGE :)

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EmilyFijiLomani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights in a Baray Villa whilst on Honeymoon in Phuket and have to say this place offers the most stunning accommodation for the money. The villa itself is detached, set over 2 floors with more space than any couple will need even on a long holiday.

The only real drawback is that whilst the villas are amazing, they are part of a resort that is no more than 3-star average. Not awful, but not amazing. As a result things like the pool, the bar and the service do not match up to the villas.

The resort of Kata is fairly busy with enough shops and a very pretty beach. The water is beautiful to swim in, but maybe not so good for poor swimmers or children as the waves are reasonably strong at times - just adds to the fun for me. Don't expect some hideaway idyllic tropical beach either, there are plenty of people around.

The Sawasdee is about a 10 min walk to the beach, or you can take the hotel shuttle every hour or so.

Pro's:
- huge villa and grand design of the living area and the bedroom.
- bathtub big enough for a family plus 2 showers and 2 WCs.
- sense of privacy and privilege staying in the villa.
- the 8ft wide bed!
- the 25ft corner sofa downstairs!
- the spa insure.
-

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ukoyster7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2009

We spent our last night at the Baray after spending 6 nights in a garden villa.
Although we liked the Sawasdee resort, we found the rooms to be very small and dwarfed by the enormous bed.

Dining room area was delightful and enjoyed our breakfasts sitting next to the koi pool with excellent service staff.

Once we had a peek at the Baray, we knew that we had to spend our last night in this opulent villa.

We were collected by the staff and led through the enormous gates into the "Forbidden City" to a world of luxury and spoiling. The rooms are magnificient, albeit in an Arabesque style - would have preferred more of a Thai theme.

The villas are very spacious and beautifully decorated. We enjoyed every single aspect of the villa and didn't want to leave. We spent our last 26 hours in Phuket there and loved every moment - from the jaccuzzi to the pools and the sun deck. There was nothing that we didn't enjoy. The only service that we didn't enjoy was the foot bath that escaped our notice (we should have looked at the advertisement for the resort) nor we were given a T shirt, that I understand is normally given.

As we stayed a week in the resort, we were photographed and given a nice complimentary souvenir photograph.

Amazing experience - although we haven't thought of returning again to Phuket the thought of another stay there may pursuade us. During the season very expensive, worth considering at the beginning or end of green season.

An unforgetable place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ilanastone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2009

Don't stay here unless you want to waste your money in a look-a-like 4* hotel.

Service is provided from Sawasdee Village staff, no dedicated service to Baray Guest.

Price paid is much too high even in "low" season. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone who needs the beach access.
Service need really improvement. You can get much frendlier staff elswhere around Phuket for 4 or 5* hotel.

Rooms are good and well appointed but why all this Arabian style decorations in Thailand?
Make no sense to me. Private pool is very small and ridiculous as they call triple pool access. Jacuzzi is indoor and main pool has no view. No view also from the room excepted in other Villa.
Customer not happy and will not come back when in Kata/Karon Beach aera.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank SwissAirTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2009

We stayed at the Sawasdee Village in Kata Beach and we really interested to see the Baray Villa, I heard from my friend that is so beautiful villa. The staff showed us and it's so wonderful place so we decided to move immediately to this Villa, can't wait to stay. It's really easy to move.

We have private jacuzzy inside our villa which connect with our private pool and the main pool outside. We can stayed all day in the Villa, there are anything we need, full stock of minibar, tea-coffee making facility, TV and 24 hours internet access with wirless keyboard and mouse in our bed room, book etc. We asked them to served a breakfast in villa as well. In our bed room, there is the big bathtub and the toilet and shower are separate. The bed is very big and also the sofa in the bed room with foot bath where we can relaxed our foot with warm water. The dome is over our bed - it's really fantastic. Most of the decorations are gold color with delicate hand made Arabian style furnitures - it's like we are the king and queen in Arabian country.They provide the shuttle bus to go to Kata Beach as well and also the complimentary sun desk at the beach. That is very beatiful time we spent there, all staff are helpfull and served us very good service there and we will stay there when we return to Phuket next year.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChoiJiHoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
847 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
943 reviews
0.8 mi away
Impiana Private Villas Kata Noi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Malisa Villa Suites
Malisa Villa Suites
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $194 - $438 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing