We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Baray Villa
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2014

We'd like to thank Baray Villas and our travel agent Andaman Adventures for working together to give us such a memorable experience of Southern Thailand ! This resort is the most romantic place we have ever seen, it is like stepping into a fairytale land from the moment you arrive. Our agent got us an absolutely stunning villa, we really should have written down that unit number. The staff at Baray are always so full of smiles and ready to help, we were impressed! The food was always great, if a bit expensive, but that was to be expected when choosing a luxury resort. The whole environment and atmosphere is full of Thai charm, worlds away from the big western chain hotels that are all over Phuket. This is the real deal, we plan to return !

Room Tip: Book with Andaman Sky as part of a tour of the region - we got one customised to our needs and it wa...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank billjacobs68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    69
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
311
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

First let me say that the photos do not do it justice, it is truly amazing. We had the largest bed we have ever seen (and comfortable) with a full width foot spar built into the bottom. There was a large free standing bath, a separate rainfall shower, WC, an ioniser, enormous flat screen TV with an Apple gadget that gave internet access, played DVD and CDs. That was just upstairs! Downstairs there was another identical TV, a large lounge, another bathroom and WC and much more. There was also a Jacuzzi which gave access to a feeder pool which led into the main Baray Villa pool.
A couple of people have said the pool was cold because it was not in much sun, well it was very shaded but I found it fine, and I'm a bit of a softy as far as pool temperature goes. We didn't find the mossies a problem either, nor the stairs. And we are both in our late sixties.
The restaurant was good and not too expensive by hotel standards, although there were plenty of places to eat just outside the hotel which were much cheaper. There was also a 7/11.
The only problem with the place was that there was very little out side space to sit, and none in the sun. If you are the sort who use the hotel to sleep and then go out all day this would be fine and I would recommend it, but if like us, you tend to stay in the hotel all day there is nowhere to sit in the sun and it it for this reason only that I wouldn't return

Room Tip: There is only one room with outside space in the sun and I think it is 207. It's the room furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mature married couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coto de Caza, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed in an amazing two story villa at this resort. The room was absolutely beautiful, it had two beautifully furnished and fixturized rooms with polished hard wood floors, a foot bath and a access to a private pool area from inside the room. The sheets and towels were nice and luxurious and in good shape. The resort is small and quiet and well maintained. The restaurant is very good for a hotel restaurant we had dinner there our first night and enjoyed it. The prices are not as low as in town, but the food was tasty, and the free breakfast was nice with a great selection of local foods and traditional breakfast foods. The slight negatives for this review, but they didn't really affect the quality of our stay; 1) its not on the beach. the beach was a fun but not close ten minute walk from the hotel. we didn't mind the walk at all, but since this is a beach town and its not on the beach it warrants me saying it.2) the pool was freezing, not cold freezing, making it almost unusable, and most importantly 3) while the people were nice, of all the places we visited in Thailand, this staff kind of had a snooty I'm better than you tourists attitude. They were nice, but the tude was there, and we didn't feel this anywhere else we visited in our two weeks in Thailand. Overall this was a very memorable resort that we loved staying in and we would absolutely go back and we will absolutely tell our friends about it. Its a great place to stay NEAR the beach in Kata, Phuket.

Room Tip: Try to get a Baray Villa if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jay K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
151 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stayed here for a portion of our Honeymoon. This was our first time in Phuket, so we didn't know what to expect. Phuket is a lot more crowded and developed than I had thought, so that being said, The Baray Villa does an excellent job of creating an escape from the hectic city life.

Literally, upon stepping onto their property, you are whisked away from the turbulent city life and consumed by all that is natural. The noise of car exhausts and horns evaporates and your ears are penetrated by waterfalls and the sounds of calming chimes. They do an excellent job of building a natural barrier between them and the city.

We stayed in villa 206 (Taurus). These villas are, for a lack of a better word, ridiculous. I mean, they're so huge for 2 people. It's like a condo. Pretty much everything about it is great, except for two things.

The jacuzzi was a good idea, but improperly executed. A jacuzzi is supposed to have warm to hot water, not cold. It was incorrect of them to construct the jacuzzi so that it combines with the pool water, which by the way is cold, even for the hot Thai air.

Unfortunately, the jacuzzi being improperly executed contributes to the second problem the Villa exhibits. The issue is that since they allowed for the free flow of water from the jacuzzi into the pool, this has allowed multiple gaps by which mosquitoes can gain entrance into the Villa at any time. Poor planning considering Thailand is a humid location which spawns the growth of countless mosquitoes. Between the 2 of us, we only experienced 5 bites, but it should be 0.

Everything else about the resort is great though. They include a free breakfast with the room which you either eat at the restaurant or they bring to you at no additional charge. That's a very convenient option. Oh and by the way, your room comes with a personal butler. Pretty cool.

The resort has a little shuttle bus which transports you every hour, on the hour (9 am - 6 pm) to the beach. Approximately a 2 minute car ride or a 12 minute walk. Talking about walking, it's pretty annoying outside of the resort because you constantly get haggled about massages.

Massage???? No Massage, damn it!!! You guys will see.

Other than the massage haggling, the surrounding area is fine. You can find good deals on many items. For toiletries, go to the 7-11 to purchase them, you'll save a lot of money compared to the pharmacies.

If you'd like to stay near Kata beach, this is the place to be. Staff is very friendly and courteous.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LBCdovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whiskers13
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

My husband and I stayed in one of the villas - Leo. The resort was breathtaking, the pictures on the website do not do it justice.
As an ex-travel agent I have had the pleasure of staying in some of the worlds top hotels, Baray Villas is my favourite by far.
The villa itself was spectacular, set over two floors with Thai and Middle Eastern deco, the worlds biggest bed, indoor and outdoor showers, end of bed foot spas, jacuzzi, private pool leading into villas only pool. Yes, the water in the pool is on the cooler side but who wants a hot pool when it's 32c!
The main pool area is also very nice, it has a great swim up bar with a lovely host ready to make you amazing mock/cocktails.
The Spa was also amazing, included in our package were several divine treatments which we took advantage of.
The restaurant food was delicious and good value for money.
All in all it's the perfect place to relax and enjoy the wonders of Thai hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank whiskers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We arrived at The Baray Villa nearly 12 midnight after getting picked up from the airport by the hotel car (4x4) which was part of their special offer so we didn’t have to wait for a taxi or even stand long as the driver was waiting for us as soon as we exited the airport.

Upon reaching, Tuktuk greeted us kindly and he checked us in swiftly and then pointed out the main locations around the premises (being the spa and the restaurant for breakfast) and then he took us to the villa where he gave us a full helpful tour.

We stayed for three nights and the villa is truly gorgeous and it’s very peaceful and serene, the beauty of the jacuzzi plus the private pool area is stunning, it’s quite a different world from the busy streets just outside of the hotel premises!

We got fresh fruits daily + ice refill and the villa had a selection of tea and coffee available along with the mini bar + snack items, there were plenty of books to read in a variety of languages as well as magazines, and they even had DVD’s available to borrow from the reception. The villa was amazing and I loved that they supplied a beach bag with towels and slippers to use, they even had a printout that had the staff’s pictures and names as a reference list, it’s their attention to detail that shows how much they cater to their guests.

There was internet available in the room (Via the MAC TV + Wifi) however the only downside was that I found it hard to connect to the wifi on my phone as it wasn’t always able to pickup the signal, but apart from that, the net worked quite fine using it on the connected TV screen.

Also they had an air purifier in the room and as an asthmatic person it was quite a breath of fresh air! (Pun intended)

I been to many hotels but it’s the first time I ever seen one use it!

The staff were available around the clock and they were all quite helpful and assisted us with all of our requests, they booked a lovely island cruise trip for us and even kindly helped sort out our travel booking changes in the last minute!!

And the restaurant staff took great care to cater to my food allergies and to our religious food preferences.

(Sadly I didn’t note down their names, but they were all so lovely and kind and we didn’t face any issues with any of them!)

We got a coupon for every night’s stay based on their special offer (we stayed for three nights), so the first copon we used for the airport pick up and the second was for a lovely set lunch meal and the third was for couples massage that was quite blissful and a perfect finish to a wonderful stay. They even gave us a coupon for a welcome drink to redeem since we arrived after the bar closed but unfortunately we didn’t get a chance to redeem it, however we got a lovely photo frame with our picture as a souvenir!

I highly recommend it and we enjoyed the villa so much we didn’t really want to leave and go out, it’s a beautiful romantic place for couples to enjoy and perfect as a honeymoon spot!

Only concern I would say is towards elderly couples as the bedroom is located on the top floor, there are a few stairs to climb, so I can see it being difficult for people who have knee or leg problems, but apart from that I am sure any elderly couple would enjoy just as much!

Room Tip: We stayed in the "Virgo" villa, we didn't really see the other villas but I thought th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muna_Alshamsi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

My wife and I booked this great resort as the last stop before the airport home in a fabulous custom tour to the region put together for us by Andaman Sky. We also went to Baan Kantian see hotel on Koh Lanta and the Centara Anda Dhevi in Ao Nang.

We liked the Baray Villa the best of all of these places. Even though we ddin’t enjoy Phuket much (too over-developed). The Baray Villa’s location is great, the serrice from all the staff was genuinely friendly, the breakfast was good, I particularly liked swimming out of our living room to the pool bar. This is a great resort, but in a location that is now best avoided.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pottyjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#6 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,291 reviews
1.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Property: The Baray Villa
Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing