We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent!”
Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Baray Villa
Ranked #14 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Beijing, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Style especially love ~ oh rural wind.Room is small.Fine everywhere.It is best to quiet in there for three days or more.Will have more feeling..Lives of great.Very good service.Breakfast is very delicious, rich and delicate.A don't know what a windy outside at night just knock on the wall, some loud.Hope to improve.

Room Tip: Night view is very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your review on TripAdvisor. That was nice to hear that our tranquil atmosphere make you relax during stay with us and we are looking forward for your return.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

474 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    69
    17
    7
    3
See reviews for
67
312
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
81 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had arranged for a transfer from another hotel in Kamala and the Baray Villa charged us a rather reasonable rate and the SUV was comfy enough. We were pleasantly surprised when we reached Sawasdee Village. It's like you've entered into a secret jungle world while outside was a different picture altogether. We were brought to the check-in area and check-in procedure was fast but our room was not ready so we were told to wait at the lounge. They provided us with a nice welcome drink and towel as well. The lounge was a very nice place with music playing from an IPAD. There's a MAC PC there and there are swings in the lounge! Huge super comfy swings. Really brought out the child in me! 15mins later, we were brought to our room at the Baray Villas. We were awestruck. We've been to Morocco and they manage to make a mini-Morocco in Thailand! Lovely. We were given a mini-tour of the villa. It's a double storey villa. The first level has a gorgeous living area with super comfy huge sofas and a TV. It's a pity though that there is no dvd player in the living area. There is the jacuzzi and also the private pool. They have a small area for the kettle and coffee pot but we wished there was at list a mini kitchen. We didn't feel comfortable washing the kettles in the bathroom. There's a bathroom on the ground floor too and an outdoor shower. Unfortunately, the outdoor shower is not very private as the people from the unit beside you can see you showering. There is a shower curtain but unfortunately that defeats the purpose of an outdoor shower. There is a private deck but unfortunately, it's not very big and we would rather chill out at the super comfy sofa.

The staircase area is well-lit and made you feel like you are in some expensive place. I love it. The bedroom - is super gorgeous. Yes, I love the bedroom. I love the ceiling, the lighting and the huge huge huge bed. I had a hard time waking up the 4 nights we were there. The bed was really really good. There is a tv and you can even rent movies for free from reception and watch it on the tv! Awesome. Another thing that I so so love are the foot soaks at the end of the bed. Super relaxing after a day of riding bike and shopping. We sat on the sofa and had a foot soak with the warm water almost twice everyday! So luxurious! The bathroom is gorgeous and you can see that the details are very well thought of.. except for the fact that there are no hand bidets/sprays provided. It would be very useful if they provide it. Also, I'm not sure if newly married couples will appreciate having an open concept bathroom. There is a door you can close but you can still hear/smell whatever is going on inside the bathroom.There is a huge bathtub but we didn't use it. The shower gel and shampoo didn't really smell very nice and the water has a strong chemical smell with a strange taste.That I didn't quite like but after checking with reception, we were told that it's due to the chlorine that was added so that people can use the tap water for rinsing the mouth after brushing their teeth. After learning that, I do appreciate that extra effort the hotel put in. The cupboard is big and provides enough space for our clothes. I love the lighting of the room. It's really gorgeous and romantic.

There is a nice woody scent that lingers throughout the villa and it's really nice and it sets a romantic wood.

The private jacuzzi was wonderful but not so private. I didn't appreciate the fact that the unit next door would be able to see you if you are in the jacuzzi. Perhaps a curtain would make it more private. The private pool area is also small and unfortunately not private cos the neighbours can still see you swimming. But in a way I guess it's good cos the water from the jacuzzi and private pool will flow to the water in the main pool and I don't want my water polluted with human fluids. I'm just being practical here. The main pool which is shared by the 14 villas was really gorgeous. I love it and the floats provided. There is a waterfall at one end and a pool bar at the other. We barely see people swimming so we had the area to ourselves at most time. It's nice to just float and hear the birds singing. There are trees all over and it's really a pleasant site. You feel like you are once again in a secret Narnia-esque world.

You can go to the buffet or have in-villa breakfast. Unfortunately, we didn't quite like the in-villa breakfast as we didn't find the food tasty nor the coffee good.

The Sawasdee Village compound is really gorgeous though. There are swings all around and you can just get your book and chill/lie down on any of the swings. I love that!

There are convenience stores and food just outside of the hotel so it was really convenient. We rented a big scooter from the tattoo shop in front (Mr Kang is the guy's name) for 300 baht per day and went from Kata to Karon to Patong for 2 or 3 days. The hotel is at the beginning of Kata so it's not too long a ride from Karon and Patong. It's convenient. There are a couple of halal places in Kata and there is an indian restaurant which provided delivery so we didn't have a problem finding food. There are also pancake (roti) sellers near the hotel.

The staff of the hotel are very polite and friendly. You can put a do not disturb sign but unfortunately, we still find people ringing the doorbell.

Overall I love the Baray Villa and may come again but maybe not everytime I go Phuket. Even though it's luxurious and romantic, I don't find it very practical.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank the_spinsterella_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

We are very much appreciated for your comment on TripAdvisor and that was great to hear that you enjoy spending your time with us.

We are very sorry for our incompetent house keeper, as we are trying our best to keep our guest satisfied with the best experience of our hotel room, we try to keep it clean and tidy for the guest’s environment. However we will took your comment and act accordingly about do not disturb sign, so this kind of incident would not happen again.

Thank you once again to choosing our hotel for your accommodation and we are looking forward to welcome you back !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Me and wife stayed for four nights at the luxury villa.
Pros:
Stylish, huge villa with the canal type pool. Really nice to look at.

Staff do their utmost best to cater to all guest's requests.

Opposite a good bike rental shop.

Not so near to the chaos and party centres,a plus if you want to relax away from the world.

Staff sends breakfast to your room if you want.

The staff do their best to save you from mosquitoes.

They let you borrow DVDs and adapter plugs too.

Huge comfortable bed."
king plus" sized.

Cons:
For such a nice pool setup,they close it at 7pm.boring.

Breakfast is not that nice. Have tasted better in 3star places.

The architect was too much into opulence for the villas that practicality is lost.Can't wait to go home to my nice bathroom+toilet.and, the bedroom has a mac mini, but the living room only has a weird JBL speaker thing.theres no basin for kitchen kinda stuff. Wierd, considering that ppl use this as a temporary home.

Gotta bring your own shower gel.theres a 7-11 nearby selling these kinda stuff. The one they provide smells like the water.

The water has a permanent chrlorine taste.not the same at our previous hotel in kamala.they do provide enough drinking water though.so dont drink from the basin!

Might be too much to ask,but if only they would provide heating for the pools! :)

Hefty pricetag for the very nice decor and architecture, worth to try baray villa at least once in your life :)

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank byteblorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your accommodation and give us valued comments for improve our service.

The only reason for closing the pool so early in the night is for the safety of our valuable guest, which we dearly take prioritize.

Thank you for your dedicated comment about breakfast, we will advise our chef for further improvement.

We do hope to welcome you back to stay with us again for next visit to Phuket

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

I am currently staying at the Baray Villa and leave tomorrow. In general the experience has been average to good.

The standard of the food at the hotel has been questionable due to no refrigeration of the morning buffet not being refrigerated at all. Buyer beware!!

The Mosquitos at the hotel are deadly but the staff do their best as far as I can see.

They have no regard for the do not disturb sign and call you up to find out when you would like your room cleaned......???

We booked through a 3rd party and them found out that the hotel offer of evening meal or airport transfer would not be valid. So for our 7 nights in a villa (52000THBT) they couldn't give us a free transfer.

There are not many facilities at the villa and it is low season and maybe that is why when ever we ordered something it took in excess of an hour to arrive.

In general my GF have had a pleasant time but would we recommend it? No!

Would we come back? No!

Shame really :(

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martg4c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your accommodation and give us valued comments for improve our service.

Your observing comment as for the issue on refrigerator, every food on the buffet line are delivered fresh from the refrigerator located in the kitchen area so we could preserve all the space for more variety of food for our valuable guest. Moreover, we try to keep the food on the buffet line fresh by placing ice under the plate.

We are very sorry for our incompetent house keeper, as we are trying our best to keep our guest satisfied with the best experience of our hotel room, we try to keep it clean and tidy for the guest’s environment. However we will took your comment and act accordingly about do not disturb sign, so this kind of incident would not happen again.

For the issue for the free transfer, we are very sorry but this condition is only applicable for guest who book through hotel website only.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

My hubby and I stayed 3 nights in late May 2013 as the beginning of our honeymoon in Thailand. To be fair, I'm a platinum Starwood member and spend roughly 100 nights per year in hotels. If you want the local experience, being right in town with a number of things to walk to, a beautiful 2-story villa, then this may be the place for you. Air conditioning worked well and the entire place was spotless. Service is quite good, even with the language barrier. We had a water leak the first night and a plumber was there to tear out the ceiling, patch the pipe and return everything anew in a few hours. They booked dinner reservations and taxis for us with no problem, even made sure the drivers knew exactly where we should be dropped off. In one instance, after we arrived at our destination, the driver got out and confirmed with the people at the dock that we were going to the right place. The one downside, as a few others have mentioned, is that it is a bit dark. In addition, the property has a lot of still water resulting in lots of mosquitos. We were told this is the norm - used deet repellant like crazy, even had them put up a mosquito net for the bed on the last night - but this wasn't the case at the resort we went to next which was down the road (ok, ok, the next resort was truly 5-star and in a different league....I admit!). We were so miserable from the mosquitos, we didn't get much sleep. Breakfast is decent with lots of both western and eastern choices, eggs made to order. Spa was good but again, got 3 mosquito bites during the massage - not the most relaxing experience when you're scratching away at yourself. Other reviewers have captured a lot of the positives so I won't reiterate them here.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms in Baray Villa would be good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Sanchang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great rooms with a different appeal. Very large and spacious, both the bedroom and living room.
A very relaxing place to stay with direct swimming pool access and fairly private although not completely. Would definitely stay there again. Had a massage treatment in the Spa which was great. The food was nice as well.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Value Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your accomodation.We very appreciate to here that you had enjoy your you vacation in our hotel.
We looking forward to welcome you back again.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The Baray Villa is like paradise on earth. A two storey villa with its own jacuzzi leading out to your own private pool which feeds into a pool shared by the other guests in the villas is just so peaceful. The villa itself has so much to offer, you are given a tour when you first arrive. The Oasis Bar is a wonderful place to sit out of the sun for a few drinks "in the pool". The restaurant provided a great breakfast and I am sure it would have been just as good for dinner. The staff were very friendly and helpful and made our stay most enjoyable.
I would thoroughly recommend staying at Sawasdee Village and the Baray Villa - one of the best I have stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind review on TripAdvisor. That would be nice to hear that you have a great time with us in The Baray Villa, we are looking forward to have you with us in the near future.

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#6 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,303 reviews
1.0 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Property: The Baray Villa
Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing