We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis”
Review of The Baray Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Baray Villa
Ranked #19 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Redcliffe, Queensland, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An Oasis”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

After an exhausting 4 days of rubbish shopping in Bangkok we were both looking for a relaxing 5 days at Kata Beach. We had decided on the Baray Villas @ Sawasdee based on the high opinions of other reviewers on TA.
The taxi from the airport to Kata was a sightseeing extravaganza, taking over an hour and including a surprise stop along the way at the taxi owner’s shop, where a Thai lady told us in well-schooled English the advantages of using her services to book various tours during our stay. Pleasantly surprised though we were by her kind and generous offerings, we politely declined and, as the taxi driver had decided to align the finishing of his ablutions to the end of her spiel, continued to Kata.
The Baray Villas is a stunning extension to the boutique sized Sawasdee Resort. The photos submitted by previous reviewers pretty much cover it. As soon as you step from the street to the resort, both the noise and temperature seem to abate. The main Sawasdee pool is medium sided, with a swim-up bar and spa, sun loungers and good amounts of dappled shade. The resort staff, and in particular the reception staff are very friendly and well versed in English (as well as, it seems, some other European languages).
There are a number of outdoor sitting areas for guests to sit and relax, and the whole of the resort’s gardens seem very well maintained.
The Baray Villas themselves are quite stunning, with direct access through the personal spa to a small and private villa pool will a small shaded deck and loungers. This then opens out to the Baray Villa pool, which has its own swim up bar reserved exclusively for the 14 villas. The bed was massive (must’ve been 2.4m x 2.4m) and a bit firmer than we would have liked, but this seems to be the norm for Hotels in Thailand. There is a turndown and mosquito repellent service done around dusk each evening, although we didn’t find the mosquitos to be an annoyance.
Pretty impressive place overall. The breakfast was a more than adequate buffet style service, with a delightful Egg Chef cooking them howsoever we wanted.
It is a bit of a walk to the main beach (approx. 600m), but that seemed to just give us a chance to experience the beach and the villas more when we got there. The resort is around mid point along Kata Beach, with a clump of shopping and restaurants about 500m both north and south.
Overall, very hard to fault. If we get to Phuket again, we will stay at these villas…Pretty impressive!

Room Tip: All villas seem pretty much the same, although the Northern Star Villa(?) and the Villa directly on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank excitable1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    69
    17
    8
    3
See reviews for
67
312
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights for our honeymoon. we had read great reviews so expected great things. the place is getting on in age. they need to be careful and pay attentino to the cracks in the paint aroudn the place and update the room amenities.. or very quickly this place will be dreadful.

We stayed in the barray villa- yes it is very big.
things we loved:
* the bathtub is huge and the centre of the bathroom
* the bed is massive - biggest ive ever slept in
* the decoration of the room is unique - arabia meets thailand
* the grounds of the resort are like a spectacular water palace

Things that need improving:
* They need to stay on top of the mosquitoes -- they are a problem. but if you ask, they will spray your room and that should allow you to sleep. but i had to cover myself with insect repellent before sleeping.. mm.. that made for a romantic smell
* breakfast is not amazing. they could add a bit more variety.. they do change 1 dish everyday, but they should think of more ways to spice it up
* cant watch movies in the villa - we were not given a dvd player - we were given the harddrive of an i-mac computer. so you're supposed to put the dvd in the computer and play this through i-dvd. this does not work. seriously annoyting. yes the dvd plays.. but they do not have the sound running through the tv.. they have set up some ridiuclously cheap speakers.. little tiny computer speakers and THATs what you're supposed to listen to your movie from. YOU CANNOT hear the movie in your bed. its absolutley stupid. AND the dvds are cheap rip offs.. so they stop and start, the quality of the picture is crap, and of course the sound is crap componding the previous issue. For a hotel that charges about $300 Aus a night.. come on!!!
* Fruit basket not replaced - i had to ring and ask them to bring our daily fruit basket - they forgot 2 days in a row.

there are other things..
so - it was ok - but could be way better. i dont think its worth the price they are charging.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C_soo_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The West
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

We arrived late in the evening and got a walk through our unit immediately. It was large enough to live in for an extensive time with everything you could dream of...including a his and her "foot spa" at the base of the bed.I was disappointed not to be able to use our private pool as the mosquitoes were an incredible problem and the chaise lounges were wedged along the side of the unit. Also, my husband noted a transformer propped precariously near the edge of the pool.Just imagine what would have happened to anybody using this pool and the attached common pool if a 220-volt transformer toppled into the pool? Another reason for not giving this property 5 "stars" was the level of service. I was disappointed not to get fresh towels or a turn down service in the evening. At breakfast we called attention to a non working fan near to us. Nobody could fix the problem and we asked if we could move to another table. We were told the table was saved for the "owner". Facilities were superior, the service was very good, but not excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank austrianpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We first booked a night at Sawasdee Village but after reading about the great reviews on the Baray Villa, we decided to make an upgrade which came with either a free Thai dinner or airport transfer. We wanted to extend our check out time as our flight home was at 10pm but unfortunately for us, the hotel was 100% fully booked. However, we could leave our bags with them and also have a shower at their sister hotel located directly opposite. The Baray Villa is a beautiful 2 floor villa with your very own private jacuzzi that opens up to a private pool shared only amongst the other villas. There is a bar at the end of the pool which we didn't get to use. The room also comes with breakfast which we chose to have in our room. Upon checking in, you will see all the Tripadvisor awards proudly hanging on their walls at the reception area. This villa truly transports you away to a relaxing holiday. Spend all day in your room if you so wish because the beach will be crowded with tourists. However, if you do want to spend some time at the beach, there is a shuttle that takes you there hourly. We missed the shuttle so we walked the 10mins walk, which was also a great way to see the sights and sounds of Kata beach. It is extremely different from Patong beach where we stayed the night prior to staying in the villa. We also had a free photo from the villa which was a great souvenir of our stay there. They also have a lounge where we had the chance to use while waiting for our airport transfer. Might be a little on the pricier side but a really great villa experience you might not want to miss.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Natasha T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at Baray Villa for two nights and we absolutely loved it! staff were very friendly and helpful.
We decided to stay Baray Villa because we wanted to stay somewhere unique since we already booked our hotel for the another three nights with a beach front room. Villa was very big and unique with its arabic and thai traditional decoration which I really liked and most importantly it was incredible comfortable. You have an access to the pool which is only shared with those staying in the villa and also there is a pool bar for only drinks. there is also a main pool which is shared with other guests where you can order foods and drinks.
we had a breakfast in the room, you have to fill out the form and submit it by 9pm the day before for the room service for the breakfast. we had a beautiful breakfast exactly as we ordered. it made our stay very relaxing and fulfilling!
about the location, we loved it since we have many selections of local massage places in walking distance and not too touristy. we would love to come back if we can afford it!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tokyo_JapanKat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your comment on TripAdvisor, we are very much appreciated. That would be nice to have you with us and hear that you enjoy spending your time with us. We are looking forward to see you in your next holiday !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2013

I asked my travel agent to book the Baray Villa after finding it on trip advisor, she couldn't and advised me to book it myself. I was nervous to book it on the internet as I hadn't done that before. I am so glad I did, the trip was a gift to my daughter and we could not have been happier. We were met at the airport as promised and taken to the Baray villa where we were met at the gate by Aura who was so lovely and welcoming there was no need to check we were taken straight to our villa, Aura showed us how everything worked and gave us all the information we needed for our stay. We loved it the beds were the most comfortable I have slept in any hotel, the pool that came right into our villa was even more amazing than the pictures, the staff were friendly it was so nice there we didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: pay the extra for the Baray Villa the pool and pool bar is fantastic and much bigger than the pool t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment on TripAdvisor. Regarding to your recent stay with us that would be great to hear that you enjoy your time with us. We hope to welcome you back in the near future !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Checked in following my husbands dream trip to EBC in Nepal, wanting relaxation and rest. We're absolutely not disappointed with both parts of this resort, the more budget Sawasdee Village and the very luxurious Baray Villa (we did both). Staff were amazingly helpful, food fabulous and we did a wonderful day at the spa. One has to realize this is a very hot, humid climate but we found the resort to be an oasis of clean and calm. It was very fragrant with lemongrass everywhere, and the sound of water was very soothing. We will definitely be back. Great bars on the street, as well as great Kata beach fun. Highly recommended, recent negative review notwithstanding. Our experience totally opposite!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank malcolmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orapin Weeracha... ., Manager at The Baray Villa, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for your review on TripAdvisor, we all are very much appreciated to hear that we are able to make you a wonderful stay. Thank you once again to choosing us and we hope to warm welcome you back soon !

Sawasdee Village & The Baray Villa Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.8 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
910 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
2.4 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Mandarava Resort and Spa
#2 of 8 in Karon Beach
1,932 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sawasdee Village
Sawasdee Village
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Baray Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Baray Villa

Property: The Baray Villa
Address: 38 KateKwan Rd | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Baray Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Art Resort in Phuket, Thailand… a Treasury of Exotic Thai Art & Culture… with the Senses of Peace and Healing. Art of Life… To fulfill the senses of living with the 1st Triple Pool Access Villa in Phuket, Thailand. The 14 Luxury Villas has the spacious space with luxurious design and the exclusive services of your personal assistant staff to customized all desires.We assured to heal your holidays in the peace of life with our Thai hospitality service. The awards from Tourism Authority of Thailand and TripAdvisor can guarantee your total experiences at our resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Baray Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Baray Villa Hotel Kata Beach
The Baray Villa Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing