We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely loved it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Ranked #15 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2014

Wow! This hotel was amazing!

It is located close enough to the beach (5 min walk) and attractions of Kata which has a much more laid back feel than Patong - just what we needed after flying in from Kuta, Bali!

The room was huge and beautifully designed with nice artwork and even a model ship. We had a spa bath on the balcony which was great to lie in and look at the mountains and ocean, we were near the top floor so didn't have any issue with privacy. The room was cleaned everyday and the standard of cleanliness was brilliant, the minibar was also restocked every day and its contents were free. The staff were really friendly and helpful, the welcome drink punch was so nice, my boyfriend kept asking for a refill! Some of the rooms have pool access which looked like it would have been good, although the main swimming pool was large and the dark tiling made it look very luxuriant.

We were meant to stay for a night but ended up extending as we enjoyed the experience so much. I would highly recommend this hotel and the value for money was excellent.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malyssa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

215 - 221 of 999 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel and have only good things to say. The hotel is exceptionally well placed. All the attractions of Kata and close to the beach while far enough away to enjoy quietness. The hotel itself is very modern with all the comforts of home. The multiple levels of pools are breathe taking. The rooms are large and beautifully decorated with comfort and Hi Tech. Free wifi is always great but weak signal from your room. Great to have a bathroom with a shower and bath but it does take a while to fill up. What is a 1st and awesome is the free stocked bar fridge.. Every day free beer Coke and fruit juice. The included breakfast is OK, nothing special. The beds are very comfortable and rooms are clean. Over all great value for money and highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014

It was a good time. We had the room at top level so was with a beautiful view and also a Jacuzzi in the balcony. If you are interested in pool defo go for the rooms with excess to the pool. The food was average not many choices. But rooms were nice and clean. Although because it's on a hill you have to keep on changing lifts at different levels which was annoying a bit. But overall good value for money and nice view. The hotel is a little far from the airport though and also from the city center. So if you want a bit of peace with a nice view you could stay here.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RohanMachhar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

This is my 4th time to Phuket and we were travelling on our honeymoon. We chose the hotel because we didn't want to stay in Patong and I've stayed in the Kata area before.
Staff friendly but some struggled with English so had to call others to help when conversing with us.
We were taken to our room by golf cart as the hills are VERY steep.
Room was suitable, more of a very good 3 star standard than 4 star as advertised.
There is a small step from the bathroom to the room and I kicked my foot on it really badly just after we arrived and had to limp around for about 2 days whilst the bruising went down. Not a good way to start a honeymoon.
We didn't include breakfast in our package which I was grateful for as the restaurant didn't look particularly appealing. It was never busy during lunch or dinner times.
Our room looked out onto a pool which was nice but no privacy on your balcony as all the rooms look directly at each other.
Bed was incredibly hard; never slept on such a hard bed and had a sore back for a few days.

Room Tip: Don't get the room with the bath on the balcony. It's not private and you'll never use i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSouthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

I've stayed at Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside - Kata Beach twice now and it is one of my favourite places to stay in Thailand. This trip we stayed for seven nights.
The pool side rooms are large, spacious, clean and modern. The location is perfect for cruising down to the beach, shops and restaurants

Room Tip: Book a pool side room, they are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DunnJasonE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Pleasant and good value, nothing negative to say, a good steady all rounder.

The location is good, its a 5/10 minute walk to the beach meaning you are surrounded by the hubub of Kata/Karon. Most people will describe Kata as the quiet, peaceful part of Phuket but actually I found this place quite lively/noisy, depending on how you look at it. Kata has two beaches and it's really only the southern part where you can expect anything bordering on peaceful. Not necessarily a bad thing because I actually found the south too quiet personally. It's a good location, you can head into the lively night life of north Kata or escape south to the relative quiet of south Kata. On a side note, it would be advantageous to be able to drive a scooter when there, the taxi's are quite literally extortion at times.

The room was massive, and finished to a good quality. There's a few small signs of wear and tear but nothing worth even taking a second look at, it was 99% fine. The bed was good, again massive, and slept well over the week we were there. We were on the 7th floor and never heard any noise. The room's come with the customary safe too ( just noting for the security concious/paranoid) and the cleanliness was really good, not a bug insight.

The reports about the dodgy lifts are true but it broke down only once, for a morning and fixed by the afternoon. To be honest, I think its probably cheeky cleaning staff commandeering it for use.

The breakfast was what let it down for me, but that owes to my food snobbery more than anything. There's cereal, pastries, omelettes, meats, fruits/salads and some token Thai food. I was never left hungry but also never really inspired, I found it all to £5.95 buffet esq.

I think on balance, I am glad I chose the place and if visiting again, I would choose it again if the price was right.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyArthur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Date of visit: 29 Mar - 1 Apr 2014


Pre-stay:
Took the risk of staying in this hotel after reading reviews about the broken lifts and its extremely steep terrains. We arranged for hotel transfer which costed 1200 baht/way, driver was friendly and chatty. Upon reaching the resort, facilities (both lifts) were working fine and we had a friendly staff to send us up to our via by the buggy. I also appreciated the fact that the resort doesn't collect deposit from guests.

Room:
Stayed in room 4304, a room that shares one of the smaller pool with the adjacent room. Overall cleanliness was acceptable, although there were some minor imperfections that don't really bother me (unclean glass basin, minor wear and tear at the higher walls). What really bothered me was the air-conditioner, it was noisy throughout the whole stay but being a non-fussy travellers and heavy sleepers, we didn't try to change to another room. Also, our bed was two single beds joined together which was unpleasant to sleep on as it wasn't comfortable sleeping on the joint of two beds. Else than that, the amenities provided were sufficient and love the extra clean feeling towels they provide.

Room View/Hotel Facilities/Breakfast:
Enjoyed the view from our room and the warm attitude of the staff. We get greeted by every staff who walked past us (not very prevalent in resorts/hotels these days). Breakfast was acceptable fare with a mixture of American and Oriental/Thai food. Expect wide range of pastries, standard deli meat, eggs, fruits and cereal stations.

Traveling around:
We rented small bike/scooter from the hotel at about 250 baht/day, a must-have if you intend to travel to nearby towns as taxi services easily cost 600-800 baht to get to Patong beach/way and it takes about 20 mins to get to Patong.

Rooms recommendations:
For couples or folks who are not lazy or fine with taking stairs, try opting for the higher floors. The top floor pool access is more private compared to the other units. It is an infinity pool shared by 4 or 5 adjacent rooms. Whereas the rest of the pools can be easily accessed by guests staying on other levels. Only the 2nd level pool has pool-side bar. We saw the opposite rooms with jacuzzi and I have to say, just go for pool access because the jacuzzi is even smaller than the huge bathtub in the room.

Staying at room 4304 required us to take 2 lifts, first lift services from level 1 to 4. The next lift services from level 4 to 9. After exiting on level 9, we had to take 2 flights of stairs to our room level. Not a big issue but the ramps are pretty steep for people who are pushing heavy luggage/wheelchair or baby prams. In any case, you can get the hotel staff to transport you and your stuff using the buggy but be kind enough to tip them!

Most importantly, we appreciated the free wifi services. However, the signal is not entirely strong or stable.

For the price we paid, approx SGD400 for 4D3N, we are happy with our stay. If you like late night swimming, you should totally get pool access rooms. Just note that the higher the floor, the more privacy you can get but you will also expect guests from other levels using the pool too. The other suggestion for the hotel is about its late check-out policy. Check-out time is 12pm and depending on availability, late check-out can be arranged at additional 200baht/hour. Although it is not a big amount, would appreciate the usual free extension to at least 2-3pm like most of the hotels/resorts I've stayed at.

Thank you Sugar Palm for the happy stay. :)

Room Tip: Higher floors for quieter pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kissesinmagenta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,139 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
770 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
Sugar Marina Resort - FASHION
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
813 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chanalai Flora Resort
Chanalai Flora Resort
#14 of 56 in Kata Beach
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Palm Grand Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Address: 1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $28 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Palm Grand Hillside 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, trendy treat and giving you a new kind of stylish sensual experience surrounded by cascading water from eleven multi-tiered infinity swimming pools set among beautiful tropical gardens, with superb views of Kata Beach and beyond from the chic and contemporary rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sugar Palm Grand Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing