We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel and needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Ranked #12 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Average hotel and needs improvement”
Reviewed March 17, 2014

What can I say about our stay in the hotel? And why did I say it needs improvement?

POOL ACCESS ROOM--Our room is 4107 and we have the privacy that we need but what happened during our stay is that their ground lift broke down so we have to climb the hill every time. Which is very tiring if you are outside the whole day. The turndown in the room upon arrival is quiet nice and I thanked housekeeping for that.

BATHROOM -- sink is located when you enter the room. Water in the shower is not draining properly. Bathtub is rarely used during our stay.

BED --We requested for double bed but we were given twin bed which they made double bed. Bed is comfortable to sleep in but not for 2 twin beds beside each other
AMENITIES -- not good quality. I had hair fall when I used their shampoo so we went to Bamboo Mart to buy shampoo. Cotton and shaver is not included in amenities. So, I advice to bring your own.

TELEVISION --Again, television channels are not working for the whole stay. We asked technician to come and have a look but we both got frustrated as he cannot do anything. He made 1 english channel work btw. He is a nice guy but due to technical difficulty, TV channels didn't work.

MINI-BAR in the ROOM --complimentary 2 bottles of water, 1 apple juice, 1 beer. For 2 days we do not have beer but it is ok because we do not drink beer.

GRAND POOL ACCESS --We are wondering as we booked a better categoryy Grand Pool Access, we want privacy but pool access are also accessed by people who are not staying there. One time, a group of Chinese and Koreans are taking selfie in our balcony and some are using the pool. We are surprise to see them sitting in our balcony. Also, 1 gay Russian couple are hugging and almost making out by the pool access so we didn't bother to swim and go to balcony. So, next time we will book Standard room and go to other pools as well.

SAFE IN THE ROOM --good and working

FEW ROOMS are HANDICAPPED/ ELDERLY FRIENDLY -- as most of the rooms are located in the hill, if you happen to be handicapped or elderly, make sure you request for rooms close to restaurant.

BREAKFAST --it was a decent breakfast for at least 10 days. But more than a week, if you have same selection every other day you will also find that selection are very minimal. Omelette was cooked nicely by the omelette lady. Even though she is not friendly, she cooks good omelette.

ROOM SERVICE --We would like to eat when we arrived around 11pm but as per reception, room service is not available. So I cannot comment much about room service.

STAFF -- One incident 3 days before we checked out, we asked if we can have late checkout, reception said we cannot because it is full. But if we pay 200baht per hour after 2pm, we can get a room. We agreed but we are quite surprised about it and ask the Manager on duty how come it is full and if we pay extra we can get a room to stay. We are willing to pay but I do not think of consistency for reception team. But when we asked the night before departure about it, reception said we can stay until 7pm, gratis! Thanks to the manager who realised that saying it is full but if we pay 200baht per /hour then we can get a room.

Things the hotel must do immediately:
1. Fix the lift close to the restaurant
2. The cable wirings of the hotel CCTV cams are hanging.
3. The pool in 4107 and nearby rooms needs to be fixed as there is crack. I attached the photo.
4. Keep the storage room closed all the time so guests would not be curious to have a look.
5. Keep the broken buggy away from the sight of the guests. Photo attached
6. Fix the drain of shower in room 4107
7. Maybe fix the TV channels if needed
8. Cotton and shaver could be added/part of amenities
9. Suggestion, a cookie in the mini-bar will make the mini-bar better
10. Train Front Office team to gain more knowledge on what to say to guests when guests are checking out.


I would like to thank:
1. The omelette lady who is making a good job but she needs to smile often
2. The buggy drivers/ porters who drives us whenever we are tired of walking the hill
3. The Manager and her team who allowed us to have late checkout as problem arises.
4. Housekeeping lady in 4107 who is very knife and kind even she do not speak english.

Room Tip: "The pool in Grand Pool Access is not private. Expect other guest to swim and even sit in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soleil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    414
    119
    44
    22
See reviews for
160
436
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Santiago, Chile
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We got an awesome promo deal and stayed 4 nights at a pool access room in this hotel. The infinity pool was just gorgeous, had an awesome view, and really did come in handy especially during the afternoon hours when there is zero shade on the beach and for late night dips :) We strongly recommend the breakfast buffet and found it had an ample selection - a great way to start the day! The rooms were comfortable and stylish with very nice beds, desks, and rain showers. We do have a few qualms though. As we arrived, the concierge "warned" us because she thought our room´s location was not so good - (mistake!). Aside from this faux pas, the concierge was really friendly and helpful. We were really touched by the special flower petal bed decoration the first night to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Following her suggestion, we asked to switch rooms the next day to a room that was only very slightly better located. This change was counter-productive because our first room was gorgeously decorated, impeccably clean and had everything in working order. The second room was clearly not *as* nice. The air conditioner did not work properly (which really bothered my husband to no end). We had some problems with the wifi. The floor material was not as shiny. It was lacking some artwork above the bed. It seemed a wee bit smaller, and the housekeeping at this room was clearly not so good. I had to personally remove a bunch of hair in the shower that was left by the previous guest (even though we had to wait an hour so that housekeeping could clean before we moved in!!). In general, we thought the pools could definitely be cleaner. Finally, the first elevator (out of the 2 we had to take to reach our room) was out of service for about 80% of our stay. Thankfully, there was no construction going on during our stay. The walk was not really a big deal if you are in decent shape. This hotel has an awesome location in Kata Beach - 5 min. walking to the ocean - (which, in our experience, was a great place to stay in Phuket). Overall, we were happy and would totally recommend this hotel for the price we paid.

Room Tip: pool access room was an awesome experience!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mariflorez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We had a room on the 5th floor, we didnt see or hear any of the building works people have mentioned in other reviews. The room was decent, bed very comfortable, pools fantastic, breakfast a bit basic but still more than adequate. The location is great for the beach and Kata Beach's attractions.

The staff are fine and happy to help.

If you want to escape the chaos of Patong, this is place is perfect.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Our first room was situated on the 11th floor and very far away from the entrance, it took 2 lifts and quite a walk to get to the room (10 mins) when we got to the room it was very nice although extremely noisy due to a problem with wind hitting the patio doors and walls. Unfortunately we had 2 screaming Russian babies who were out of control by their parents and they screamed early in the morning and in the evening, typical Russians with no respect. We asked to move after 5 nights as it was not peaceful at all. Gladly to see the staff organised for us to move to the 3rd floor and this was much more like it, very peaceful. The breakfast was basic but adequate although a few mornings my fiancé and I did not get a seat in the restaurant due to it being full. The staff were helpful, friendly and pleasant so I cannot fault them. The hotel is well situated near the beach and I would advice getting a moped there are hundreds on offer for a cost of around £5 per day, well worth it. the hotel has security and will safely look after them. restaurants are plentiful and range in price depending on whether you want no frills or lobster. Our dining experience was great but avoid 'Sorrento' Italian pizzeria the owners are abnoxious and the reviews are abysmol. Lots to do in Kata Beach and Patong, a fabulous holiday and we will be back

Room Tip: Get a room near the entrance and on the west side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdrianCGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel is still underconstruction....i've been there on 30/12/13 till 07/01/14....it's not as it look in the picture....u can find much better hotels in kata .....soo....don't belive what u see on the pics....

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radu_1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed here from 9th through 18 January 2013. The rooms were clean and tidy and replenished each day with drinks and clean linen. The hotel has probably one of the best sites in Kata Beach away from the beach front which is monopolised by Kata Beach Spa Resort and Club Med. Easy 5 minute walk to the beach and although up a steep rise it is not a difficult climb. It is away from the hubbub of the main road so is peaceful and quiet. The hotel serves a nice breakfast with plenty of choice and also room service and poolside snacks which are of a reasonable quality. There is also an in house spa which we received a 10 minute head and neck massage free of charge was very nice but unfortunately never got the opportunity to return for a longer treatment. The staff when on occasion we required assistance, with small issues regarding room maintenance, were helpful and friendly. I find this of all the Thai people when treated with respect and a smile.
The small restaurant acoss the main drive also serves meals from early morning to late in the evening. The staff here were also very friendly with a pleasant wave and a smile every time we passed.
The pools are clean and clear with adequate sun loungers and great to refresh in after a hard days travelling or soaking up the sun on the beach.
Whilst away from the main road it is also only a 5 minute walk to markets, shops and restaurants. I found this a preferable location for families away from the sleaze that is Patong. If you want to visit Patong it is a 400 Baht Tuk Tuk ride and takes about 25 minutes depending on the time of day.

Room Tip: Rooms higher up the hillside commanded a better view. Pool access rooms while we did not have one wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelbags4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springwood, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

The construction noise appears to have stopped (for now) and they only need to finish trimmings in some rooms. The site is steep, but the driveway is only 30m long from the road to reception. Three best aspects in my view were the location between kata noi and Kata yai, the breakfast (trying to cater to multiple tastes) and the big baths in the rooms. It can only get better, including improved culture of service, when they finish the renovations. Worst aspects- didn't see the pool bar open, paying extra for two key cards for one room and being booked into an unfinished room (safe, light fittings, shower screen not in yet) without disclosure or concession.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Evermorgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#8 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#10 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.7 mi away
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
Sugar Marina Resort - Surf
#18 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Palm Grand Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Property: Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Address: 1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Palm Grand Hillside 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, trendy treat and giving you a new kind of stylish sensual experience surrounded by cascading water from eleven multi-tiered infinity swimming pools set among beautiful tropical gardens, with superb views of Kata Beach and beyond from the chic and contemporary rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sugar Palm Grand Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing