We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Ranked #13 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a great find, very modern rooms, a concrete and chrome kind of deco. Very functional, huge bath tub, large walk in shower. The beds are of the softer variety, which worked well for this westerner. Price was outstanding for the room. We didn't get the pool room, but didn't miss it. The location is Kata Noi or the south end of Kata beach, so it's the quiet side. Its a 5 minute walk to the beach or restaurants and bars. It's a 40 meter walk from Kata Road to the lobby, the last 20 meters have a decent incline, walk the grade or take the steps from the employee parking area. Not significant, most taxis will drop you at the lobby. Responsive staff, good breakfast setup. Solid choice in Kata

Room Tip: Above 4 th floor is a two elevator ride as the hotel follows the grade of the hill. All have water v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayd30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    384
    415
    121
    44
    22
See reviews for
161
439
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My son and I stayed at this resort in a pool access room and loved the fact that we could just open up our sliding door and jump into the pool. we shared the pool with 3 other rooms but while we were there (in October 2012) we had the pool to ourselves.

we loved also having the mini Apple Mac in our room as we were able to upload pics we had taken that day onto Facebook for our family to see.

the breakfast spread was always good .. lots of variety

only downside for us is that we are kiwis and most of the time we were there, 90% of the guests were foreign and we didnt get meet any other kiwis/aussies to chat to.

But I highly recommend this resort. we stayed on a lower level in the pool access rooms but I see from other peoples' reviews, that the views from the top in pool access rooms are absolutely stunning.

oh and the location is awesome. just a walk down the hill to the beach.. walk up is steep but we managed it fine!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

The rooms are modern, just renovated. with the 11 swimming pool you will not be bored.
Kata beach is just round the corner. Helpfull personel! When your flight is in the afternoon, late check out is no problem, they will help you store your luggage, you can even take a shower before going to the airport.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hydtie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albury
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

In the past 4 years we have introduced friends and relatives to this hotel. This year we booked a family holiday. This was to be our 5th stay of 1 month's duration at this hotel. Sadly it was a disappointing experience. Despite contacting the hotel directly just 1 month before our arrival, their email response failed to inform us that the hotel was undergoing major renovations - in fact half the hotel & pools were out of action. The staff were apologetic on check-in & had given us pool access rooms to the main pool however it was very murky & green for the first couple of days then loaded with chlorine for the next few. Every member of our party fell ill within a week. The rooms are definitely in need of an update - stains in bathroom, dirty curtains, corroded stainless steel, fridge didn't function well, English speaking TV channels were limited to RT & Aljazeera, internet connection continually dropped out many times per day despite staff being informed, room service had been abolished. The frontline staff were as helpful as they could be however management seems to be resting on its past reputation to get through the current renovation/low occupancy period. We moved out after 2 weeks and spent the next 2 weeks in a new,quiet, clean hotel.
What a shame management didn't inform us of the renovations - we could have altered our plans, holidayed at a different time & avoided a disappointing review.

Room Tip: Renovations are due for completion in November. Upper rooms are currently being renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rosie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I liked the hotel enough the first time to rebook a room at the hotel during my last trip to Phuket. A word of caution though to those planning to stay there or who have already booked their stay there: check the contents of the room against the inventory provided. I didn't and was accused of stealing their croc sandals when they could not be found in the room during the check out. I though it was a bit arbitrary seeing how I was neither told of the inventory or sign off on anything acknowledging responsibility of the contents of the room. For the record, I did not take their sandals, nor had I seen them in the room during my stay. In fact, I was only told of their existence (or at least that they were supposedly placed in the room) during check out. I offered to let the check out staff check my bags but they declined and were (apologetically) adamant that we would have to pay for the sandals. They eventually decided to not charge us for them, and rightfully so, how am I to take responsibility for something I didn't know existed or was told existed, but it was too late and was a real spoiler and a sucky end to my holiday. So yes, word of caution to would-be patrons, please check the inventory to make sure you are not made to pay for things you have not taken.

On the hotel itself, frankly there's nothing really about the Sugar Palm to be too excited about- the rooms are tired, strange stains in the toilet, loose floorboards around the swimming pool (to be fair, I think they were probably intending to fix it as the area around that pool was boarded up for the entire duration of my 5-day long stay), and less than spectacular views of either the other wing of the hotel or of the bustling Kata centre. What it has going for it is the price, which is fairly reasonable if you're only looking for a place to rest your head at night, and its location, which is near enough to Kata centre, albeit located on top of a steep slope.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theletterjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Checkin was a shambles,see above,but rest of stay without complaint. Rooms were clean and serviced each day efficiently.breakfast has variety enough to suit all tastes.pool could be cleaned more often but used beach most days.proximity to shops and restaurants excellents and although we are older the hill is not a problem

Room Tip: Check in was very poor. Told us pool access room we had booked was not available and offered us room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We arrived in Phuket and found out that the rate for a taxi to Kata cost around 1000 baht. But there is a tour agency service whereby we paid 200 baht each for a one way transfer to Sugar Palm Grand Hillside. Took a mini van with 7 others. The downside for this cheap ride are: they will drive you to their office which is 5 minutes away and advise you to buy their tour packages for a good 10 minutes. If you are not interested, just be firm in saying no thanks. But their tour packages are of reasonable price. The other down side is it takes more than an hour to reach our hotel because the mini van went into patong beach to drop off other passengers. Hotel quoted us 1000 baht per car per way for the transfer. Reasonable price if you don't want to squeeze with others on a minivan!

The check in was prompt and pleasant! We were given a room on the 8th floor (which we had to change 2 lifts in order to reach our room but no issue there). The room was gorgeous! Comfortable bed with 2 firm and 2 soft pillows for you to choose! Love the balcony especially! We booked the most basic room. We saw quite a few fireworks show from our balcony at night! The tv comes with a DVD player, and the drinks in the minibar (a beer, a coke and 2 bottles of water) are all on the house.

The toilet has got a huge and clean bathtub, and a separate shower with rain shower.

Breakfast was very disappointing, the spread was little and there are a lot of flies flying around the food.

Kata beach is only 5 minutes or less away from the hotel. It cost around 500 baht (we got it at 400 baht because the taxi guy didn't get any customer for the better part of the day!) to get to Patong beach if you want to visit the night market and clubs there.

The major downside of our stay here is that even with the do not disturb sign on, the cleaner still went into our room every single day to clean our room. So no idea why is there an option of putting do not disturb in the first place. If you plan to leave your room for a long period of time, remember to lock your valuables!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greggyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
715 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Nook Dee Boutique Resort by Andacura
0.2 mi away
Foto Hotel
Foto Hotel
#11 of 56 in Kata Beach
814 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sugar Palm Grand Hillside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Palm Grand Hillside

Property: Sugar Palm Grand Hillside
Address: 1 Khoktanod soi 3, Kata Road | Kata Beach, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#12 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Romantic Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sugar Palm Grand Hillside 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique, trendy treat and giving you a new kind of stylish sensual experience surrounded by cascading water from eleven multi-tiered infinity swimming pools set among beautiful tropical gardens, with superb views of Kata Beach and beyond from the chic and contemporary rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sugar Palm Grand Hillside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Palm Grand, Hillside Hotel Kata Beach
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Kata
Sugar Palm Grand Hillside Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing