We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great apartment but lack lustre service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kata Gardens Apartments
singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great apartment but lack lustre service”
Reviewed February 24, 2012

We rented the 2 bedroom penthouse through www.katagardens.net and were given apartment 3C. While the apartment was really spacious, clean and comfortable, the view was something we weren't too thrilled about and the service left little to be desired.

Service: First email correspondence about grocery shopping service was prompt and quick. Subsequent emails with more enquiries about the apartment and asking for confirmation of airport transfers were all left unanswered. I had to call them. Check-in was strange. The security didn't even know who we were when we arrived. After making a phone call, they took us to our apartment and was greeted by Pin (whom I'm assuming is the agent for the unit). She just gave us our keys, told us to contact the person on the note (Arjan) if we needed anything and left for the rest of the day. We needed the wifi connection password and tried calling Arjan but to no avail. We finally found it on our own (a sticker stuck to the wifi modem). We stayed for 4 nights and by the 2nd night, we noticed there was no housekeeping and we needed fresh pool towels and toilet paper. We were surprised when we approached housekeeping and were told that there won't be any housekeeping services for the duration of our stay. I was confused since while I was researching the property, there was mention in some sites that "daily housekeeping" is available. That's when I found out that the property is not managed by one party but by several parties managing different units. That would explain why some websites mentioned "daily housekeeping" while others didn't. However, the next day, they sent 4 male housekeepers to our apartment who entered unannounced, scaring one of us who was alone in the apartment and she was still in bed. The guys weren't in uniform so you can imagine how frightening it was to be jolted awake by 4 strange men in the house in a foreign country. It would have been nice if they would at least ring the bell first and be in uniform so that we can at least identify them as staff. When we were checking out, I brought up the issue of daily housekeeping but was told that we didn't ask for it and that they would usually check with guests if they required daily housekeeping. Well, they didn't check with us.

The apartment: The apartment itself was well-furnished, nice, clean and spacious. The kitchen was also fully equipped with almost everything you need to cook and eat. The little dip pool on the rooftop was clean and well-maintained and we had a great view of the mountains where the Big Buddha rests but don't expect a panaromic seaview from this unit. And whatever you do, don't look down from the rooftop because you'll just be disappointed with views of construction going on next to Mom Tri's. Good thing the windows and doors of the apartment were fairly sound proof so we could barely hear the pounding from the construction while we were in the apartment. The air-conditioning though is excellent! Worked really well and was a welcome relief on hot sweltering days.

Location: Great location albeit some steep slopes to manage. Short distance to the beautiful Kata beach and the town area where there are plenty of eateries, massage places and shopping. A short ride to restaurants perched on top of a cliff overlooking Kata beach where you can enjoy gorgeous sunsets. We frequented Tum Rub Thai Massage which is located just a short 3-min walk down from the apartment. Rent a scooter if you can for the convenience of traveling and exploring Phuket.

To conclude, if we were to come back, we will not book through katagardens.net. The stay would have been amazing if it weren't for the terrible lack of service.

Room Tip: If you're looking for sweeping ocean views, try scoring penthouses from 4 to 11. Look for sites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beanandbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    6
    4
    3
See reviews for
36
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Everything ran smoothly from the time of booking until we left. Helena Kliac was there to meet us on arrival. We booked two apartments 8B and 8C which had the private pool for 9 nights over Christmas. The private pool was well used by us and the view is stunning especially late in the afternoon. On arrival we were greeted with ice cold coconut juice. Nice touch. The apartments are spacious and have all that you need supplied. There is also a washing machine supplied. The balcony is lovely. Extra bath and beach towels are also supplied. Wifi is complimentary and although this was not working properly when we arrived it was fixed up in no time. The apartments were cleaned daily. We had a fanastic holiday with our children and their partners and would highly recommend booking into these apartments. The Kata Noi beach is a short walk away and lovely. The shops and restaurants are close by and can definitely recommend the massages, manicures etc which were done by the ladies just down the road. Helena Kliac also kindly arranged for transport from the airport and back again. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LynetteB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Have just returned from 11 nights at Kata Gardens and cannot recommend it highly enough. Could not fault the apartment. We had the the 2 bedroom penthouse (9C) which is cheaper than two average hotel rooms in Kata but far superior. The rooftop pool was a fabulous place to enjoy the sunset and cool off and the other two pools in the complex were also lovely. It is in close proximity to the beautiful Kata Beach which is clean clear and had great waves - a nice surprise. A short walk down the hill to all the shops and restaurants that Kata has to offer makes this place the perfect base. The beds are soft, there is a blender to make great fruit smoothies and the views from 9C are to die for. Plan to return one day soon.

Room Tip: 9C for the view and the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sewandsews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Very unnerving response to emails. Quiet agressive and have a phone contact that never answers. I wouild be very dubious about transferrring any monies to this hotel.

Room Tip: suggest you try elsehwere
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biagent88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2011

We spent a fabulous 11 nights at Kata Gardens. The friendly staff made our stay very relaxed and nothing was ever a problem. What amazed us was that the property was heavily booked but we rarely saw anyone else. The tropical garden setting is tranquil and beautiful with many birds.

We quickly made the spacious apartment our home away from home. There was plenty of space for our family (including two teenagers) to relax and unwind. The covered balcony was well utilised - the day bed a favourite.

The apartment was well appointed with stylish, comfortable furnishings.The kitchen had everything you could want (except a coffee plunger, we happily donated). Although we didn't cook (chose to experience the local cuisines) it would have been easy to do so if that is your thing.

The roof top pool was awesome and we enjoyed many early morning and late night dips and pre-dinner drinks under the gazebo, watching magnificent sunsets.

The lagoon pool was a pleasant relief from the midday heat. Our friends stayed in 2A so we we had it all covered pool-wise,

We were sad when our holiday came to an end but have many wonderful memories. We would return to Kata Gardens Apartments in a flash.

The Foster family, Tasmania, Australia.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We booked Kata Gardens as we wanted our family to be in the same room esp with children following us to Phuket. We booked the 2 bedroom penthouse apartment during our stay(unit 2C). We were there from 22nd sept - 25th sept 2011. Apart from the confusion before we reached kata Gardens( no one waited for us at the airport even though we oreadi requested), it was immediately forgotten once we reached the room.The room was so spacious and comfortable. Even the kitchen area was complete with utensils.Very good if one were to stay longer and wish to cook themselves.

Along with the trip is my 2 young daughters. One is only 2 months old whereas the other is 2 years old. My 2 months old daughter simply sleep throughout the nite in the cot provided by Kata Gardens. Kata Gardens really make us feel at home but more comfortable.My baby also like it when we lie her down on the day bed at the balcony as it's windy out there. As for my 2 year old, she loved the private pool so much that she doesn't want to go back.She also slept soundly on the king size bed.Never thought it will be easy goin on a holiday with kids.

I personally love the day bed at the balcony. It's just so relaxing to chill there. We even had our meals at the top deck where the private pool is. The view is just breath-taking.
All in all thank you Kata garden for making our stay a memorable one. We miss the apartment a lot the moment we were back in singapore.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hasniah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2011

We have stayed at Kata Gardens a number of times and always had a restful and luxurious experience. The units are spacious and furnished with ever last mod con. The gardens in which the units are situated are luxuriant and well maintained. Because only a portion of the whole number of units is ever available for rental you very rarely have to share the pool or have problems with noisy inconsiderate neighbours. The manager, Ajarn, is helpful and does his best to ensure all guests get the holiday they are wanting. The distance from Katanoi beach is not so far that a car is required but Kata beach is a little more challenging. All the units are nice but the penthouse units, with their private roof top pools, are magnificent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ted49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
887 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
786 reviews
0.1 mi away
Impiana Private Villas Kata Noi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kata Rocks
Kata Rocks
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Gardens Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Gardens Apartments

Property: Kata Gardens Apartments
Address: 1 Kata Noi Road | Kata Beach, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Gardens Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kata Gardens Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Gardens Apartments Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Gardens Apartments Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing