We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good setting and good service - slightly pricey” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Boathouse Wine & Grill

The Boathouse Wine & Grill
Ranked #24 of 148 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European, Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North York Moors National Park, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good setting and good service - slightly pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014

We ate here three times. One night then on Christmas Day, and again on New years Eve (lunch).
It is from the same fanily as Mom Tri's, which I have also reviewed. The setting is by the beach, which is very busy during the day. The shade is a little sparse at lunchtime. The food is excellent if a little pricey gicven the setting, but the wine list is reasonably priced for the quality of the wine (which is good by the way). As we went three times, it is clear that we enjoyed it. The food is not piled high, but is of good quality and quantity. I really cannot agree with some other reviews. You must expect to pay a premium for a restaurant of this quality, but that is still reasonably priced for that quality.
Very attentive, welcoming and helpful staff, starting with the valet service, and assistance even when we rolled up on a scooter.
It is not Mom Tri's which is - in our opinion - in a league of its own, but the Boathouse is nevertheless a classy restaurant and one which looks after its customers.
One word of caution if you sit outside - which is the best location to eat there - watch out for the ants.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Farndalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    536
    280
    114
    43
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Over priced for average food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I are no stranger to Bangkok's fine dinning establishments which the Boat House seems to be when you first enter. Don't be fooled the food is over priced with small portion and average taste. My fiancé ordered the lobster ravioli and received a whole two pieces about the size of my thumb. I order the Prawn risotto well that turned out to be steamed rice with gravy mixed in. The service would be that of any average Phuket restaurant with the staff but try to present themselves as those who would work for a fine restaurant. The decor and view is nice but not worth the price. Wait until you're in Bangkok and treat yourself.

Helpful?
Thank Law8044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandyBH2013, Manager at The Boathouse Wine & Grill, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear LD8044

Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our restaurant’s environment and qualify it as fine dining. Our restaurant’s decoration is of utmost importance to us and we are very fortunate to be on a wonderful location right by the sands of Kata Beach. We also put a lot of effort into staff training in order to ensure we serve all of our guests in the most competent manner.

The lobster ravioli is a Boathouse classic and has been served for several years now and we are sorry it was not to your liking. Your message has been brought forward to Bryan Burger, our Executive Chef, to ensure the team maintains consistency in the recipe.

We take a lot of pride in our risotto as it is cooked in traditional Italian manner with a homemade seafood stock slowly added to the cooking rice. I am sorry to hear yours may have come out differently and we will also ensure the right steps of the recipe are followed by all team members in the kitchen.

We hope you will give us another chance by visiting the Boathouse Wine & Grill once again, and that we can restore your faith in the quality of our cuisine. If you decide to do so, please feel free to contact me directly at fbdir@boathousephuket.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Romantic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

We made reservations ahead of time. The service is very good. There was live jazz music. The service was relatively quick and the food was presented very nicely. It has a classy feel so I was glad I dressed up for the evening. I had the lobster green curry and it was one of the best dishes I had on my whole Thailand trip. We tried the Thai wine and were surprised how delicious it is. When you make a reservation, ask to sit outside so that you can watch the beach as you dine.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tressa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed starter, but then waited an hour for the main and when asked if it was coming, it appeared immediately and was cold. Sent it back and 5 mins later it reappeared, again cold, and when we queried the Manager advised he had personally watched the chef cook a fresh meal in a wok. Amazing 1 hour to wait, 5 minutes to cook more cold food. They may have tried microwaving because prawns were now like cardboard, over cooked. He even argued with us that he knew best, and we could not be right. We sat with empty wine and water glasses and nobody offered to refill them or ask if we needed more. They did offer another main, but we were now over it they could tell we were not happy and did do a reduction in the bill for one of the mains - too little, too late. Stunning location, stunning view - food and service very poor.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simpower21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandyBH2013, Manager at The Boathouse Wine & Grill, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Dear Simpower21,

Thank you for reviewing our restaurant and for appreciating our location and the magnificent view over Kata bay. We are sorry if you felt we did too little, as on that night we did our utmost to try and ensure your dining experience was one you enjoyed, but it appeared to have fallen short of your expectations.

We delivered the first main courses on time according to our captain orders dockets but they were sent back as you felt the temperature of the plates were cold. It was cooked again and brought to you again and I can assure you it wasn’t microwaved, as we do not actually have a microwave in our kitchen. We then simply explained that for right temperature to be maintained we were quite happy to recommend other dishes such as curries but you didn’t take us up on our offer and preferred to keep your original ordered meal. We certainly do not like guests leaving disappointed which is why we offered to adjust your bill from the dishes you didn’t enjoy.

We hope you will give us another chance so we can restore your faith in Boathouse Wine & Grill cuisine.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
603 reviews
289 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Upmarket Lunch By the Sea”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

With a slightly elevated position this place gives great views of the bay and out to sea. Enjoyed a pleasant lunch here. Menu is varied with mediterannean and imaginative Thai dishes. Expensive by Thai standards but what you'd expect to pay in the UK. Wine list is extensive but prices high.

Service was great and food excellent. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Wine & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Boathouse Wine & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing