We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket Lunch By the Sea”

The Boathouse Wine & Grill
Ranked #22 of 149 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: French, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
655 reviews
307 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Upmarket Lunch By the Sea”
Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

With a slightly elevated position this place gives great views of the bay and out to sea. Enjoyed a pleasant lunch here. Menu is varied with mediterannean and imaginative Thai dishes. Expensive by Thai standards but what you'd expect to pay in the UK. Wine list is extensive but prices high.

Service was great and food excellent. Thoroughly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Baxie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    290
    118
    45
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Thai and Euro combines”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Was a nice place for a special occasion. The food is beautiful and the setting is grand. The seafood was particularly fresh and in a group a five people we all liked what we ordered.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Brett W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

Great food and fab setting, not the cheapest but the same meal in uk would be at least double service fab too. Very relaxing

Helpful?
Thank welshbirdshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
460 reviews
301 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“A returning customer...”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I make it a point of visiting here everytime I'm in Phuket. Renovations have been done since my last visit and the place has lost some of it's appeal.

We got reservations seated outdoors for 530, just prior to sunset.

The staff taking our order must have been having a bad day as it seemed like a lot of work just to get our order. She seemed almost combative!

We startred with the scallop carpaccio which was ok. The lobster filled ravioli was good while my tenderloin was very good.

We ordered a cheap bottle of red. Cheap being what it would cost in my home country, but unfortunately in Thailand there is a significant mark up. It was crap.

The weather was cooperative and we were able to enjoy a beautiful sunset. The view is really one of the restaurants selling points.

As far as service, Sam's grill at the Holiday Inn really sets the standard which all other restaurants in this price category should strive for and this place is no exception. Note to the manager, send some staff over to Sam's grill for some pointers.

All told $200 for the bill but I wasn't blown away by any means. Slightly above average meal for beaucoup $$$. Kinda of disappointing visit.

I was gonna give three stars but there was a really cool blues/jazz band playing and they were really good. Really good musicians.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whileitravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A must to visit”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Fabulous restaurant , outside and inside seating, with a view of the beach, excellent food and service. French chef but a very varied menu

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nita E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Wine & Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Boathouse Wine & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing