We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and high class”

The Boathouse Wine & Grill
Ranked #22 of 150 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: French, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious and high class”
Reviewed December 21, 2013

It is one of the rare few restaurants on the beach, or facing the beach, so the price is quite inflated. However, this is made up for by the outstanding service and excellent cuisine. It is romantic and very laid-back.
We had arrived early for dinner without any reservation, but they had graciously accommodated us, though they seated us at a strange corner. As there was nobody else around (and still few around when we left 2 hours later), we thought they could have obliged us with the seat we prefered.
Nonetheless, the staff were courteous and the food was good. Well worth the money.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank gee-bob26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    291
    119
    45
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
M.nxrgpb.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Ok if don't mind cigar smoke”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

The food was good but this place sells cigars so no one except us seemed to mind when a number of people lit up. We asked to be moved and were treated like lepers.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank drlocbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“We go here every time we visit Phuket... nuff said”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

We went back to the Boathouse as this is our special occasion place when we visit Phuket. In over two months of travelling around Thailand, we hadn't had a western-style meal, but we made an exception for the Boathouse. Everything was fantastic, as we remembered. Great wine selection, freshly baked bread, high-quality butter, and that was just the start of the meal.

The appetizers were huge! My husband had the tuna tartare with scallop carpaccio and I had the fois gras terrine and the wild mushroom fricasee (for a second course... I couldn't help myself). All three were amazing. The tartare, especially if you love tuna and you want the flavour to shine through, is amazing and wonderfully fresh. I would also recommend the mushroom dish for vegetarians and meat-lovers alike. And terrine was an extremely generous serving for a fine dining restaurant.

The mains: we had the lamb shank and the snow fish - both were divine. Perfectly seasoned and cooked. I am still dreaming about the meal.

To top it all off, the service is fabulous. The price will get you though - we paid for that meal the same price we paid for 10 nights of accommodation at our budget hotel - but it is worth it! Go!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic! ”
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

If we had to eat at one place only, this would be it! The best restaurant we have been in Kata! The staff is great, the food is amazing, the cocktails are fabulous and so is the atmosphere! This place deserves to be number one! Would recommend this without thinking twice!

Helpful?
Thank Vonkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“very small portion sizes, food nothing to rave about”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We went for the fixed menu option. The food was nothing to rave about considering the fancy price. The portion size for the main course was small.
there is a good view of the kata beach from the restaurant, so i would recommend this place if you want to have a drink with nice view.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zitkango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandyBH2013, Director of Sales at The Boathouse Wine & Grill, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear zitkango,

Thank you very much for your review and for visiting our restaurant. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the beautiful view from our restaurant over Kata beach yet surprised to hear your comments regarding our set menu. We often receive very positive reviews about the quality of our food as you can see on this forum and therefore felt disappointed to hear you didn't think the food was anything to rave about.

The menu you chose to have is indeed a tasting menu offering a sampling of our signature dishes. As we also serve homemade bread with French butter in the case of the French set and complimentary amuse bouche and petits fours at the beginning and at the end of the meal for both the French and the Thai set menu, we feel that the portions are suitable for one to enjoy the four courses of these menus plus the complimentary nibbles without feeling too full.

We hope you will give us another chance if you return to Phuket.

Marie-Laure Fleury
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Wine & Grill also viewed

 
Kata Beach, Karon
 
Kata Beach, Karon
 

Been to The Boathouse Wine & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing