We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an amazing experience!”

The Boathouse Wine & Grill
Ranked #22 of 150 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: French, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
australia
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“what an amazing experience!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

My partner and i were looking for somewhere to eat on the night of our anniversary that would be different and where it would be special! On arrival we were blown away, the service was excellent from the minute we walked in and having already pre booked online and advising them it was a special occasion they didnt dissapoint!
It was all the little touches like roses on the table, extra candles and a happy anniversary card. Fresh hot bread was complimentary and continually provided as well as a small chicken entree.
The food was absoloutly delicious! i would highly recommend the mango smoothie (non alcoholic) drink to everyone. Not only the food but the atmosphere was always great with live music and a fantastic location right on the beach.
We cant wait to come back and eat here again!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cat_kirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    553
    291
    119
    45
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
River Heads, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal and great service”
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We had dinner here to celebrate my 50th birthday and it was a beautiful place to share a special meal with my family. We decided to go the French option as my kids had never tried snails etc so we opted for the French set menu with matched wines. Whilst it was expensive by Thai standards, the food and wine was fantastic. We sat outside under the stars and watched the sunset over the Andaman sea whilst sipping good French champagne. Kai and his staff could not have been better, quietly refilling glasses, having a chat but never intrusive.
The staff sang happy birthday along with my family with a beautiful Tarte Citroen as a substitute cake which finished off the night, couldn't have asked for more.
The total cost for 4 was just under $1000 Australian but you only turn 50 once!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moontatravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Recipe for a Perfect Anniversary”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

We went for the first time to Phuket to celebrate our 30th Wedding Anniversary. The Boathouse was recommended to us as an nice place to go for our Anniversary dinner - and we were not disappointed! Everything was delightful - the service, the view and atmosphere were all outstanding. We started with cocktails, then had the French set menu, with wines matched to each of the four courses. Each course was superb! The live jazz music (piano & vocals) complemented the evening.
We highly recommend The Boathouse for a great night out!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Geegii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembrokeshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Thai cookery class”
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Spent four hours on Saturday cooking a four course Thai meal. Hands on getting to cook and taste our own attempts at thai cuisine. Then afterwards served a meal cooked by the professionals. A well run course and a good insight to thai cookery and its flavours.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank VictorIndiaVictor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Great wine list/lovely food and great location”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We ate the from the Thai menu and everything was delicious. The wine list was comprehensive for Thailand and we sat outside on the balcony. My only complaint would be the silk napkins, not particularly practical!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Circumnavigator222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Wine & Grill also viewed

 
Kata Beach, Karon
 

Been to The Boathouse Wine & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing