We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, average food, high prices”

The Boathouse Wine & Grill
Ranked #22 of 149 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $70
Cuisines: French, Seafood, European, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great service, average food, high prices”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

The Boathouse tries to provide an upmarket experience but is let down by its location. Although it's right on the beach, there are many other 'local' restaurants nearby which can get busy and noisy. Our evening was further disturbed time and again by fireworks being set off on the beach, making conversation impossible, not to mention the shock when the first one went off!
Service was impeccable - the staff were attentive but not looking over your shoulder every minute.
The food was OK, nothing special. The only thing worth mentioning is that this is a Thai/French restaurant, so portions are laughably small. My rib-eye steak was only 200 grams, but was well cooked. My gratin potatoes weren't very nice at all - the potato was under-cooked and hard, and it had a runny milky sauce instead of the creamy consistency you'd expect. The only other thing I discovered on my plate was a couple of asparagus and carrots - and that was it for over 1,300 Baht++!
It was worth a try, but we're not likely to go back nor recommend it to others. There are many, many better restaurants with equally good service and lovely views elsewhere in Phuket.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank meowf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    552
    290
    117
    45
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Fab upmarket restaurant on Kata beach”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

We wandered in late off Kata beach for dinner and had a wonderful evening. The location is sensational, the food fabulous and the service impeccable.

It's upmarket so a bit pricey by Phuket standards but worth it for a proper night out!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lalikini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“One of my favourites in Phuket”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

This restaurant is set right on the beach and offers an amazing view of the sun set. Perfect for a romantic meal for two! The food is really good and the menu offers a wide range of choice. I went for a crab soufflé to start and it was one of the best things I ate all holiday. I would recommend that anyone visiting Phuket should make their way down to Kata to visit this place. While it is not the cheapest meal you will ever eat I genuinely felt like I got value for money.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jay_Dav_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“superb”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have been invited here by a friend and was impressed by the cuisine. I had a lamb chop, a delicious experience. Wine list is excellent, we have settled for a Cabernet Sauvignon - a good choice. Eating atmosphere was pleasant, the friendly girls on service duty attentively, smart & well educated. I can recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank kane w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very good, but a little pricey”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We had a lovely dinner here. The food was very nice - the lobster 3 ways was tasty, but not the best lobster I've had. Great wine list, though expect to pay Thai prices (which are about 2-3 times more than the equivalent bottle in Melbourne restaurants). That said, it was nice to be able to choose a few nice glasses of wine!

The atmosphere is definitely aimed at the fine dining experience, so great for a romantic dinner for couples. View of the water whilst eating was great - make sure you book in advance and secure a seat on the terrace overlooking the water. Service was impeccable - staff were very attentive, but always polite.

Overall, definitely worth eating at this venue, but expect to spend around 4,000-5,000 bht (or approx $150AUD)for 2 people on a starter, main and a couple of glasses of wine.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Boathouse Wine & Grill also viewed

 
Kata Beach, Karon
Kata Beach, Karon
 

Been to The Boathouse Wine & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing