We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale
Ranked #14 of 147 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, European, Asian, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Enjoy fine dining in an award-winning restaurant set just above the rocks overlooking Kata Noi Beach. Panoramic sea views and the sound of the waves below create a peaceful, sensually indulgent and romantic setting. European favorites and Thai dishes are served either on the open-air terrace or Thai sala. Mom Tri’s Kitchen has won the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for 7 years in a row and offers over 750 labels.
newcastle, australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

I had a very enjoyable meal here with my husband. The place is perfect for a sunset cocktail followed by dinner, watching the sun sink into the Andaman Sea. The views are amazing. The food is delicious and the wine list is extensive. I've eaten at a number of Michelin rated and hatted restaurants and the food here compares well. Excellent value also in comparison with similar quality western restaurants.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,660 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,062
    330
    163
    70
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Atmosphere was nice, food was good, service was average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

Mom Tri’s is supposed to be the place to hit up for that romantic, scenic dinner where you can be wined and dined to your heart’s content. From the onset things were looking great. We were picked up by their car service and taken to the restaurant where we enjoyed some lovely cocktails in the bar as we listened to the pianist play some beautiful sounds.

We were then taken to our seats overlooking the ocean. While it was too dark to see the view, the sound of the waves crashing on the ocean was quite lovely.

For entrée we ordered the goats cheese with date and the peanut satays. Both entrees were quite good. The ingredients were fresh and it seemed the chefs had experimented with what would work well, using different flavours in the cheese dish.

For main we had the green curry salmon and masaman lamb shank. Neither myself or my partner are ones to order salmon when out, but thought we’d give this dish a go. I’m glad we did. The salmon was cooked perfectly and the thai green curry flavours were well-infused throughout the sish. It was the best meal of the night. The lamb shank meat was fantastic, but the dish was let-down by the masaman sauce. The curry had the consistency of very runny gravy and had no flavour at all. There wasn’t even a hint of peanut flavour, the dish’s main ingredient.

The dishes were presented very well with a lot of care put into how they were presented. The portion sizes were good and the atmosphere was nice. Little touches like the free bread with spreads and roses for the ladies were nice.

All of the waiters bar one were not friendly or helpful. There was one waiter in particular who was so bad that I just couldn’t stand to look at him. Well done to the young, energetic waiter whose good hospitality picked up the terrible efforts of his colleagues.

For our two entrees, two mains, two desserts and a couple of cocktails we paid approximately $200 AUD.

Based on the quality of the food, price and atmosphere would I return? No.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alisha232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kata Beach, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food at a price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great view over looking Kata Noi and great food and service. It's wort every baht, but not if you are on a budget.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaureenJoanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting... food good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

Mom Tri's was recommended to us by fellow traveler's whilst my husband and I were in Phuket. The setting of the restaurant was fabulous overlooking Kata Noi beach. The service was excellent, polite but non intrusive. The only reason this is not a 5 star review is because the food was good but not excellent. However I would be happy to recommend this restaurant to any couples looking for a romantic atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amazing food, service & view!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

We decided on Mom Tri's just because of the location but it is so much more than that! We were greeted by a pianist playing in the background & invited to take a drink before dinner. After selecting a bottle of wine the waiter was back within 5 minutes with the bottle and an ice bucket (which was definitely needed!), in the ice bucket was a fresh red rose. We had a drink in the bar area over looking the stunning ocean rocks & were served complimentary nibbles (dried anchovies with kafir lime & peanuts, delicious!)
We were then seated right at the edge of the outdoor balcony & had the most attentive waiter all evening. The food was just devine, the coconut lobster to die for & the roast duck spring rolls just mouth-wateringly good! We totally enjoyed our evening & will be back next time.

Helpful?
1 Thank Blondeoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing