We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Mom Tri's Kitchen:)”

Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale
Ranked #14 of 171 Restaurants in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $45
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Thai, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Enjoy fine dining in an award-winning restaurant set just above the rocks overlooking Kata Noi Beach. Panoramic sea views and the sound of the waves below create a peaceful, sensually indulgent and romantic setting. European favorites and Thai dishes are served either on the open-air terrace or Thai sala. Mom Tri’s Kitchen has won the Wine Spectator Award of Excellence for 7 years in a row and offers over 750 labels.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Mom Tri's Kitchen is an award winning restaurant which is consistently ranked as one of Phuket's finest restaurants. The setting is beautiful and the restaurant is situated within Mom Tri's Villa Royale on the cliff overlooking Kata Noi Beach. The views are sensational, but views alone do not make a fantastic restaurant.

The food is amazing; there are 2 menus, one Thai and one European plus there are 2 executive chefs. What more could you ask for, the best of both worlds.

There is also an extensive wine cellar with wines from around the world including organic wines and happy hour with 50% off beer and cocktails is from 6pm -7pm.

We have actually lost count of the amount of times we have had meals at Mom Tri's Kitchen, some of these dinners were for birthdays or anniversary's and one was to celebrate an engagement, though we will use any excuse to go there!

I do not have a favorite meal here but I do have a weakness for an entrée called Kata Noi Crab Cakes, it is so hard not to order them every time, also make sure you try their fantastic dessert called Absolute Chocolate, it is flourless chocolate cake, pistachio anglaise and vanilla ice-cream, very rich and delicious!

Mom Tri’s Kitchen is set over a few different levels, we love that there is so much space so it does not feel as though you are sitting with the table next to you.

The staff are very efficient, helpful and make a mean Screwdriver (cocktail) if your there for Happy Hour 6pm – 7pm at the bar they are half price!

Another nice touch when leaving Mom Tri's Kitchen is you are given a long stemmed red rose:)

Mom Tri's Kitchen is the perfect place to celebrate a special occasion or just to relax with a drink and watch the sunset. There is also a piano player playing background music and he loves playing requests.

We highly recommend a visit to Mom Tri’s Kitchen and the prices for a restaurant of such caliber are excellent! It is a firm favorite of ours and the perfect place for a special occasion.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Cathy&Gary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,856)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,155 - 1,159 of 1,856 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013

My two main reasons for going to Mom Tri's are the food (usually amazing) and the spectacular views over the ocean. From the above you may deduce we didn't get either of these. Oh, what a disappointment. We were a party of 14 celebrating my birthday (booked very well in advance, like months!). I specifically asked for a nice table overlooking the ocean so friends not familiar with Mom Tri's could appreciate the view etc. What we got was a long table inside and almost touching the kitchen. The food? it took at least an hour to arrive and when we were presented with the chef's appetiser. a cup of carrot soup appeared. This hardly represents the chef's artistry and cooking flair. The food itself was average at best, the service was exceedingly slow and we ate in what felt like a very brightly lit canteen! I was particularly upset as this restaurant used to be one of my favourites. The ladies of the party are usually presented with a rose on departure... nada! When you are paying 2,000 THB per person for 2 courses WITHOUT wine, this is pretty damn expensive. Even the cocktails were uninspiring and some were even missing ingredients!!! We were also unfortunate to be near a Russian wedding party table who were
making an absolute racket and, of course, had all the attention of the waiting staff. I felt like a very poor second cousin. There is not a single part of the evening I enjoyed or could I find something nice to say about. One of our party very close to the kitchen asked the waiting staff why we were not being fed after an hour and she was told they were very busy! A five star restaurant should not take bookings it cannot fulfill. I will never go back there again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shari001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylvie K, Public Relations Manager at Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2013

Dear Shari001

Thank you for choosing to return to Mom Tri’s Kitchen for your birthday. We apologise you were so disappointed and that we warranted such a low review from you. Your complaints have been investigated and I would like to address your points.

We did receive your early booking for 14 people and for a group this size the only option is a long table. The entire restaurant is open air and your table was on the original terrace, adjacent to the kitchen but not touching the kitchen. We often use this area to seat many people especially large groups and have never had any complaints.

It was on the first row and enjoyed uninterrupted panoramic sea view from every seat that faced the sea. Pictures of this deck are also clearly on our website. We have in the last few years added two additional decks however for large groups the upper deck allows us enough room to arrange the table to accommodate 14 people, unlike the newer lower decks.

With every meal we do serve a complimentary amuse-buse which is different than a chef’s appetiser. An amuse-buse is simply meant to invigorate the palate. For something more representative of the chefs artistry and cooking flair we have many appetisers to select from off the menu.

The lighting in all parts of the restaurant is not brightly lit and as evident by our many reviews commenting on the romantic and intimate setting.

Upon speaking with the waiters who tended to your table, and there were more than one, it was pointed out that half of your group arrived later and therefore the order was not taken until the entire group was seated as it would not be polite to serve just half of a table.

Also it does take longer to take the initial drink order of 14 people and subsequently the food order. The staff assured me the ambuse-buse did not take an hour to serve from the time the arrival of the 2nd group.

As you mentioned your bill, not including wine, was about 2,000THB per person. To clarify the charges we would like to mention that this included 21 drinks including cocktails, 14 mains, 7 which were Australian Angus Beef Tenderloin (220g), 2 veal cheek stews and one large seafood dish (including lobster), 10 starters and a 2 pound birthday cake that served the table. Your total bill was 28,459 baht, including tax and service charge.

We do apologise that we did not have single roses to give the ladies in your party as this is our normal standard and did not meant to create further disappointment.

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback as we do appreciate it as we strive to constantly improve. We do hope you will give us another chance.

Sylvie Y.
PR Manager
Mom Tri's Villa Royale / Mom Tri's Kitchen
pr@villaroyalephuket.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

During our holiday we had dinner there 4 times :) I can confirm, that this is the best restaurant at Kata Beach. There are 2 menus: European & Thai + extensive wine list. All dishes that we tasted were top quality & had fantastic taste! Do try Lobster Raviolli as a starter & Baileys Cheesecake for dessert.
The view is also very picturesque: you seat on a small cliff at the seaside. Some of the tables have fantastic view (to be booked in advance).
Regarding the service: during the 4 times that we were there, service level was different (very strange): sometimes very slow and not very attentive, sometimes perfect...But we noticed the same inconsistency in other restaurants in Phuket.
Average dinner bill that we had there for 2 persons was around 5-6k BHT w/o alcohol (expensive for Thailand, but well worth it).
There is a free transportation service to & from the restaurant - which is a very convenient service!
Overall - highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KSB1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

At least that was our experience in their US$225 pp New Years Gala Dinner. The high cost of the dinner did not even include drinks (except for a welcome drink). The food was served cold. Some times one had to wait an hour between dishes. The dinner was extremely boring and some people were almost falling asleep.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Allan150800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We ate for Christmas Eve and it was the highlight of our trip! The food was excellent- very high standard. The setting is just beautiful with lovely decor and fantastic views. We had the Phuket choir singing carols and santa even paid a visit. Such fun and in he perfect setting. Highly recommend!

Thank Travelux7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale also viewed

 

Been to Mom Tri's Kitchen at Villa Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing