We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Location-couldnt beat it!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #26 of 57 Hotels in Kata Beach
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Location-couldnt beat it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2013

The 3 of us arrived late sunday afternoon,the room was ready but the 3rd bed was a camp bed!
Back to reception and with the help of a tour guide we explained our problem,We were showed another larger sea view room with space for a "proper" 3rd bed which we accepted ,housekeeping arrived within 5mins and set it all up,towels,bedding,water,slippers, dressing gown & swimming towel to make sure we were happy. The room was large, clean & the bathroom immaculate, I learned from cleaning lady they change the bedding every other day.
Location was ideal-right on the beach. We only had breakfast in the hotel, which covered every nationality's needs and plenty of it. We ate at local restaurants over the road-it was good.
Buses stopped outside hotel and for 30baht we travelled into Phuket (about 1hr) seeing the local countryside. Please do the James Bond Island tour-fantastic!! and lunch at the village on stilts is lovely and fresh. We enjoyed our stay (week before the regatta) and would thoroughly recommend this hotel. The local puk puk's are fine for getting about. Try the local pancakes,lovely guy outside the 7/11 shop-always a queue.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Touristleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    430
    527
    242
    115
    69
See reviews for
368
593
49
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (309)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Magnetic Island, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here during the time of the King's Cup Regatta. We found our room to be large and comfortable. Housekeeping was very good and the room was always cleaned and restocked every day.
The location is good and a great escape from the busy streets of Kata.
The beach was overcrowded but we accepted that this would be the case with the regatta being held at this venue.
The taxis from the resort are overpriced. It was easier and cheaper to walk across the road and get a normal taxi.
Breakfast was good and the food was hot and fresh each day.
The receptionist was not helpful and very off handed. When checking out we were charge for mini bar that we did not use but she would not listen to us, so we ended up just paying. So much for guest services!!
Wifi was a bit of a hit and miss and also has conflicting information on charges etc.
I would probably stay here again as the location and quality of food made up for the any negatives.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Leonie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

The price of the room was about $300 per night. For this kind of money for a standard twin one could expect more than the same breakfeast for 7 days in a row, personnel who barely speaks English, very average food quality, moisture smell in all of the furniture. Massage was good, especially thai massage, but only from one masseuse - An.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Esootla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
109 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

On arrival, late in the evening, our welcome was professional and nothing more. Our room was a side sea view clean and spacious. After not much sleep due to bikes revving engines through the night, I went to use the toilet, and it overflowed, phoned reception and had a cleaner come to check, she flushed the toilet again and guess what, it overflowed. Now we are left waiting for the engineer to turn up, not able to use the toilet, shower or even brush our teeth! So, we went down to breakfast while we waited. Got back to the room and the bathroom was still full of water, when I phoned reception, I was told to mop it up with tissues!!! Eventually we went down to sit in the foyer, but there were only four settees and eight chairs, half of which were covered in bird droppings, as the hotel was open to the elements. We ate in the hotel in the evening and were bitterly disappointed with both the service and the food. It was only 9.00pm and the buffet was half empty. Would I recommend this hotel, no. I'm sure there are much better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pensionerposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Kata Beach Resort & Spa for 11 nights in Oct/Nov 2013. Just fantastic place, very tropical, huge pool with pool bar, dining room huge with buffet meals, great location, & right on the beach so no crossing roads or walking up hills if u need to pop back to your room. Close to Karon Beach too. Short taxi ride to Patong. Take cash & exchange money over there as they close by. Don't bother with travel card. Would go back definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Attended my friend's wedding here and it's really a great location among shopping and food. We had a pool facing room and it's nice and spacious. The breakfast has a nice spread of food and it tastes good too. Only dislike is that you have to pay for wifi in the room but you can have free wifi at the lobby. All in all, it's a good place to stay and just next to the beach so you can choose to dip in the pool or swim in the sea!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jezzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Kata Beach Resort and Spa and couldn't be happier. All of our expectations were exceeded. The resort location is absolutely incredible. It's one of the only resorts located in Kata Beach that is actually set on the beach front so you can choose to lounge by the pool overlooking the beach or simply walk a couple of steps down to the white sand beach. On top of being located right on the beach, you can also walk right outside the resort entrance to a variety of restaurants, shops, bars, and activities. Andrew (hotel GM) and the entire hotel staff were friendly, helpful, and provided excellent customer service. Our room was above average size, clean and had absolutely stunning views from the balcony. It was located on the 4th floor and overlooked the pool, palm trees and beach. The buffet breakfast is great with a large variety of different foods. Room service was reasonably priced, tasty and the service was speedy, which is always an added bonus. Also be sure to order a pizza from the pool side restaurant. We had our first pizza on our 3rd day and wish we had ordered one sooner as it was amazing. The pool bar has great swim up seats with views overlooking the beach. My wife and I both had two massages from the open air hut right by the pool overlooking the beach and they were great value for money (300 Baht each). Overall we couldn't be happier with our stay. The resort is amazing and the location is as unbeatable. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ericwazzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Boathouse by Montara
Boathouse by Montara
#5 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#16 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 808 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#24 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,063 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 57 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#17 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing