We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly what was ecpected and not good price/quality ratio”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not exactly what was ecpected and not good price/quality ratio”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

The price of the room was about $300 per night. For this kind of money for a standard twin one could expect more than the same breakfeast for 7 days in a row, personnel who barely speaks English, very average food quality, moisture smell in all of the furniture. Massage was good, especially thai massage, but only from one masseuse - An.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Esootla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    561
    267
    130
    74
See reviews for
402
643
53
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013

On arrival, late in the evening, our welcome was professional and nothing more. Our room was a side sea view clean and spacious. After not much sleep due to bikes revving engines through the night, I went to use the toilet, and it overflowed, phoned reception and had a cleaner come to check, she flushed the toilet again and guess what, it overflowed. Now we are left waiting for the engineer to turn up, not able to use the toilet, shower or even brush our teeth! So, we went down to breakfast while we waited. Got back to the room and the bathroom was still full of water, when I phoned reception, I was told to mop it up with tissues!!! Eventually we went down to sit in the foyer, but there were only four settees and eight chairs, half of which were covered in bird droppings, as the hotel was open to the elements. We ate in the hotel in the evening and were bitterly disappointed with both the service and the food. It was only 9.00pm and the buffet was half empty. Would I recommend this hotel, no. I'm sure there are much better.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pensionerposter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We stayed at Kata Beach Resort & Spa for 11 nights in Oct/Nov 2013. Just fantastic place, very tropical, huge pool with pool bar, dining room huge with buffet meals, great location, & right on the beach so no crossing roads or walking up hills if u need to pop back to your room. Close to Karon Beach too. Short taxi ride to Patong. Take cash & exchange money over there as they close by. Don't bother with travel card. Would go back definitely.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
126 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013 via mobile

Attended my friend's wedding here and it's really a great location among shopping and food. We had a pool facing room and it's nice and spacious. The breakfast has a nice spread of food and it tastes good too. Only dislike is that you have to pay for wifi in the room but you can have free wifi at the lobby. All in all, it's a good place to stay and just next to the beach so you can choose to dip in the pool or swim in the sea!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Jezzie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

My wife and I just returned from a 4 night stay at the Kata Beach Resort and Spa and couldn't be happier. All of our expectations were exceeded. The resort location is absolutely incredible. It's one of the only resorts located in Kata Beach that is actually set on the beach front so you can choose to lounge by the pool overlooking the beach or simply walk a couple of steps down to the white sand beach. On top of being located right on the beach, you can also walk right outside the resort entrance to a variety of restaurants, shops, bars, and activities. Andrew (hotel GM) and the entire hotel staff were friendly, helpful, and provided excellent customer service. Our room was above average size, clean and had absolutely stunning views from the balcony. It was located on the 4th floor and overlooked the pool, palm trees and beach. The buffet breakfast is great with a large variety of different foods. Room service was reasonably priced, tasty and the service was speedy, which is always an added bonus. Also be sure to order a pizza from the pool side restaurant. We had our first pizza on our 3rd day and wish we had ordered one sooner as it was amazing. The pool bar has great swim up seats with views overlooking the beach. My wife and I both had two massages from the open air hut right by the pool overlooking the beach and they were great value for money (300 Baht each). Overall we couldn't be happier with our stay. The resort is amazing and the location is as unbeatable. We would highly recommend!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ericwazzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Jakarta Raya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

PROs

- location!!! (beachfront, right in the smack of activities in town like restaurants and other local services)
- relatively clean room
- not a crowded resort

CONs

- snooty receptionist
- toilet problems on our first night, we have to call engineering to have it fixed
- old room (old hotel)
- not so friendly staff
- free wifi only available at the lobby area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellomadeleine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has a great location right on the beach with plenty of eating establishments in the street right outside. However next visit we would probably look at staying somewhere else because the hotel is starting to get a little tired and we had a few things that we thought could be improved.
1- wifi access cost 700 baht for the week and then when we purchased the package we were surprised that only one device could log in at a time which isn't ideal when we both have wifi capable devices.
2- our beds were originally made as two singles we pushed then together and the base was made with a double sheet but we were left or single blankets on the top.
3- breakfast lacked the wow factor. Pastries were too bready, coffee cups were cleared away half full. There was no hot drinks other than tea and coffee, not even herbal or green tea.
4- we were regularly bitten by mosquitoes at breakfast
5- the first night we tried to eat at the Italian restaurant and the staff sat us on the open side with a storm coming. The rain blew through and knocked out napkins and other stuff off the table and we were left to fend for ourselves.
6-the coffee was only restocked in our room sometimes, the most we ever received was two sachets of coffee and some days we were left with none.
7- the coffee bar down by breakfast was never open.
8- the prices advertised at the hotel for desk for the snorkel trip we looked at appeared to be greatly inflated. We were offered discounts on the listed price almost immediately. We ended up booking through another provider

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank 777Viki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#23 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beach front resort with complete facilities and amenities for a 4 star resort. All rooms and food & beverage facilities cater to all types of guests whether honeymooners, families, business executives or conference delegates. Ideally located in arguably the best beach of Phuket, Kata. Behind the resort, an array of shops and convenience stores can be easily accessed. Staff Service is to provide all guests the best of Thai hospitality with a dash of genuine care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing