We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WHY ARE YOU ALL COMPLAINING” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #25 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“WHY ARE YOU ALL COMPLAINING”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Had 2 weeks here at the end of August and had a fabulous time. The staff couldn't do enough to help (I guess it matters just how you speak to people) and the little man on the gate was lovely. Yes someof the rooms were a little tired, but this hotel is due for renovation soon. We had a great time and would definately go back.

Room Tip: As for a room overlooking the pool they are the biggest
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,439 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    545
    257
    120
    72
See reviews for
385
619
50
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

I would say the main positive of this hotel is the direct location to the beach which is lovely, albeit busy. the service is poor, none of the staff has a decent level of English and they all lack enthusiasm for their jobs. The breakfast buffet is good, but the rooms are tired and old, the bedsheets and linen have cigarette holes running through them. I was disappointed with my stay and the inadequate hospitality that the Thai are famous for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 457rafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

Its location right on the farther end of Kata beach is its best feature. Plenty of shops, eateries and convenient stores just outside the entrance. That's what you'll be paying for. Everything else is average.

As we travel with 2 young children, a nice pool and beach access is a priority for us. There's nothing stated about the pool's closure on their website nor the booking site. Fortunately, there's a small pool that fits about 10 that is still good for a quick dip. The direct beach access is why we booked this resort, and it doesn't disappoint on this point. Head somewhere else if you need a nice pool or come after Sept.

The whole resort has a very traditional 'resort' feel to it. It's like one of those old style South East Asian resorts one would've visited 20 years ago. Front desk staff included. They've probably been there since the resort started. Not bad at all. Just don't expect them to smile first. We got what we wanted, so no complaints. They even gave the kids a voucher for welcome drinks.

Rooms are ok. Traditional, old design but well made and kept. Beds are ok too. Not too hard like most other Thai resorts. There are connecting rooms available. Beware that some superior rooms face the road. This is a good time to book the pool access room. At least you'll have pool to jump in.

Breakfast is not too bad. There's an egg station and a variety of local and continental items. No cheese selection and the pastries is average.

Service wasn't as bad as we expected. Not as good as a 5-star resort but we've nothing to complain about.

If you decide to dine at the Beach Bar and Restaurant, don't order the roast chicken. It's probably the worst we've ever had. They currently have an Italian chef serving up good pizzas and pastas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgentBroccoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We found Kata Beach Resort & Spa facilities to be excellent. Our room was wonderful with plenty of space. The housekeeping staff were amazing - keeping our room spick and span. The grounds of the resort were spotless & the pool was just beautiful

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahmedboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Spent 12 days here and there wasn't anything the staff wouldn't do to make it that much more enjoyable. From the breakfast to the cleaning to the service these guys all made our stay something to remember and we will definitely be returning!..

Room Tip: We were on the roadside and thought it may have been noisy but no problems with that it was quiet as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whangakid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I stayed at Kata Beach Resort for 5 nights in August and was very disappointed.

I booked a 'Deluxe Sea View' room which looks amazing on the website but I was given a room on the side of the building that faces the garden. To view the ocean you had to lean over the side of the balcony. When I complained I was shown a room that overlooked the car park and was told no other rooms were available. I was not offered a discount. I also booked a double bed but was given two singles.

The cleanliness of the room was below par with sand and hair on the balcony, a toilet that was broken and a air conditioner that leaked from the ceiling.

Apart from one or two friendly staff the majority were inattentive and unfriendly.

Although the location is great I'm sure there are better hotel options on Kata beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank theycallmemunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Recently selected to stay at Kata Beach Resort
Thank goodness we did as i would say that this is by far one of the nices spots on Kata/Karong!!
Not 5 star but very relaxing and had all amenities that we needed
Staff at front counter could have been more welcoming but the porters and security guards were very obliging and friendly
No free Wifi which i think should be standard anywhere these days but had to pay $27 AU for 7 days access .
Only ate at the beach bar once - cheaper elsewhere but could not complain about the meal
Spa costs too high - far cheaper to have a massage on the beach which we could not fault
There are signs saying that sun lounges cannot be reserved but they were bagged early each day and it was a bit hard to get one after 10am!! You have to pay for one on the beach so they need to look at this rule - or at least enforce it - but in saying all this would stay there again as it is a nice clean beach and good spot

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FGuy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#13 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing