We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WORST! HORRIBLE! OUTDATED!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #26 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“WORST! HORRIBLE! OUTDATED!”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

The second resort we stayed at was the Kata beach resort in Kata. The greeting we got was very lovely and that was the only time it was lovely. We got to our room and it was very large and spacious but extremely outdated. Our shower was broken and we requested it to be fixed, it was and then continued not to work, we asked to be upgraded or moved rooms and were told this was not possible and we had no option but to stay in our room or pay a large amount extra every night for the most expensive room. Our room continued to have problems, the fridge broke, the safe broke, the shower continued not to work properly the whole stay, there were ants/termites in the draws and on the bench. Breakfast was terrible!!! No choice and the food was cooked poorly, the staff would not greet you off a morning just demand your room number. The pool was dirty and looked like it hadn't had a good clean in months.
Myself and partner are 21 and 20 and there were guests under the age of 30 in the resort (besides children) and in Kata beach, the area was more for older people/European (we noticed not many Aussies stay in this area).
Throughout the whole stay the the staff were nothing but rude, the resort was old and outdated, the only good thing about it was that Kata beach is a nice, clean beach.

Room Tip: The most expensive is the best, but still outdated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Danyelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    561
    267
    130
    74
See reviews for
402
643
53
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
106 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Didn't stay here but had my Easter dinner here: it's right on the beach with amazing views of the sunset. The fish dish I ordered was delightful and definitely the best fish meal I had during my stay in Phuket! One thing though: please provide some citronella candles for those pesky mosquitoes! Good thing I had a spray with me. Apart from that, it was a nice dinner experience and I would
love to dine here again (and probably try out their hotel too).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank JGA_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

This place works for us. Two adults and two teenage kids. Hawker stalls on the beach for our daughter. Surf for our son. Relaxation by the pool and views of the ocean for the adults. Perfect for our family

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trueblue58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed in Feb 2013 at the end of the busy season. We must have been the only guests under 30 at this hotel! All the other tourists were old russians, french or south africans. Definitely a place for older folk.
Breakfast was really good everyday, very westernised. Our room was great and very spacious. Paid a pretty penny for it, even through the cheap hotel websites. Compared to the rest of Thailand, Phuket is the most expensive. Know this before you go. The views and pool was great, lots of flowers around everywhere. Poolside bar is nice.
Its very expensive to eat at the restaurant inside, much better to find one up the road.
Reception organised all our trips, even a taxi up to big buddha.
All in all, very nice place to relax, which is very close to all you need in Kata.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tomsk, Russia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Amazing location right on the beach facing the sunset in the evening.
Unfortunately the hotel is outdated and rooms require renovation, even though our room was spacious, clean, comfortable.
And one more possible negative - WiFi is not free.

Room Tip: Try to get room far from the Italian restaurant (which is on the first floor), many of the guests co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nata_Pyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just come back from staying here the rooms are tired and basic. The staff are the most unfriendliest we have ever come across (with exception of the young lady who gave us a warm flannel on arrival and the bell boy who took our cases to reception when we left who was very obliging) agree with the other review with regard to breakfast. The gardens are very nice and the pool area is nice with views over the beach. The beach offers bars and sun beds and Otto's was a very friendly bar with excellent food and a very friendly proprietor. Some of the bars have a strong smell of sewage as they are close to drains but they tended to be to the left of the hotel when facing the beach. There are plenty of restaurants in the town at very good prices and beer is much cheaper outside of the hotel. A visit to Patong is a must and a Tuk tuk ride back is great fun. The reception area is very nice and quite grand but the rooms need a bit of TLC customer service training for the staff especially the towel man who seems to like throwing the cards at you when you return the towels and is never at his post when you need him. Nice long beach which you can have a good stroll along.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms other rooms look out onto other balconies and are not very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redgirl2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here in October 2012 with my brother, sister and 81yr old father. For 2 seaview rooms, we payed $48 each per night including breakfast, which I thought was very reasonable. Security gate staff so friendly, I started buying them a coffee each morning. Reception staff were average. I couldn't fault breakfast. We had room service 1 night which was fine. I didn't eat at resort restaurants so I cannot comment. Pool bar was no dearer than you pay in Aussie and we met quite a few people there.They do have a happy hour. Down the stairs to the beach, on the left is where you can buy a beer for less than $2. The people were adorable so I always tipped.You cannot beat the location. We were so glad we did not stay in Patong. Fun to visit and better shopping there, but a bit dirty and beaches very overcrowed. Definately visit Banglar road at night. People watching was fantastic. Ping pong shows are free, but 1 drink will cost you about $35! Phuket town Weekend markets(which is spread over an acre)are definately worth a look. We hired Mr Woody from Nony Tour & Travel to drive us around for a day. Very honest man. Charges about $25 a day but he deserves a tip. I would of loved to put his phone no. on this review, but you are not allowed.I did book a phi phi island day tour (about $50)through him which was cheaper than the tour shops.The boat was basic, but was fun. Last thing, think twice about driving a moped. Unless you have specific moped insurance, you will not be covered if you crash one, as I found out! After my crash and $500 later, we heard of 5 deaths involving mopeds and foreigners.Very sad.

Room Tip: Do pay a little extra for a seaview room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rachael m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
The Boathouse Phuket
The Boathouse Phuket
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#23 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#3 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 902 reviews
0.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#20 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beach front resort with complete facilities and amenities for a 4 star resort. All rooms and food & beverage facilities cater to all types of guests whether honeymooners, families, business executives or conference delegates. Ideally located in arguably the best beach of Phuket, Kata. Behind the resort, an array of shops and convenience stores can be easily accessed. Staff Service is to provide all guests the best of Thai hospitality with a dash of genuine care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing