We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have just spent 8 days at Kata Beach Resort and Spa and was very happy. Had a deluxe sea view room and it was worth the extra. Pools were wonderful and so were the staff. Hotel cars were not much more and sometimes exactly the same as outside taxis. Buffet breakfast was good. Only complaint, hotel wifi was expensive but lots of cafes and restaurants surrounding the hotel had free wifi. Would recommend to others

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hol164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

734 - 740 of 1,564 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

I've just returned from staying at this resort, with my wife and 2 small children (2 and 5) and it was perfect. Yes it is a bit dated, but this is the only thing i could really fault. The staff mostly where awesome and very help full - i've read some of the other reviews about grumpy staff etc and i dont remember any "poor service" during our 10 night stay, so im not 100% sure what other people expectations of resort service are? We drank from the mini bar and had room service a few times and although its not as cheap as the resteraunts out of the hotel, i though it wa still really well priced (compared to Australia!). The location is perfect, but the beach did have a little bit of rubish washing up later in ourt stay, but no enough for it to be a big issue. We used child minding one night, which was great too. We worth the trip!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coosaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I spent 12 days at the Kata Beach Resort and Spa at Kata Beach Phuket in October 2012. This is a 5 star hotel with every thing you could Want and it is the only Hotel that is right on the beach no crossing busy roads. The breakfast are to die for ..e.g..Fried eggs,omelets made while you wait,sauages,b/beans,Thai food,pastries , toast all to much to mention. The staff are very helpful and polite, the rooms are spacious(we had a Ocean View Deluxe Room) and serviced every day..There are 2 pools one large and one smaller and there is a fenced off section for the kids..The best is the swim up bar in the pool..You can order lunch at the bar for a reasonal price. We found it was cheaper to book our tours at one of many tour offices near the Hotel and also cheaper if you go to the taxi rank for a taxi instead of booking through the hotel...Overall a wonderful place to stay...

Room Tip: 1st or second floor ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Great service, great breakfast, spacious room and bathroom. Rooms serviced everyday if you wish. Close to beaches and restaurants,markets, massage, fish spa, tuk tuk and taxi service. Great for the whole family or couples.
Patong a cab ride in at about 400-500 baht. Phuket town 20 mins away. Big Buddha and elephant ride a must!
Swim up bar in pool..
definately going back next year!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milena s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed at the Kata Beach Resort from 11th to 19th of October. Great location! We had a room on the third floor with a view of the beach from the balcony. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. We left the air-conditioner running at night as even the nights were very warm and found that it was not too noisy. So many hotels have such noisy air-conditioners that they are unusable at the times that you most need them.

The breakfast was more than adequate. Good range of food and on the mornings when it wasn't raining we chose to sit outside and enjoy the ocean views.

There were plenty of restaurants, shops and market stalls nearby. Our favourites were Black Canyon for coffee and free Wi-Fi, and Cafe Opera for really good Thai Food and live music. We looked at the offerings in the hotel and found it was generally much more expensive than the restaurants nearby. We did have a pizza one night in the restaurant/bar where we could sit just above the beach and enjoy the view. The pizza was the Italian style thin crust with light topping and was excellent. We shared a pizza and found that it was sufficient. We also noticed that a couple at another table had individual pizzas and did not finish them.

The one thing that was missing was a hotel directory. We were directed to the hotel's fitness centre for a shower on the last day after checking out. Wish we had found it earlier. Well equipped and would have helped the waistline (refer to comments on the large range of foods on offer for breakfast!).

The biggest problem was the number of people who got up early in the morning, reserved a chair by the pool and then did not return until later in the day. We managed to get a poolside chair one morning after breakfast and noted that some of the better positioned chairs remained unused for much of the day. Two chairs right next to the pool were not used until after 1:00 pm. Not sure what the hotel can do about this, but it does need to be fixed! There is a little information brochure that suggests that people should not leave there things on the chairs when they leave the pool area, but this seems to be largely ignored.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on one of the upper levels as you will get a better view of the sea. Rooms with an oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed at the resort from September 21 - 30th 2012. We arrived at the resort at 0200, the receptionist was polite and we were pointed in the direction of our room. The room was nice - private balcony with a view of the beach. The only drawback was the noise level - we faced a road and obviously people were celebrating and partying until all hours. The breakfast buffet was always good, a great selection and tasty. The @beach restaurant was great for lunch, and the Atrium did a different buffet each night, or a la carte if you prefer. The staff were friendly and their english was pretty good. The hotel taxi fleet was tidy and very inexpensive to take you to places, even though it took 45mins at least to get there. One driver even stayed for two hours while we shopped at the night markets before taking us back to the resort for no extra charge. Would recommend this place for couples or families, it was a great place to relax. If you wanted easy access to shopping and attractions, you'd be better off at Patong. The spa = WONDERFUL.

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor with a superior room - faced the road, very noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daynamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

I stayed at the hotel for three night in September based on recommendations by fiends. I first visited the hotel to attend a function held there. It looked so good and very attractive. Once I stayed there, it was a totally different story.

I will follow my usual routine for listing pros and cons.

Pros:

1. Great romantic getaway if you are looking for place to be all alone with your significant other.

2. Close Proximity to the beach.

3. Huge pool.

Cons:

1. The staff at the hotel are so cold, rarely smile or offer any assistance. Check in was just that pleasant. Whenever I dropped off the key the ladies at the reception were just busy doing something or other and very arrogant. When I went back in one of the nights no one was at the reception desk to hand back the key to the room (they were busy watching the TV in the back office). When I gave coins to the bell boy who took my luggage to my car he told me it was too little told me to take it back if I needed it (talk about attitude).

2. The hotel is dated. rooms are old and do not smell that good.

3. Prostitutes swam the entrance of the hotel at night and they are very outspoken. If you decide to take a walk at night they will be in your face and the hotel's security personnel just look on like it is none of their business.

4. No slippers in the room.

5. All none-smoking rooms.

6. No one offers to help or provide you with a brief of the what hotel has to offer.

7. The restaurant closer to the beach has very minimal service and the people their are not interested in serving the customers.

8. No one offered to park my car when I checked in.

9. There was some work being done outdoors in the hotel at the early hours of the morning. Too much noise and of course lack of sleep.

All in all I would not recommend this hotel. It really looks good when you walk in and you get a really good first impression but then everything goes down the drain. I really feel bad that I wasted that time staying instead of staying at the heavenly place I was at during my trip to Phuket where everything was just perfect and service was top notch with a great smile.

Stay away from this place and use your money at other places where customer is appreciated.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BKKSKMVT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,133 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#5 of 56 in Kata Beach
769 reviews
0.6 mi away
Katathani Phuket Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range: $90 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beach front resort with complete facilities and amenities for a 4 star resort. All rooms and food & beverage facilities cater to all types of guests whether honeymooners, families, business executives or conference delegates. Ideally located in arguably the best beach of Phuket, Kata. Behind the resort, an array of shops and convenience stores can be easily accessed. Staff Service is to provide all guests the best of Thai hospitality with a dash of genuine care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing