We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not safe in the SAFE (keep your money somewhere else)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Ranked #27 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not safe in the SAFE (keep your money somewhere else)”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Where to start. My wife and i convinced a group of mates to come to thailand based on a passed experience at Kata-Tani Resort which was top notch. Upon arriving at Kata Beach Resort one of the rooms had two single beds instead of the queen or king we had booked and the staff basically said they had to lump it or move to another room away from the group in another wing. It took us a while to even figure that out as most of the staff struggle to understand english. The rooms are dark the hallways are dark and dank and and the rooms are a bit worn and tired but on a possitive the view was good from the balconny. i am afriad thats where the positives end. After a day out of the room on one of our parties 30th bday we returned to our rooms and two of our group in two seperate rooms (one in another wing of the hotel) had money taken from the supposedly secure safes......not a lot that would go noticed unless you were on your toes but both parties had counted the money that day and a portion of it was missing and the safes open. When we raised it with the staff the language barrier increased our issues along with the police coming but apparently not filing an official claim on the night when we made our statements. When the GM was contacted he offered no understanding or empathy towards what had occured. in a nut shell he basically in tone and demeaner accused us of lying. So let this be a warning to you all!!
We wanted then to move hotels feeling unsafe and not willing to leave our belongings, he refused to sign a letter to our travel agent so we could be reimbursed for the remaining nights when we got back to oz unless we spent a few hours at the police station making an "official" claim and then iiiiiiiffffff the investigation turned anything up then he may do something about it. by that time we would have wasted our reamining days there anyway so we did not worry about it due to the red tape of it all. We should have just so they dont always get away with this type of stuff.
My advice.....stay somewhere else or get stung. PS staff rude and unhelpful except the guy at the front gate....we loved that guy five stars for him.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
7 Thank radalaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    573
    276
    136
    79
See reviews for
417
662
55
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We have stayed here four times before and have looked around at other resorts and hotels but always find kata is the best if you want to stay somewhere in a great location that has shopping, restaurants and the beach on your doorstep! most of the other resorts at kata are not beachfront whereas this one is and gives the option to swim in the pool or the sea or both! Great setup for kids as the kidspool is adjacent to the main pool so you can watch your little ones while you swim rather than a seperate area like many others have! The rooms adjacent to the pool have been renovated and made bigger with a seperate room at the back which we put the kids into meaning it was like a one bedroom suite which was a bonus!

Room Tip: ground floor adjacent to the pool 2123, 2125, 2127, 2129
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shoppadownunder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We spent 15 nights at Kata Beach Resort,The rooms were fine and quite large,ours was over looking the pool,The pool was fantastic for kids and adults,there are plenty of sun loungers and plenty of sun lounger hogs who put there towls out early and dont show until after breakfast-my advice is if they are not at the pool throw there towl on to another and help yourself :) the breakfast was a let down to me from day one,I have had much much better-the juice is horrid and dose not taste like juice and the food is pretty average to be nice,most of the staff were lovely,the security men at the gate were fab!!! the bar staff and pool staff no so good.All in all it was a nice resort with pretty good facilitys and a not so good breakfast,loads of great eating places near by tho.

Room Tip: pool side rooms were fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Indochic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We spent a few days in this place and i'm sad to say it was not an enjoyable experience. The best i can say about this place is it has an good location.
The hotel is crying out for a refurbishment it looks like it hasn't been touched since the 80's and walking through the door is like stepping back in time a huge space of dark depressing colours and it even smells a bit funky! This is also having an impact on the staff who are miserable and unfriendly. The pools are not heated and i don't think often cleaned either with cracked tiles and floating rubbish.
The hotel does not even have free Wifi for it's guests and charges a lot for these cards that sometimes do not work and if you don't remember to log out you loose all your credit and it's back down to the reception to be ripped off again.
If you have never been to a decent hotel in Thailand i could maybe see how you would think this place is ok, this is the only way i can understand the favourable reviews on here, but do yourself a favour and avoid look around there is some good hotels in the area that offer a much better experience, i only wish i had done a little more research in advance!

Room Tip: Rooms in another hotel are better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Benny1London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Have just spent 2 weeks at the hotel. Beautiful resort always clean and tidy. Staff were wonderful and always smiling. I have a work colleague there at the moment staying at the same hotel. The only thing I can complain about is some of the foreigners who were quite rude and disrespectful to the locals as well as other tourists. If you treat people with respect you will then get respect. We will be back next year with friends in tow.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Staff rude and not polite. No one sinlge smile.
At the reception nobody who could speak English fluently. Not clean. Very little care of the guests. I have never been treated so badly by the staff of an hotel, particularly at the reception. They are totally careless of the guests.
The beach is not terrific, very noisy, packed, full of jet skies. Not a place where to find relax.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LuisaMA_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I have just returned from a 12 night stay at this wonderful resort, before going I read some very negative reports on this site, which initially concerned me. I can assure you I had nothing to worry about. The Hotel and staff are outstanding, the service was excellent, location amazing, the beach is a public beach, but the hotel staff raked it every morning fronting onto the Hotel.The sunset was incredible and my room was a deluxe sea view, the view was excellent and the sound of the surf was very welcome and relaxing.My birthday fell on a date that I was staying and whilst I had not mentioned to anyone, A beautiful birthday cake with candles was delivered to my room with a personally signed card from the Manager. I have traveled all over the world and have stayed at 6 star hotels without ever experiencing this kind of personal attention to detail. The Manager introduced himself to me at Breakfast and actively interacts with hotel guests and seeks feedback as well as offers his person assistance on any issue. I met some wonderful people that were return guests (up to ten times) The meals are of excellent quality and quite cheap at the Hotel,especially the @ the beach Restaurant, Kata Beach shopping is great and very safe, I did go to Karon, by taxi and left within ten minutes of arriving, not a good place.Patong shopping is amazing at the big shopping Mall, but would not want to stay there. Honestly, I can not wait to return to this Hotel , it was relaxing, clean, service orientated and the beach was incredible.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debranne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kata Beach
0.2 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,078 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kata Avista Resort and Spa
0.3 mi away
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
Kata Palm Resort & Spa
#22 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
Mom Tri's Villa Royale
#2 of 56 in Kata Beach
912 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chanalai Romantica Resort
Chanalai Romantica Resort
#7 of 56 in Kata Beach
740 reviews
2.7 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kata Beach Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kata Beach Resort and Spa

Property: Kata Beach Resort and Spa
Address: 1 Pakbang Road | Tambon Karon,, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Kata Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kata Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Kata Beach
#14 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
#16 Family Hotel in Kata Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kata Beach Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beach front resort with complete facilities and amenities for a 4 star resort. All rooms and food & beverage facilities cater to all types of guests whether honeymooners, families, business executives or conference delegates. Ideally located in arguably the best beach of Phuket, Kata. Behind the resort, an array of shops and convenience stores can be easily accessed. Staff Service is to provide all guests the best of Thai hospitality with a dash of genuine care. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Kata Beach Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kata Beach Hotel Kata Beach
Kata Beach Resort And Spa Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing