We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what it used to be”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Beach Boutique House
Ranked #40 of 56 Hotels in Kata Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Not what it used to be”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

This hotel has major communication issues. Three emails sent to the front office in the days before arrival to request airport pick-up were not replied to. Furthermore, the management had failed to read our note through booking.com regarding our room preference. This was a source of major inconvenience given that we were travelling with a toddler. On checkout we phoned for help with bags three times. Each call was unanswered.

Standards of cleanliness could be better. Both rooms we stayed in were littered with random hairs. The bathroom stank like a rat had died in the U-bend. Our ground floor room had a big mosquito problem. Yes, we are in the tropics and what can we expect? However, it did not help that the cleaner left the doors wide open with curtains pulled back each time she cleaned. Cue restless nights.

Room service order messed up and food arrived cold. They were never able to provide us with enough towels. No Wifi at all in the whole place - not even the lobby! This is extremely poor given the amount of competition around. There is a huge building project underway right across the road, creating a lot of noise by the pool.

Staff morale seems very low here. A smile at breakfast was hard to find.

Clientele is now dominated by a single nationality of package holidaymakers.

We stayed here three years ago and had a great time. This place now, however, is a shadow of its former self. We shall not return, nor recommend.

Room Tip: Don't bother contacting hotel with room preferences - they won't reply.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank leck78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    114
    29
    15
    15
See reviews for
74
90
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Novosibirsk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2012

We enjoyed:
- location
- interior
- breakfast
- room includes everything you need (safe, kettle, hairdryer, dressing gowns, slippers, fridge) except iron

Drawbacks:
- ants! even on the third floor! but only if you leave some food
- small room (Superior 20.5 Sq.M)
- contrasting shower
- room cleaning

I recommend scandinavian restaurant near the hotel!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lis_nsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed there for a week in a Studio Suite room in hotel's Wing 2. Totally we had 2 rooms with 4 sleeping place for 2 of us. Every room has its own air-conditioner that was very good to have during hot hours. Rooms are clean, every day we had contemporary bottled water in a fridge. Kata beach is in 5-10 minutes walk, Karona beach is about 15-20 minutes walk. Twice a week there is a market just across the road to the restaurant. Breakfast is quite ok - there are always some fruits, like pineapple, watermelon, melon and banana, eggs, sausages, etc.. at least we never were disappointed with it. There are 2 nice pools in the hotel. Hotel's staff is very friendly and helpful. There is a massage center in the hotel - my wife is quite happy with them. Also there are plenty cafes around the hotel in just a few minutes walk with nice food and great prices. So, there is only 1 thing we were not too happy with - quite expensive (and also quite slow) WiFi, but it is ok for those who does not plan to spend time in browsing internet.
Over all - we will be happy to return there again, since our stay there was really good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TMN_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2012

Me and my fiancé spent five nights in the spacious and cozy room 311 on the ground floor. We booked and paid our room well in advance, the check-in went smooth, the staff was kind and helpful, however, not all of them spoke proper English.

The location of the hotel is very good if you want to sleep and relax during the nights and if you do not mind walking. It is in a convenient distance from the beach and Kata center (10 minutes walk) and there are several good restaurants, bars, Internet cafes and money exchanges in the nearby area.

Basic amenities like shampoo, soap, toothpaste, toothbrush and hairdryer were provided.

The breakfast was average and the same every morning: fruits (pineapple, banana and watermelon), bread, croissants, jam, butter, different kind of eggs ...

Only complaint: there was no free wi-fi. Over all, we loved our stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nagy_helga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fujairah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have stayed in this hotel several times and keep coming back. The rooms (especially at the pool) are big, modern and nicely decorated. There's a kitchenette and a lovely bathroom. Once had a problem with the hot water, but it was solved immediately. The breakfast is so-so, but it's definitely good value. The staff members are really friendly - it just takes a while to check out. If the hotel was closer to the beach it would be twice the price, but it is still centrally located - and the beach is only a 5-minute walk away

Room Tip: The apartment rooms at the pool are worth the upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank caribemarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I have always come back to this place wherever I am in Phuket; whilst it is true that is is not beach front, it can be compensated by the fact that this is just around a 10 mins pleasant walk away from Kata Beach.

Yes, it is far from the night life of Patong (around at least 20 mins via an expensive tuktuk ride) but i could not complain as my wife and myself are not really too interested in night life anyway.

At night, the place can be really quiet and again this is a plus side for us as we are there in Phuket for some RnR.

There is a very nice small pool that is miraculously empty whenever we feel like taking a dip.

The room is very clean and very very relaxing. The bed was very good and comfortable as well as the pillow. The bathroom was very clean as well. 5 out 5 for me in this aspect.

Contrary to a review I just read for this hotel; there is free WiFi in the rooms - I can remember this as I booked my honeymoon tickets to Europe during our last stay here.

Cost-wise, I could only say that this is very cheap (as we stayed mostly off-season - around May) and I did manage to get a room at THB 800 per night with buffet breakfast already. I would not be too sure though if this is in super peak season.

Will I go back? DEFINITELY - and yeah, i have recommended this to more than 10 people already and they all seem to like, the only complaint I heard from them was "it is too far from Patong..." but yeah they all found it to be very nice and relaxing.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room in the wing that is near the entrance - this way you can be able to wake up to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmyap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taastrup, Denmark
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2012

We can absolutely recommend this hotel. Location is great, away from the noise, but yet close to everything. A 10 minute walk to the Kata Yai beach - following at bad smelling canal, but you really can't blame the hotel for that.
Rooms are spacious, clean with good beds. Breakfast buffet just outside the hotel, but use the Tamarind Restaurant instead, they have more to choose from.
Only complaint: no free internet, you have to pay extra.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dankober
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kata Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
The Beach Heights Resort
The Beach Heights Resort
#32 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.0 mi away
Phuket Chaba Hotel
Phuket Chaba Hotel
#46 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
The Blue Pearl Kata Hotel
#30 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Kata Country House
Kata Country House
#33 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Capannina Inn
Capannina Inn
#44 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
0.1 mi away
ibis Phuket Kata
ibis Phuket Kata
#27 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach Boutique House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach Boutique House

Property: The Beach Boutique House
Address: 98/12 Kata Road | Karon District, Muang, Kata Beach, Karon, Phuket 83100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Phuket > Karon > Kata Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Kata Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Beach Boutique House 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotwire, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beach Boutique House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach Boutique House Hotel Kata Beach
The Beach Boutique House Phuket/Kata Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing