We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An idyllic stay”
Review of Cortijo La Loma

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iznajar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cortijo La Loma
GreenLeadersSilver level
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An idyllic stay”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have just arrived back from La Loma feeling refreshed and relaxed after a fantasic 7 night stay. The accommodation, pool and gardens of La Loma were immaculate. The view from our balcony and pool overlooking the lake were absolutely amazing. Martin and Gaynor looked after us extremely well and couldn't do enough for us. They advised us on the best places to visit including restaurants, shops and local attractions. Overall a very relaxing, tranquil stay and one we will definitely repeat.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor S, Owner at Cortijo La Loma, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay at La Loma.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    5
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
57
120
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 19, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here at this villa near Iznajar! We had such a relaxing time. The surroundings are beautiful and the accommodation is very comfortable and all our needs were thought of and catered to very well. On sunny days we were very happy just lounging by the pool and enjoying the views of the lake and surrounding hills. When it was a bit cooler we went for day trips to the towns and cities nearby, aided by very useful guidance from our hosts Gaynor and Martin. It was an easy journey to fly from Manchester to Malaga then just a 1 hour drive up the motorway. The villa is remote enough to be peaceful but still very accessible and near to interesting tourist spots. We already miss the sound of birds and smell of lavender and roses from the garden. We hope to return again next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrFrantastic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor S, Owner at Cortijo La Loma, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to post a review. We really appreciate it and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, East Yorkshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We spent 8 nights at La Loma as part of our twin center holiday in Andalusia. La Loma was not only the best of the two villas, but the best villa we have ever stayed in.
We never got tired of the fantastic views, Oh to be pack in that sparkling clean pool looking out over the mountains and lake.
Martin and Gaynor are the perfect hosts who really do add to the villa to complete the whole package. If you want to know anything about the area, where to visit, eat, shop etc then they will have the answers for you. Despite the perfect setting you will not have the couple fussing around and interfering like some places, they let you enjoy your holiday.
Inside the villa is lovely and spacious, with the two en suite bathrooms being a real bonus.
The villa has everything you need to self cater, including a BBQ on your private terrace and Freesat TV.
We have recommended La Loma to all of our friends

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just back from our 2nd visit to La Loma and what else can we add that hasn't been said before? The weather was glorious, so we opted to spend most of our time "at home", enjoying the peace and tranquillity and the long golden evenings. There were trips to Granada and Ronda and nearby Antequera and Priego de Cordoba. Iznajar, the nearest little town, is charming. We had a couple of good meals out - very reasonable prices - but mostly we preferred to cook for ourselves and sit on the shady terrace, taking in the view. No noisy air conditioning - we just slept with the shutters open, looking out at the stars. I'm sure this won't be our last visit. Thank you, Martin and Gaynor, for sharing your little corner of paradise!
Liz and Paddy

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2012

There really aren't enough words to describe how perfect this place is.

Our second trip to La Loma and it was once again fabulous. Brilliant accommodation, clean, tidy and both Martin and Gaynor are fabulous hosts and cannot do enough for you. Wonderful scenery and peace and tranquility and the best place to relax and unwind. Thank you for such a wonderful week and we will be back!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BEANSPROUT2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Firstly thank you again to Martin and Gaynor who made our stay so enjoyable. Yes you have the wonderful scenary, the beautiful Casita but it is the hosts that make it that more special.

We first visited La Loma 3 years ago and promised we would be back with my in-laws, we arrived on 28th August and had 12 wonderful nights. The weather was perfect.

We stayed in La Loma this time so have experienced both Casitas. La Almendra is perfect for 2 people and we would definitely stay in that Casita again if it were just the two of us but for the extra space for 4 people La Loma is beautiful. It has a log burner, which we obviously didn't need and a large beautiful veranda with stunning views of the mountains and lake.

You cannot ask for anything more here, everything is provided from tea, coffee, to BBQ with coals and Martin and Gaynor will provide essentials for your arrival and any extras you feel you may need to get settled in.

We cannot fault this place and will definitely return in the near future. We wish we were back.

Thanks again Martin and Gaynor, you should be proud of your achievements with La Loma, it is perfect.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

For the price and the quality of the accommodation, you cannot fault La Loma. We stayed in the smaller one bedroom casita for a week, which was the perfect length of time to properly unwind and make the most of the gorgeous pool overlooking Lake Iznajar and the Andalusian hilltops. We only left twice, to stock up on food/drink and to enjoy a lovely meal at nearby Hotel Rural.

The pool is shared with the slightly bigger casita next door and the owners are about the place, so you're not in isolation, but you have your own terrace with BBQ and we found it to be very peaceful nonetheless.

Even though we didn't venture far, it is well placed in Andalusia to drive to places like Granada, Malaga and Antequera. We finished off our trip by catching the train from Malaga to Seville to enjoy a few days/nights eating and drinking out, which wasn't really possible to do of an evening from La Loma, as one person always had to drive and couldn't enjoy a drink with dinner. But why would you want to when you have everything you need to cater well in your casita, and with a glorious view to enjoy without having to move?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ole_wild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iznajar
2.2 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
7.3 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
19.6 mi away
Parador de Antequera
Parador de Antequera
#1 of 15 in Antequera
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Caseria de San Jose
Caseria de San Jose
#4 of 9 in Iznajar
41 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cortijo La Haza
Cortijo La Haza
#2 of 9 in Iznajar
139 reviews
15.7 mi away
Casa Banos de la Villa
Casa Banos de la Villa
#1 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo La Loma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo La Loma

Property: Cortijo La Loma
Address: Alarconas 21 | Cordoba, 14978 Iznajar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Iznajar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the crest of a hill, surrounded by Olive trees, the Cortijo enjoys breathtaking views of the Lake Iznajar and the mountains. With the mountain village of Iznajar just 7km away we are ideally situated to the attractions of Granada, Cordoba, Seville, Malaga and the coast. We have two quality self catering Casitas, a one bed (sleeps 2)and a two bed (sleeps 4). ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing