We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Idyllic Country Retreat”
Review of Cortijo La Haza

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cortijo La Haza
Ranked #2 of 9 Iznajar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Cortijo La Haza was an oasis of peace and beauty after hectic days racing through cathedrals and palaces. Patriek is the best chef in Andalucia in our professional opinions. Okay, our professions have nothing to do with food, but we are professionals. Anyway, our dinner at La Haza was by far the best meal we ate, including our meals at a couple of Paradors. The quiet walks, the lovely views, the tranquil villages nearby, the long evenings by the pool, the comfy beds, the cold beers ... aaahhh! And it comes with sleepy cats. What more could you ask for?
Warning! Be sure to get directions from Bernadette. Google and GPS are not reliable! We had an entirely unecessary adventure finding the place. The way is actually quite easy once you know it.

Room Tip: If you are very tall, the charming attic room we occupied requires thoughtful navigation to avoid cr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissSniggins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 151 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2012

Thank you Patreik and Bernadette for a marvellous stay at your beautiful Cortijo. This was a return visit and I was not disappointed. The old Cortijo offered all the charm to be expected from its exceptional country-side setting and comfortable rooms. Add to this the fine (in fact, truly exceptional) dinners prepared in Patreik’s kitchen and Bernadette’s warm welcome and generous sharing of her extensive knowledge of this culture-rich part of Spain, it was a perfect early Spring break.
.
My traditionally furnished room was warm and welcoming, the bed was comfortable and I appreciated the nice big fluffy towels. The weather, although warm sunny during the day, became quite cold at night and so it was just great to come back from my travels and anticipate dinner in front of a blazing log stove in the cosy dining room . I would particularly recommend the food. The breakfast offering was extensive - and plenty of fresh fruit and homemade goodies as well as the usual fare. Dinner is offered ‘table d'hôte’ and it was so refreshing to enjoy Patreik’s freshly prepared and superbly cooked local dishes alongside some very fine international cuisine – I had intended to have just one meal ‘in’ but just couldn’t resist more. In my opinion highly superior in quality to several up-market places I experienced in Cordoba and Malaga – not to mention an abomination of a meal I was offered at the much-praised and extremely expensive Hacienda Minerva, Zuheros (don’t even think of going there!)

As well as having panoramic views (including the snow-capped Sierra Nevada mountains when I visited) I found the cortijo to be well placed for driving to the three amazing old cities of Cordoba, Granada and Seville - and Bernadette was really helpful in suggesting new places to visit. I particularly enjoyed discovering the Royal Stables in Cordoba and the ancient village of Iznajar (just a few minutes drive away).

Thank you Bernadette and Patriek for an enjoyable stay and making me so welcome.

Room Tip: I did not see all the rooms - I guess that the extra-large downstairs room (more of a suite) might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyJBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Cortijo La Haza is a beautiful B&B with wonderful views. We made this our base for a 5 day stay at the end of March for visiting Granada, Cordoba and Seville. We are so glad we did! It was a hidden treasure amongst the Olive Groves. Bernadette was a fantastic host. Friendly and welcoming with an unrivalled knowledge of the area. Each day she would print directions for us telling us where was free to park and where best to have lunch. Which made sightseeing so easy for us. Patriek 's culinary skills were mouth watering. His three course meals each evening were the highlight of our stay. Presented in a friendly and cosy dining room we looked forward each evening to find what delights he had freshly prepared for us that day. Nothing was too much trouble for Bernadette or Patriek. They made our stay very special.

Room Tip: We had room 3 and were able to watch the sunrise each morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassie53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

We stayed at Bernadette and Patriek last September, in the beautiful and peaceful cortijo. It was a fantastic experience, Host Bernadette received us like friends, the location is just awesome, spectacular views for kms all around, just fantastic to be there and relax. Her knowledge of the area just adds to making your trips easy and the central location of the cortijo makes it even simpler to visit a lot in a short time.
You feel at home almost immediately and for those who like being spoiled, this is like paradise. There are not enough words to explain how good the food is; that is chef Patriek's speciality. He spends most of his time in the kitchen, not just for dinner but also breakfast. After a comfortable night sleep (the best night I had for ages!), we sat down for a super buffet breakfast. Even though it's buffet, it's never the same everyday, and we could see that all the guests really enjoyed the bacon and cheese omelet, and the home-made jams.

We visit this area often and stayed in many different B&B's before. But that will not be necessary now, we have found the perfect mix of homeliness, cosiness, relaxation and pure enjoyment. We will definitely be back next time, keep up the good work and maybe untill next year!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4, which had a/c. Lovely bed too
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maarten V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights thinking it was a great way to see Granada, Cordoba and the immediate area. They were kind enough to offer a discounted rate of pay 3 get 1 night free for last minute booking. We ate dinner here the first night which was very good and a highlight of the stay, although a little on the pricey side. It is run by couple with a hospitality background, one from Belgium and the other from the Netherlands. They've owned the B&B for 5 years and have a friendly staff assisting them. There was free wifi in the dining room which came in handy when trying to plan our outings.

Since breakfast is served at 9am, we didn't leave until 10-10:30am and arriving at our destination close to noon, only allowing time to see one site before closing for the long Spanish lunch. Everything reopened late afternoon giving us a couple hours before they closed again. After eating dinner, we had an hour drive back to the B&B and getting in close to midnight. It was a real inconvenience for day tripping. They do offer a breakfast sandwich that you can take on the road, if you plan to leave earlier. This defeats the purpose of staying at a B&B, in my opinion. Breakfast was a good buffet with perfectly cooked soft boiled eggs, a basket of warm breads, assorted cheeses and cured meats, yogurt, cereal and fruits.

It was the last week of October and very cold in our room at night since there was not a heater. And the hot water tanks for showers last less than 10 minutes requiring about 30 minutes to reheat, so we had to preplan our showers. There was a septic system....toilet tissue does not go in the toilet.

In hindsight, I think we should have stayed here 1-2 nights on the way from Granada to another city. I regretting not spending a couple of nights in Granada and having to rush through it. Also gas was very expensive when needing to fill up the tank every other day and navigating from here was somewhat stressful. It was very easy to get lost. This location is best if you are spending time relaxing on the property during a warmer season and just visiting places in the immediate vicinity. If you do this, plan on adding dinner into your budget since there are not any restaurant choices close by.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NicciR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patriek, Owner at Cortijo La Haza, responded to this reviewResponded December 1, 2011

Thank you for your review, helpful as always.
We do think some points need clarification here though:
We understood from the outset that you were travelling on a budget, which is why we went the extra mile to offer you a special deal (this is not available normally).
Like you say, we offer a very good breakfast from 9 am, as we find this is sufficient for most guest's needs. However, we also offer a packed breakfast for those who wish to spend more time visiting, and that is not "a sandwich" but extends to the whole of the buffet with the one difference that we use sliced bread instead of fresh baguette. Coffee/tea-making facilities would be provided in your room for that purpose too. The feedback from our guests is that they often use what is left of their packed breakfast for lunch, so we don't think we are letting them go hungry, au contraire.

We are also at a loss to understand why you did not use the heater in your room which was stowed in your wardrobe. Besides, it would have been the easiest thing to also provide extra blankets had you mentioned this at all.
We spent many hours helping you with all your queries, ringing round to organise your visits, indicating driving routes, parking and much more, usually after breakfast. We certainly did not get the impression you were in any way hurried to leave. And we waste no time in mentioning to all our guests that Southern Spain has somewhat different visiting hours than most other places, with everything closing between 2 and 5 pm for siesta, not forgetting sometimes longer driving times due to winding, mountainous roads (even if the road system around here is better than most places).
Therefore, most of our guests plan their visits in such a way that they can go to places that stay open during the siesta times, such as Cordoba, Fuente de Piedra, Alhambra or El Torcal.
Staying here a shorter time would have disqualified you from any special deal, and we would like to point out that parking in large places such as Granada is extremely expensive, and can add as much as 30€ per night to your stay. On a two-night stay that would more than account for a full petrol tank which should be sufficient for 4 days quite easily.

Part of the excellent personal service we provide is recommending restaurants in the vicinity, the nearest one is actually 3 km away. It is also the cheapest one around. Within a radius of 10' we could recommend 3 places that rate among the best in the area, even if we think that we offer that little bit extra food-wise as you mention. Whilst it is true that we may be slightly more expensive (a few euros), all our meals are prepared daily from fresh products, sourced locally, not something you will find elsewhere easily, if at all. Like for like you would be hard pressed to find the same quality for the same price anywhere in the area.

Another quirk of rural Andalucia is its mountainous location, which means anyone not living in a big city uses the same septic tank as we do, this is true for bars and restaurants alike and is simply a way of life around here.
We think all the quirks are part and parcel of Andalucia's great tapestry (to coin it with a phrase) and most guests seem to agree it adds to their enjoyment rather than takes away from it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

We very much enjoyed our three night stay at this wonderful B&B ... plus the optional dinner was just great every night. We had originally planned to have dinner there just the first night ... but changed our plans based on the treats that evening! Dinner was great each night, definitely something to plan for!

The Cortijo itself is very charming and located in the midst of olive fields on top of a hill. It is located roughly in between Malaga, Cordoba and Granada allowing for day trips to all three cities, plus a number of smaller towns and parks closer by.

The owners, Patriek (also the cook!) and Bernadette, are friendly and easy-going, and can provide any assistance one needs for trips in the area.

Overall, a great experience, and definitely a B&B we can totally recommend.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank GVancollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

I can only echo what has been said before... this is a gem of a place, well off the beaten track (which we like!), yet, if you're so inclined, it is little more than an hour away from Malaga (airport), Cordoba, Seville and Granada. However, it's also very tempting to stay in the locality, or even in the grounds of this small cortijo - it's so relaxing. Owners Patriek and Bernadette were attentive and helpful hosts... nothing seemed too much trouble for them. We stayed there for 5 nights in September, when the evenings were beginning to cool, though it was still warm enough to dine outside in a very pleasant environment (pleasant to dine inside too!). We dined there on 4 occasions (set 3-course menu) and I can honestly say that not a single course of any meal disappointed. Patriek is a wonderful cook and Bernadette couldn't have made our stay more relaxing or comfortable. A very enjoyable break and we'll definitely return!
S&S Northumberland UK

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iznajar
5.2 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
3.5 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
2.9 mi away
Caseria de San Jose
Caseria de San Jose
#4 of 9 in Iznajar
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Villa Cortijo Andalus
Villa Cortijo Andalus
#8 of 9 in Iznajar
15 reviews
2.5 mi away
Cortijo Del Cano
Cortijo Del Cano
#5 of 9 in Iznajar
53 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Pino Solo
Casa Pino Solo
#1 of 7 in Iznajar
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cortijo La Haza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cortijo La Haza

Address: El Adelantado 119, 14978 Iznajar, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Iznajar
Price Range: $80 - $136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautifully restored 250-year old olive cortijo, hidden away amongst the olive groves south of Iznajar, with stunning, ever-changing views of the Sierra Nevada and the valleys. 6-star service, home from home, a little corner of paradise are but a few items of praise we have received. A warm welcome awaits is our motto, but we may need to change it soon to: so good you won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Cortijo La Haza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing