We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful place, wonderful hosts and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Finca Las Encinas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iznajar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Las Encinas
Ranked #3 of 9 Iznajar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
“beautiful place, wonderful hosts and food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed for two nights in this lovely place in the olive trees and can only say good things - the hosts were brilliant and friendly, always there with a cold beer and directions for good drives. Easy for day trips to Cordoba and into the surrounding countryside. Food and wine also excellent, dinner and breakfast, and we even had a swim, maybe a bit cold for march but still worth it. Thanks to Clive and Maki for a great,and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank raedwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
59
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

I've just come back from 4 nights at Finca Las Encinas. It was a wonderful break with very friendly and accommodating hosts, Maki, Clive and Cei.

The finca itself has been sympathetically restored and comes complete with 2 dogs, a cat and chickens. It is in a gorgeous and rural location surrounded by olive groves as far as the eye can see (you would definitely need a car to get around). The room I had was spacious with its own little sitting area and balcony with nice features like wooden beams. It was very clean and comfortable.

I had a combination break which included excursions to Cordoba, Granada and Priego de Cordoba and cooking lessons in the evening. Maki played host during the excursions and could not have been more accommodating. She was very knowledgeable about the area and graciously answered my 200 questions. Clive ran the cooking classes in the evening which was a lot of fun. He was quite relaxed and patient in teaching and the food itself was simply wonderful. Both of them had great suggestions on what to buy / eat / visit. They came off as very genuine and warm hosts. I left feeling like I had spent a weekend with friends, not to mention probably about 10kg heavier after all that great food :-)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank discerningWanderer83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a really lovely time at Finca Las Encinas. Very welcoming hosts, nice bedroom, great food, and our three year old son just loved the dogs, roosters, and cat. Thanx to Maki and Clive for the great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbiejacobs42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

This B&B is unique having formerly been a 200 year old farmhouse. Clive and Maki have remodeled/upgraded to modern standards yet keeping the integrity of the style and original building. Our room was absolutely exquisite...large, comfortable and with all amenities one needs.

We did the cooking school as well (4 nights). What a great experience! Clive was a professional chef in London. His knowledge and wealth of information was an asset to the cooking. We not only learned about the dish a certain way...but the reasons why it is best (the behind the scenes information). He is a very patient teacher and is willing to let everyone "try" their hand at given tasks.

We have done another cooking school in Italy. Must say that this experience was far better as it was much more personal. Clive is a master chef and yet he has a very calm demeanor when teaching, helping, coaching those who are learning!

We highly recommend this experience! You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grandmamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We did a combined cooking course (Spanish and Sushi) whilst the kids went riding at a nearby school.

The finca has a small pool (a little too cold for me at this time of the year but the kids went in), plenty of terrace space and large rooms. A bit tricky to find (but we just did not read the directions carefully enough) and quite high (approx. 1000M I think). Made an excellent base to tour Cordoba, Granada and other nearby towns (there are some good motorways about 20KM distant).

Clive and Maki are excellent hosts and their finca is clean and relaxing.

Clive also had an excellent wine cellar that he seemed keen we helped him reduce significantly whilst Maki went above and beyond what we would normally expect - making extra sandwiches and snacks for the kids when they returned from riding.

Breakfast was fresh juices, meats, cheese, toast, fruit etc - all delicious.

Whilst we "cooked" the evening meals we could not go wrong as Clive stepped in to make them turn out well every time - even if you do not do the cooking I am sure you will be very pleased with the food standard.

Would recommend their finca and top hosts.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms had a small private terrace next to a small stream - did not see others
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BusinessTraveller15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Never eaten so well! Came here for 2 nights (including cooking classes) and had a great time learning about tapas, local ingredients and recipes.

Really enjoyed spending a few days in rural Spain, talking to our hosts about life here etc. They were full of good suggestions to fill our days (visiting local towns/villages). Shame the weather wasn't good enough to relax by the pool on this occasion!

Highly recommend if looking for a holiday with a difference.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FrogPrincessuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

Clive and Maki were kind enough to open their cooking school for us for one night only as we were celebrating milestone birthdays. We were holidaying in Spain from Melbourne Australia and staying locally to Finca las Encinas. We had a wonderful night cooking with Clive and Maki and dining under the stars. We have cooked the recipes many times since. We would highly recommend staying their and enjoying the cooking school.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeoffCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Iznajar
3.4 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
9.2 mi away
La Bobadilla, a Royal Hideaway Hotel
5.2 mi away
Hotel Maria Luisa
Hotel Maria Luisa
#1 of 1 in Rute
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Caseria de San Jose
Caseria de San Jose
#4 of 9 in Iznajar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
6.9 mi away
Cortijo La Haza
Cortijo La Haza
#2 of 9 in Iznajar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
11.2 mi away
Hotel Carlos Astorga
Hotel Carlos Astorga
#3 of 6 in Archidona
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Las Encinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Las Encinas

Property: Finca Las Encinas
Address: Calle Los Juncares, Los Juncares, S/N, 14979, Cordoba, 14979 Iznajar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Iznajar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gourmet B&B with Cooking Courses - Finca Las Encinas, Iznajar, Andalusia, enjoys a magical setting surrounded by the unspoilt landscapes and offers its guests a homely and idyllic atmosphere. Centrally located in Andalusia, the guests can easily explorer the area or indulge oneself and get way from it all. Sample great food and wine or participate in cooking courses for an exceptional culinary experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing