We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great vacation!”
Review of Finca Las Encinas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Iznajar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Finca Las Encinas
Ranked #3 of 9 Iznajar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2011

We had a vacation of 1 week at Finca Las Encinas with our grandparents.
The location is great for both Granada, Cordoba and Antequera to visit.
The breakfast was excellent and the evening meal to.
We would like to thank Clive and Maki for the good care and extra attention they gave to grandma with diabetes!

Hanne & Simon

Room Tip: Enjoy great dinner for a small price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonFranckx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 147 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2011

We found this beautiful little B&B by accident, and are so glad that we did! Las Encinas is at easy driving distance from Malaga, even though it is certainly hidden and off the beaten track, which makes it such a gem. Maki and Clive are wonderful hosts who made us feel welcome. The house is a beautifully and lovingly renovated finca with an incredible amount of character and attention to detail. Clive is an amazing cook, and the breakfasts and dinner will remain in our memory for years to come! Truly a find and a special place.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianaSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2011

Maki and Clive have done an incredible job creating an amazing, authentic, thoroughly gastronomic retreat. I went with golearnto.com and combined cookery lessons with horseriding and found that Dorcas (owner of the Riding school - Cortijo Las Minas) complimented Maki and Clive's relaxed approach to imparting the truely Andalucian ways and I had possibly the best holiday I have ever had!

To be particular - you will find a very beautiful renovated farmhouse, complete with ensuite rooms very tastefully and authentically decorated, under floor heating, a small but lovely swimming pool, all set in amazing countryside surrounded by olive groves. 2 very friendly dogs, a cat and Maki and Clive make you feel very welcome. Breakfast is a culinary experience in itself and Clive's authentic dinners are not to be missed!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2010

After an eventful journey we received such a warm welcome from Clive, Maki, Cei and their dogs. I have to agree with the comments from the previous writer - delicious dinners, great breakfasts and a beautiful setting, iznajar is an unspoilt gem. We did a package including a cooking lesson and horse riding (I have to plug our riding school www.ecuestrelasminas.com). A great relaxation spot for two very worn out city girls. Thanks very much, Terry and Anna.

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annahalpin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

After viewing many reviews on trip advisor we decided to stay at Finca las Encinas and it was very much worth it! We travelled around Andalusia in mid October for a last minute trip and so the day time temperature was warm enough to wear short sleeves but at night it gets a bit chilly.

You definitely need a car if you are travelling around this area. To get there, we used the finca’s online directions which are definitely needed and very accurate. I think our sat nav would not have been able to get us there as it’s off the beaten track a bit.

When we arrived at the finca we were greeted by Maki and Clive and 2 dogs- I miss smokey already! We felt welcome immediately. We also met Cei, their fun, charming little boy – all in all we felt a very home-from-home feeling here.
We were shown to our room, dropped our bags and went outside to the patio area. There is a nice pool over looking olive groves, unfortunately it was too cool to swim in at this time of year! Outside there is a lovely big wooden table under grape vines with a fantastic view and a telescope; inside there is a tv/lounge area and a dining table in case it’s too cool to sit outside.

The room: we had a double room upstairs. The stairs are very steep, so if you have a heavy suitcase or a bad back, just be careful. Our bedroom had high ceilings and small windows, typical of the area. There are wooden beams exposed which gives it a nice rustic feel. The room was simple and very clean, adorned with a blanket (no duvet – perhaps in winter this changes?) and those cool long double pillows you get in Spain (I love those) – don’t expect a tv or anything, but you wouldn’t want one for this type of experience. There is a shower room up a few stairs – the shower itself wasn’t amazing but ok. We liked the fact that they are eco conscious – using solar power, large bottles of shampoo instead of your small tiny ones, not changing towels etc

When we arrived we needed to get a bite to eat, so we drove to the nearest restaurant (not in the town) and had a sandwich. A very simple place, with no English spoken (I quite like that!) but the ham and cheese sandwiches were GOOD, overlooking the lake. Iznajar itself you need to drive to, it’s cute and has a nice church and a wonderful view – it’s very small so would take just an hour or two to look around.

Later, back at the finca, Clive offered us a drink outside and introduced us to our first taste of fino on ice. Yum! Peaceful and wonderful!

The food: we stayed for dinner both nights and I would say that this really made our stay memorable.

Clive is a Welsh chef and now specialises in cooking food from the area. He is fantastic.

Breakfast is typical of the area: a smorgasbord of different meats, fruit (like pomegranate and custard pear) and good strong coffee. Tostadas with tomato, garlic and delicious olive oil.

On the first night we sat inside as it was a bit chilly outside. We had a prawn and sherry bisque to start, a Moroccan chicken dish with pilaf type rice as a main and a chocolate tower sponge yummy thing for desert. A fantastic meal – it was nice that Clive explained each dish as well and we also had a fab bottle of wine and some sherry to end.

Night two was my favourite meal (my husband’s fave was night one) and we sat outside – to start we had asparagus with almond sauce, literally the best dish I’ve had THIS YEAR, if I could eat it all day I would. For main we had a lightly pan fried (I think) fish and for desert we had a dish with peaches – and wine of course.

I know they do cooking courses as a package at the finca – I think that would be definitely worth it in the summer.

On our way to Cordoba (our next stop), Maki and Clive suggested two places to visit nearby – the place that makes their olive oil they use (the best in the world, literally) and the place where the best local fino is made –Alvear. Both very interesting and worth the trip.

Over all, a fantastic two nights, thank you Clive, Maki and Cei…we hope to come and visit again! I am going to be trying to recreate your asparagus for guests next weekend, I hope that mine lives up to yours!!!
xx

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stellarjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2010

Selfishlly, we would like to keep this Finca a secret, but this would be alien to the generosity of spirit found here. Maki has an eye for detail in ensuring her guests' comfort,and will offer knowledgeable advice on places to visit. Clive, like all expert chefs, is a champion of local produce ( prepare to be treated to " Spains' no 1 olive oil; ) and his meals whether produced by pupils on his cookery courses, or by himself will ever delight the discriminating palate.
You will count yourself fortunate to have discovered Las Encinas,and quite possibly like ourselves you will invent excuses to return. Peter & Sonya Perthshire Scotland

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hispanphiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2010

My wife and i stayed here earlier in the year after visiting Iznajar on a previous visit.

The combination of Maki`s warmth and hospitality and Clive`s superb food is a magical combination. Clive selects the best ingredients from the garden or local sources to create some really memorable food

The house sits high up in a local village and is not far from Granada and Cordoba both of which we loved.
our only criticism is they need a sign on the drive so you can find the place

We are going back for more next year

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherryandbobbins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Iznajar hotels
6.9 mi away
Cortijo La Haza
Cortijo La Haza
#2 of 9 in Iznajar
150 reviews
4.9 mi away
Caseria de San Jose
Caseria de San Jose
#4 of 9 in Iznajar
46 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Cortijo Andalus
Villa Cortijo Andalus
#6 of 9 in Iznajar
15 reviews
0 mi away
Camping Valdearenas
Camping Valdearenas
#5 of 7 in Iznajar
8 reviews
6.5 mi away
Casa Pino Solo
Casa Pino Solo
#1 of 7 in Iznajar
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Finca Las Encinas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Finca Las Encinas

Address: Calle Los Juncares, Los Juncares, S/N, 14979, Cordoba, 14979 Iznajar, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Iznajar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Iznajar
Price Range: $67 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gourmet B&B with Cooking Courses - Finca Las Encinas, Iznajar, Andalusia, enjoys a magical setting surrounded by the unspoilt landscapes and offers its guests a homely and idyllic atmosphere. Centrally located in Andalusia, the guests can easily explorer the area or indulge oneself and get way from it all. Sample great food and wine or participate in cooking courses for an exceptional culinary experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing