We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well worth the money”
Review of Mount Cashel Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Cashel Lodge
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Well worth the money”
Reviewed August 29, 2009

Nice, clean, comfortable cottage on a pretty lake with canoe, kayak, fishing equipment, for shared use with other guests. Adjacent to owner's house and two other lodges, yet private if you want it to be. Includes fridge, stove, dishwasher, washer & dryer, BBQ, which saved us a lot of time. Woodburning stove inside and chopped wood in the shed for those cold Irish summer nights. Free satellite TV and Internet access. Owner's two adorable friendly dogs come to visit. Quite convenient location for touring W & SW Ireland - 5 mins to nearby town for groceries, 20 mins to Shannon and Limerick. Guidebook provided by owner has excellent suggestions for exploring the area including Ring of Kerry (2 hrs drive from cottage), and even a discount on a round of golf. Two bed, two bath was perfect for our family of four adults for our 6-night stay. Definitely exceeded our expectations.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trave1guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
6
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2009

My husband, Mother and I stayed 4 nights at this enchanting lodge. We had the large Stables (4 bedrooms) and it was perfect. It had all the modern conveniences (very well equipped kitchen, TV, CD player, washer, separate dryer) and is beautifully decorated and so comfortable. There are many windows so it is very bright with views of the lake and pastures. Plenty of wonderful touches such as breakfast supplies when you arrive, large soaps and nice towels. The setting is just what you go to Ireland to see. The lake with swans and views of rolling hills, green pastures and cows is so serene. We enjoyed dinners outside on the patio. The location was great. We took day trips to the Cliffs of Moher, the Burren, and Bunratty Castle. We came home early one day just to enjoy sitting by the lake and soaking in the views. This is certainly a find and we all highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tunitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2009

What a wonderful retreat. The owners were so friendly and helpful. You could tell they loved sharing their property with us. The cottage was absolutely perfect for a "home base" to do day trips from throughout western Ireland. It is so cozy and comfortable, like home away from home. We even started calling it "home"! The location feels so remote and quiet yet is close to so many things, good food, entertainment, historical landmarks, the airport, all within only minutes drive. Sure there's no fitness center or swimming pool but the beautiful property to wander on and the serene lake to gaze at or boat/fish in makes up for it! Cannot say enough about what a gem this cottage is. I almost feel like I should keep it a secret!
Julie

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank usirishlass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2008

The house is wonderful, well cared for, loads of room, well appointed and generally a pleasure to stay in for our group of five adults. The premises were modern and bright. The grounds and the lake were a bonus. The property itself is well located, just outside of Sixmilebridge, in easy driving distance of all of the sights and activities in the central and southwest.

And a final word about the owners, who are on-site. Pat and Annette Shanahan were gracious and warm hosts who made us feel very welcome.

  • Liked — large, comfortable, well located
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetorent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2008

For travelers looking for a peaceful place to stay near Bunratty Castle and Shannon Airport, this is it! I discovered this gem of a property on Alistair Salway's List of Special Places, and it was wonderful.

The property is set on a beautiful lake surrounded by meadows and fields. We stayed in one of two self catering cottages next to the main house, where the owners reside. It has been lovingly preserved and restored, and is a wonderful introduction to a wonderful country.

There is a nice kitchen on the first floor along with a cosy living area. Upstairs are two comfortable rooms and bathrooms, perfect for a family of four.

Like the other families, our children loved the animals, including the two dogs, donkies and a pony.

The property is on a lovely lane a short distance from the village of sixmilebridge, and a well located for visiting Bunratty Castle and Ennis -- a fun, busy market town. The famous, spectacular Cliffs of Mohar are a bit farther afield, but still manageable.

Only one, small note of caution -- on cold days it is a bit of a struggle to get the downstairs wam- you defintely need to use the wood-stove in the fireplace. But the upstairs area stayed warm and snug.

In short, highly recommended!

  • Liked — The setting
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KarenfromDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Village, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

We stayed in one of the two bedroom/two bathroom lodges at Mt. Cashel for 3 nights. The accommodation was wonderful! We had plenty of room for the 4 of us - all adults. Everything was very clean and the beds were extrememly comfortable. The property is located on a beautiful, private lake and there are plenty of boats and kayaks available for use by the people staying at Mt. Cashel. There is free internet service available and there is a washer and dryer (two separate machines) that were the best we had during our 2 week trip. Pat & Annette Shanahan are the owners and they were extremely nice, but unobtrusive. This was the best place we stayed out of the four self-catering accommodations we rented during this trip. We would definitely stay here again. And, it is only about 15 minutes to Shannon Airport.

  • Liked — The location on the lake
  • Disliked — Cant' think of a thing.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mom83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kilmurry
6.3 mi away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,084 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Oakwood Hotel
The Oakwood Hotel
#2 of 3 in Shannon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
8.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Shannon Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Dunraven Arms Hotel
5.9 mi away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,140 reviews
5.1 mi away
Bunratty Manor Hotel
Bunratty Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bunratty
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Cashel Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Cashel Lodge

Property: Mount Cashel Lodge
Address: Kilmurry | Sixmilebridge, Kilmurry, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Kilmurry
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kilmurry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Cashel offers two & four bedroom period Self-Catering Lodges, situated on a private estate with a lake and centrally located in Ireland's beautiful Mid-West. Lake boating, kayaking and fishing are available on site. Self-catering lodges sleep from 2 to 19 people and enjoys an excellent location from which to tour the dramatic west coast of Ireland and visit local attractions such as Bunratty Castle, Cragganowen, Ennis, Limerick and the Burren. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mount Cashel Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing