We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty food in simple surrounds”

Dragon Pearl Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 53 Restaurants in Charlestown
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Tasty food in simple surrounds”
Reviewed July 16, 2014

From the outside it looked a little plain and sterile but ventured in as there were quite a few tables taken and upon entering knew the diners were local so that is normally a good sign. One of the young girls who served us appeared to be very inexperienced and would benefit from learning from the other girl working with her who was way more efficient and in control. The food was very tasty and quite generous in size. The pork rib cutlets in plum sauce were extremely good. The prices were very reasonable and we bought BYO and were not charged corkage.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MooreFamily63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Lovely People, average food.”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I, like Peter L, have eaten at a lot of Chinese restaurants around Australia and in other countries. Unfortunately this is just another one selling "westernised" Chinese food. We ordered 4 mains between 3 of us. One was advertised as braised duck with crab meat and mushrooms. Sounded nice but the crab turned out to be seafood extender. Dish was a bit tasteless. I found the other 3 dishes, Peking Scallops (unusual sauce) satay king prawns and pork ribs in plum sauce to be a bit underwhelming. The service from the waitress was prompt and very attentive. The decor was, well, non existent but clean and neat. The meals did come quickly though. Perhaps I have been spoiled with real Chinese cuisine. Just trying to balanced with my review.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RLNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“yummy food...”
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Great food and well priced. Small restaurant filled with what looked like locals (as they all knew each other), which is always a good sign of good food.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank LouLouLucy21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best Chinese food in Australia”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I've been frequenting Dragon Pearl for the best part of 30 years. I've eaten at a lot of Chinese restaurants around Australia, and Dragon Pearl I'd rate as the best. The food is excellent - my favourite dish is the honey chicken. I'm impressed by the fast service, professionalism of the staff and owners. The food is phemonenally brilliant in every way. Thank you, Dragon Pearl for exciting my culinary taste buds on every visit

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food and great service!”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Our party of 6 arrived just before closing time, but we were made very welcome by the young waitress. Nothing was a problem. The food was fresh and yummy, with great flavour. The owner of the restaurant came out to offer more chinese tea, as it was so late by this stage that the young waitress had to leave as she had school the next day. To top it all off, the bill was very reasonable! We will definitely be eating there next time we are staying in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Brooksy266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dragon Pearl Restaurant also viewed

Charlestown, Lake Macquarie
Charlestown, Lake Macquarie
 
Cardiff, Lake Macquarie
Newcastle, Greater Newcastle
 

Been to Dragon Pearl Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing