We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay - peaceful nights sleep”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Overnight stay - peaceful nights sleep”
Reviewed September 11, 2010

Everything we expect of a Quality Hotel. Service, cleanliness and presentation very good although could do with a makeover. Unfortunately the restaurant is closed on a Sunday so we never experienced it, however the breakfast delivered to our room was on time and very nice. Although located close to a busy road, our room was very quiet and both the bed and couch comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gypsywillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

753 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    293
    68
    22
    10
See reviews for
161
238
43
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

I stayed one night recently in the Quality Inn Apollo while on buisness in Charlestown. I previously have used the nearby Best Western Madison, but as that hotel has declined in standard over the past 5 years I chose to try out the Quality Inn Apollo.

The Apollo is a quality business hotel which ticked all the necessary boxes for a business traveller. Check in was friendly and efficient, the room was comfortable and included a desk with a nearby powerpoint, free Wi-Fi was included. Ample parking is provided. I dined in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast and the service and food were both excellent.

The restaurant is a Western fine-dining style establishment, and had 4 staff waiting on 5 tables on the night I stayed there. The food is typical of a business hotel - good quality but priced as expected (not cheap).

After my one stay here this has become my preferred hotel in Newcastle. The hotel is dated (very 1980s style) but is in good repair and the staff were very friendly. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to business travellers.

A positive feature is that this hotel does not charge any credit card surcharges. I find it deplorable that hotels can enjoy more benefits of credit card use than most other industries (booking guarantees, pre-authorisations, charging for no-shows, charging for late charges, avoiding large cash transactions) where at the same time the industry has been one of the most bullish industries in Australia to introduce credit card surcharges. Well done to the Apollo for not introducing any surcharges.

Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank OzML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for very generous comments. We pride ourselves on providing outstanding service and value for money. In regard to your comments about the dated appearance of the rooms, you will know, as a repeat visitor, that the hotel is undergoing major renovation and renewal. We hope to welcome back to our stylish new rooms in the very near future. Trevor Morris - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 13, 2010

General information:
1. We stayed in room 46, we had a balcony looking out onto bushland. Despite the hotel being on a main road, it was still quite peaceful.
2. We asked to stay an extra night & they were accommodating (& obviously had capacity!).
3. Toiletries included in bathroom:
- Sanitary bag
- Shower cap
- Vanity set (2 cotton pads & 2 cotton buds)
- Shampoo & conditioner
4. No complimentary hot chocolate satchet(s).
5. No safe.
6. No in-house movies.

Pros:
1. Very friendly reception.
2. Room service - timely arrival of food, friendly service, orders were correct, food was good.
3. Very spacious room.
4. Ample free parking at the front of the hotel.
5. Free wireless internet.
6. Complimentary fresh milk.

Cons:
1. Dinner room service stops at 9:30pm.
2. Furniture & general trimmings are a little dated, with cracks visible in a few places in the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TulipSprinkles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2011
Thank you for your comments, which certainly highlight some of the positive features of our hotel. We pride ourselves on the service we provide, and our rooms are certainly spacious and comfortable. The hotel is currently undergoing a total renovation and 44 new luxurious rooms are being added. We trust that you will again visit us and enjoy your stay in, what will soon be, a superbly located, stylish new hotel. Trevor Morris - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2010

Last minute booking on wotif - very good price - not sure that I'd pay rack rate to stay here. Very pleasant reception staff, comfortable room with nice bushy outlook, free wireless internet, and fresh milk (not UHT). The only thing we didn't like was that we couldn't open the window - appeared to have been bolted shut, which is a pity if you like fresh air!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sueg0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 10, 2009

the hotel looks really nice and everything is really really spacious. But the fittings are a little old, but still nice. The sheets werent that clean, they had some small blood stains in them and i found a pube hair....:( Also, found dead cockcroach on floor in the corridor. but otherwise everything else is quite nice. :)

I'd probably try somewhere else next time i visit newcastle, but its not a bad place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for your review and your candid comments. Much has changed since you stayed with us in 2009. We are currently in the throws of major renovation and renewal of our perfectly located hotel. Our General Manager, David Ingelton (who has now been with us for one year), and his enthusiastic and professional team, is dedicated to providing a level of service and professionalism beyond the norm and we hope to welcome you back to our totally renovated and expanded hotel in the near future. We will use every endeavor to make your stay memorable. Trevor Morris - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Stayed here for three nights in November (I live in Sydney but work in Newcastle during the week) and booked a suite for $175 a night. On arrival found that while the suite was quite large, the decor was dated and the overall feel was of a room that needed a makeover.
The bathroom had a spa bath which looked so unappealing I never used it - the tiles around it were cracked with dirty grout, and the bottom of the spa had deep black marks in it from age.
The suite had air conditioning which was very noisy but had to be run often as the room got very stuffy, even with the balcony door open. The sound isolation was also very poor with this weird issue I'd never come across anywhere before, with a guy in a room downstairs (I think) talking on his mobile phone, and I could very clearly hear him when I was sitting at the desk in my room!
I had room service food twice, the first time was awful - fish that was brown and swimming in oil, the second time was a steak sandwich that was OK. The full breakfast consisted of hard rubbery scrambled eggs and tough bacon.

I could not recommend this hotel and will not be returning - the only reason I stayed here is that where I normally stay, the Chifley Apartments, were full that week - the Chifley is a much better place to stay for the same money.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank OzTraveller07Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2011
Thank you for your review and your candid comments. Much has changed since you stayed with us in 2009. We have written a similar response to another reviewer who, like you, stayed with us some time ago. We are currently in the throws of major renovation of our existing 50 rooms and are adding 44 stylish new rooms to our perfectly located hotel. Our General Manager, David Ingelton (who has now been with us for one year), and his enthusiastic and professional team, is dedicated to providing a level of service and professionalism beyond the norm and we hope to welcome you back to our totally renovated and expanded hotel in the near future. We will use every endeavor to make your stay memorable. Trevor Morris - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
christchurch
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2009

Just a tip - if you stay here, take everything of value with you whenever you leave the room. I stayed at this hotel, thieves broke into my room and stole all of my gear. My computer, camera, phone, LCD projector and cash etc were all stolen. Management gave me $100 for my trouble and tried to charge me for room service! The manager, Dominque is aggressive and unhelpful. There were two break in's on the same night. Be very, very careful. There are safer places to stay.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Malster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linear5, Owner at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2011
We gave revisited all the guests over the past few years and came across this review going back to 2008. Unfortunately, Dominique, the General Manager at that time, is no longer with us, so we cannot verify the events. We are obviously truly sorry about the incident, but can certainly confirm that we cannot recall one break-in over the past couple of years. We believe that the hotel is secure and, in our current renovation and expansion programme, (due for completion over the next 9 months) all rooms will have safes. Of course, in the intervening period, valuables can certainly be left in the safe at the front desk. We would hope that you will consider visiting us again, where our outstanding General Manager, David Ingelton, and his team, will go our of their way to look after you. Once again we apologise for the robbery, but can assure you that it was an aberrant event, and is certainly not the norm at our facility. Kind regards Trevor Morris - Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
390 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
1,005 reviews
3.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
842 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
355 reviews
4.2 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
Travelodge Hotel Newcastle
#13 of 22 in Newcastle
1,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Address: 290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel is a 94 room, recently totally renovated and extended 4.5 star hotel, located 10 minutes south of Newcastle CBD and providing easy access to the city and local beaches. Set against a backdrop of native bush reserve, Apollo International provides quality accommodation, professional personalised service and well appointed modern facilities. Just minutes drive to the heart of Newcastle and 2 hours from Sydney via the F3 expressway. Unmistakable in appearance, the hotel offers arguably the newest, largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel Greater Newcastle/Charlestown, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing