We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel, crappy service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

I absolutely love the hotel, but the female at the front desk, was an absolute rude arrogant blonde piece of work. The other front desk lady was absolutely lovely. Helped my partner and I out a lot. Made my stay worth it.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Taylah124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Taylah124

Thank you for completing this survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

At the Apollo International we have procedures that we enforce all front desk staff to follow. One of these procedures is to ensure that the hotel secures funds for the accommodation and any extras prior to checking the guests in. This procedure is stated in our terms and conditions allowing our guests the chance to review this prior to booking and staying. As we do not know every guests that arrives at the hotel - I am sure that you would understand why this is required.

For me to understand the full extent of the situation, I ask that you please contact me directly on 02 4943 6733 to discuss exactly your dissatisfaction with this individual, so that I can rectify any issues and ensure a better experience for all future guests.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (785)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 785 reviews

Reviewed July 13, 2014

As always Richard and his splendid team looked after us - just like home from home.
Clean spacious rooms, quiet and great room service.
The Babbingtons Resturaunt serves a splended range of quality food.
Try David's special's, they are superb meals well worth it
Thank you Guy's

Room Tip: Ask the Receptionist for their oppinion for ideal room to suit your needs. I have been in them all a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your most recent stay. My team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself here at the newly extended and refurbished BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel.

Our restaurant "Babbingtons" that you refer to is well renowned and awarded within Newcastle and the team members take great pride in offering an exceptional experience that can't be beaten.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our wonderful city of Newcastle in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

When we arrived we were greeted immediately and the service was very good. Clean Room, the air con was a bit old so took a while to warm up the room. Apart from that it was a pleasant overnight stay. My husband had room service and said it was very good.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank fussytravellers81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02 4943 6733.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Clean room very good we'll presented a credit to your staff. Parking is plenty and close to your room, food well presented and nicely cooked by the kitchen staff , all areas that I saw was clean and the staff very friendly even the domestic staff we're friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for what what is be best for you and if it can be done in a room location that is best for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Albert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your most recent stay. My team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself here at the newly extended and refurbished BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback and any future recommendation of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apollo International and our wonderful city of Newcastle in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was our first time staying at the Apollo. The reception staff were lovely and would greet us everytime we entered the hotel. We were very impressed by the cleaniness and the size of the rooms. Our room opened up to a balcony with a beautiful view of the bush. I would stay here again and would highly recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Stayed in the family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JF0959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your most recent stay. My team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself here at the newly extended and refurbished BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback and any future recommendation of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apollo International and our wonderful city of Newcastle in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2014

This was the first time we've stayed at the Apollo since the extension and refurb and I was impressed by the room size and decor. The furnishings and finishes are all very modern, yet warm and inviting. The wall seemed a little bare in places though and could have done with some more artwork. I rarely use the shampoo, conditioner and bath gel offered at hotels but I was pleasantly surprised that they had MOR products - a brand I like to buy for gifts - so on this occasion I both used the products and took home the leftovers :)! The buffet breakfast was very good, with the scrambled eggs a standout for being decidedly fluffy and freshly cooked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goodstrongarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your most recent stay. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself here at the newly extended and refurbished BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel.

As noted all the amenities used in our rooms are MOR products - when travelling away from home we like our guests to feel pampered and enjoy the little extras that we give away. It is great to hear that this has not gone unnoticed and I will also happily express your appreciation to the chefs and service staff.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback and any future recommendation of our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Apollo International and our wonderful city of Newcastle in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We always stay here when visiting or passing though Newcastle. Efficient staff, great location and attractive views overlooking native bush scenery. Plenty of parking and attractive pricing. Well done to all

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Springbeef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2014

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for completing the survey and sharing with all your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

I will express to all the staff members concerned your appreciation to the service received and the quality of the meal, it is always very encouraging to hear positive feedback like this.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and brand. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02 4943 6733.

Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
415 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 24 in Newcastle
374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 24 in Newcastle
1,055 reviews
7.6 mi away
Lake Macquarie Motor Inn
3.8 mi away
The Esplanade Motel
The Esplanade Motel
#1 of 2 in Warners Bay
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel

Address: 290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range: $95 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel is a 94 room, recently totally renovated and extended 4.5 star hotel, located 10 minutes south of Newcastle CBD and providing easy access to the city and local beaches. Set against a backdrop of native bush reserve, Apollo International provides quality accommodation, professional personalised service and well appointed modern facilities. Just minutes drive to the heart of Newcastle and 2 hours from Sydney via the F3 expressway. Unmistakable in appearance, the hotel offers arguably the newest, largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Best Western Plus Apollo International Hotel Greater Newcastle/Charlestown, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing