We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Apollo International
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Stayed while in town for a friends birthday. requested undercover parking on my booking and it was no problem. Staff friendly an chatty. room clean with views of bush land newcastle. On main road so good access to public transport/taxis

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kylie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02 4943 6733.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    337
    287
    65
    22
    10
See reviews for
153
231
43
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

The Apollo has been around for many years but it's recent expansion and transformation brings it right up to date. Rooms are spacious and whilst not overly luxurious are modern and comfortable. We stayed two nights in an executive level room with balcony with breakfast included for a very reasonable and competitive rate. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOVO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for writing such a positive review following your recent stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel.

As noted we have newly extended and refurbished the entire hotel and we pride ourselves on offering impeccable service and a superior product at a most competitive price. We love the comment in regards to an “old favourite reborn” – as we truly believe that this hotel now stands out proud from the rest of the hotels in Newcastle. It was great to hear that all this has not gone un-noticed and that guests appreciate quality and service when they receive it, I will happily express your feelings and comments to the entire team.

We are delighted that you had a great experience and that you enjoyed our very quiet and spacious bedrooms. I will also be sure to mention that the chefs, waiters and reception staff excelled in their hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Apollo International Hotel. It will be our pleasure to have another opportunity to show you the gracious hospitality and superb service for which we are known throughout Newcastle.

Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2014

Once again I have had the good fortune of staying at this great hotel and once again I am so very impressed. The management and staff certainly know what they are doing and know how to make a guest feel so welcome. The receptionist Taylah was extremely efficient and friendly and a great asset to the already well run hotel. We ordered a lunch pack the night before and picked it up in the morning and it was divine. What a great idea. So much better than stopping at a fast food place. The food was fresh, so well presented and very tasty. Well done Apollo. Keep up the good work. I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing the BEST WESETERN PLUS Apollo International, we truly appreciate you sharing about your experience at our hotel on Trip Advisor. It’s great to hear that our friendly Team Members were able to enhance your stay with the superior level of service we strive to provide all of our guests!

Having newly extended and refurbished the entire hotel, we pride ourselves on offering impeccable service and a superior product at a most competitive price. It was great to hear that it has not gone un-noticed and that guests appreciate quality and service when they receive it, I will happily express your feelings and comments to the entire team.

We welcome you back on your next stay in our wonderful city of Newcastle, and if I can be of any assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02 4943 6733.

Sincerely.

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed up at the Apollo Hotel for the weekend for a quick get away and all I can say is wow , the standed of this hotel, food and staff was impeccable, check in was quick and easy and very friendly, the Hotel Manager even help us with our bags ( as I have a broken foot at the moment ) nothing was a problem to any of the staff, the food ( dinner and breakfast ) was 5 star standard but not expensive, a big thank you to all the staff you made our get away even better, will be back very soon

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcusfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for completing the survey and sharing with all your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

I will express to all the staff members concerned your appreciation to the service received, it is always very encouraging to hear positive feedback like this.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our hotel and brand. If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02 4943 6733.

Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Best Western is a chain with a confused brand image. It can be anything from a down and dirty two star motel right up to an inner city five star joint and varies greatly from property to property. As such I did not know what to expect here .....


I arrived at midnight one night. The lady at check in was friendly, professional and efficient.

The room was large and had been renovated. My only complaint as to the room was there was no pen on the desk.

Breakfast served in a nice restaurant in leafy surrounds. The continental breakfast buffet looked a tad limited. The full breakfast was good however a la cart rather than buffet. I suppose this is actually an upmarket approach but to be honest as a business traveler with limited time I prefer a buffet with hot food.

Location is OK as long as you don't require easy access to the Newcastle CBD which is a ten minute drive away.

Free parking and free WiFi both plusses.

Overall a good value proposition.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank booyeahSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, June 22, 2014
Dear booyeahSydney,

Thank you for the review and all those compliments. I am happy to hear that you found us friendly, enjoyed the accommodation and Babbingtons - our award-winning restaurant.

In recent years Best Western has gone through an extensive transformation where all properties were subject to regular and rigorous Quality Assurance assessments and all under-performing properties did not remain in our chain. In conjunction with this we tiered all our properties on a 3 tier level - Best Western, Best Western Plus and Best Western Premier therefore giving the consumer the best possible opportunity to know what type of premises they were booking into to.

We look forward to your return and thus having the opportunity in warmly welcoming you back to the Apollo International and our wonderful city of Newcastle.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02 4943 6733.

Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

There may be some positives, but I cannot recommend this place. The management team and/or booking system lack any integrity. At the end of the day you'd like to stay in a place hosted by people you trust, and this is not one of them.

We spent two nights at the Apollo in June. We booked the first night online, and late, so it was expensive. When we finally arrived after a long day we found to our chagrin that we had been "unbooked" as the management claimed not to have had a phone number for us. This was patently untrue as our printout of their booking confirmation included our mobile phone number. Begrudgingly they gave us a slightly larger room, but only because it was one of the only ones left. It was not a great start.

There was already a likelihood we'd need to spend an additional day in Newcastle, so as we checked in we asked about rates for an additional day. They were surprisingly high. We therefore asked about a specific offer we'd seen on their website but were told it wasn't available because of some curious conditions which frankly did not match our recollection of the website.

By next morning we knew we had to stay another day in Newcastle. Before checking out we again asked about rates for another night, and again the quoted rates were high. We had checked the special offer on their website overnight (it was a king bed room and other extras at a base room rate) and the conditions quoted the previous evening by management were simply not there, so we asked about it as well. This time there were no make-believe conditions and we rebooked for a night, albeit in a different room. We even paid in advance for convenience.

Checking in the second time was quick, but the room seemed odd. As we went to dinner we asked if it really was a king size bed, as it looked smaller. We were pained by the answer. We were told their system automatically allocates a standard room, not the advertised upgrade, but we could be upgraded in accordance with the offer if we insisted. In other words, Best Western Apollo would honour its offer only if got caught out cheating on the guests and they complained.

We didn't bother unpacking and changing rooms. There was no point getting riled by their dishonesty. This was simply a management team we did not want to deal with ever again.

The other negatives - the towels were clean and white, but there were as few as possible in the rooms, and they were thin and aged. There were long queues each day at the 10am checkout as there was only one person to handle the easily-anticipated numbers.

The positives? The desk staff were friendly and almost made up for the rest of the admin.The rooms were clean and comfortable and they fixed the restaurant coffee machine promptly when it broke down in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SanMarco2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologise for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using your feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

It is our hotel procedure that we call all guests after a certain time to ensure their arrival. This is common practice and is done in most hotels. On the night of your arrival we had just started phoning all guests, came across your reservation and then noticed that we did not have your number reflecting on the computer.

You had then just arrived and we mentioned to you that it was perfect timing as we were about to call you but was struggling to get hold of you. You then showed on your reservation page your number and therefore should be in the reservation as the Best Western print out did reflect your number. We apologised and said that it must me a technical fault. At no stage did we say we unbooked your reservation as you had provided your personal credit card number to guarantee.

The room that we provided the first night was no larger than the room you booked as this was never changed, you had booked an executive room last minute on a long weekend which is one of our hotels most expensive rooms when Newcastle was at its busiest. Whilst most hotels including this hotel runs dynamic rates the price of accommodation can vary dramatically one day to the next depending on demand.

You then came down early on the Sunday and enquired about extending, as you were currently in an executive room we therefore quoted for you to be extended in the same room at the internet price. You mentioned the fact that you had seen a different rate on the internet for $149 and Stacey our receptionist explained that was in fact for our entry level deluxe room. You mentioned that you would like to move to this new room type and Stacey offered you to stay in your room till 11am and that she would make the booking for you and call you when the room was clean and ready to be moved.

Later she called you to say that the new room was ready and that you could move. When you came down you asked about the free breakfast and it was at this stage that Stacey realised that you were initially referring to the exclusive limited offer “Apollo Special” that was advertised on the internet and changed the code on your reservation to include breakfast and a late check-out. What my receptionist forgot to do was then move you into a superior room as promised in the deal and for this we profusely apologise.

Other areas that were of a concern were the amount of towels and that they were aged, I will personally look into this as a matter of urgency – Thank you for bring this to our attention.

Thank you for the positive comments in respect to the staff at the desk and in the restaurant, I will certainly pass these comments on as it is always great to hear positive feedback.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience that we are known for.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 02 4943 6733.

Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2014

I recently held a training session and the facilities were great, the staff friendly and very accommodating to our needs, and the food wonderful.
The accommodation was well appointed and the restaurant food delicious!

We look forward to hosting another conference at this venue in the future.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kspar13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your lovely feedback regarding your most recent stay. My team and I are delighted to hear you enjoyed yourself here at the newly extended and refurbished BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel.

Our restaurant "Babbingtons" that you refer to is well renowned and awarded within Newcastle and the team members take great pride in offering an exceptional experience that can't be beaten.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us such wonderful feedback. We look forward to welcoming you training session back to the Apollo International and our wonderful city of Newcastle in the not so distant future.

Kind regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
374 reviews
4.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
953 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
808 reviews
3.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
372 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Apollo International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Apollo International

Property: Best Western Plus Apollo International
Address: 290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Apollo International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel is a 94 room, recently totally renovated and extended 4.5 star hotel, located 10 minutes south of Newcastle CBD and providing easy access to the city and local beaches. Set against a backdrop of native bush reserve, Apollo International provides quality accommodation, professional personalised service and well appointed modern facilities. Just minutes drive to the heart of Newcastle and 2 hours from Sydney via the F3 expressway. Unmistakable in appearance, the hotel offers arguably the newest, largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Apollo International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Best Western Plus Apollo International Greater Newcastle/Charlestown, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing