We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazingly comfortable bed and great decor” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Best Western Plus Apollo International

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Best Western Plus Apollo International
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Certificate of Excellence
Inverell
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazingly comfortable bed and great decor”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Attending a school reunion I wanted to be close to the event location so chose this hotel based on previous experience plus cost factor. We were always happy staying here but I must say the refurbishment has enhanced the rooms décor amazingly. We were in room 220 this time and everything was top notch, huge flat screen, foxtel and free internet as well. The best thing was the huge kind bed which was so comfortable it was just like home. I missed retrieving some clothing from the wardrobe when packing and received a phone call the next day to tell me and they were fantastic putting them aside for a relative to pick up for me. Only concern was the creaking bathroom door lol. Thank you again Apollo, will stay again next time for sure, keep up the good work!

Room Tip: Rooms in the main area are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank truckette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Valued Guest

We are honoured that you chose to spend your reunion with us, and we are thrilled that you had a great time with us. We recently have finished the extention and full refurbishment and pride ourselves on a top quality hotel at an affordable price.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your feedback for fellow travellers.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

With warmest regards

Richard Christie
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    281
    64
    22
    10
See reviews for
149
228
41
213
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

I stay every now and then for work. The rooms are always clean, bathrooms are great, I always have room service for dinner, you can order from the Babbington's menu, which is delicious as I have tried everything on the room service menu.

It's an easy stay and plenty of ample parking.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m_marlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

Your business is very important to us and we value your feedback. By telling us what you liked about your stay and how we can improve, you are helping us deliver a superior experience for you and other guests in the future. We hope you will come back and see us again soon.

If I can be of assistance in the future, please don't hesitate to contact me at 02 4943 6733.

Thank you again for taking the time to complete the survey. We appreciate your loyalty to our brand.


Sincerely,

Richard Christie
General Manager
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campbell australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed jul 31 and booked the day of travel.

Staff very professional and very helpful if you need anything.

There is a lot of car parking either outdoors or underneath with a height of 2.1 m for those travelling with a roof box or a 4 wheel drive. The car park is not secured but there are cameras in and out.

Room Tip: Choose a room not near the doors to the car parks if on the lower floor. Some guests respect noise a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank splashgifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

Rated 4 stars.... maybe one too many.
The carpark & complimentary wifi are excellent for the business guest, surrounds and pool are very inviting.
It is obviously an old hotel which has has somewhat of a renovation. It has good quality furniture in the rooms however some of the finishes let it down for example - I had a “Deluxe Queen” Room, the shower only has a shower curtain & does not have a moulded base so the water simply goes straight onto the bathroom floor and makes a real mess, I accidently knocked the shower head off the holder and it sprayed water all over the ceiling, walls and mirror!
On my first night I was rudely awoken at 2am by the clock radio alarm which had been set to go off at the highest volume (prank by previous room guest?) Not impressed... This sort of stuff should be checked when the room is cleaned between guests.
You will definitely need a car if you want to stay here, drive to Newcastle city is about 10-15 mins, and Charlestown Shopping Centre is a bit of a walk along a busy road.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank licketylips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerApollo, General Manager at Best Western Plus Apollo International, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Thank you for the feedback provided on your recent visit to the hotel.
We note your lead-in comment “Rated 4 stars.... maybe one too many” and offer the following observation:
The Apollo International is rated under the AAA Star Rating program and the “score” factored by that independent industry body in July 2012, was in the very high percentile 4 Star range, indeed merely a few points short of AAA requirements for 4.5 Star status.
The hotel completed an extensive multi-million dollar extension and refurbishment program in mid-2012 and now sits as a leading 4 Star Accommodation, Restaurant and Conference & Events provider in the greater Newcastle region.

It would appear by your summary of the bathroom that you were accommodated in one of our “access rooms” in the original wing of the hotel. This is the only room style in the complex where a shower curtain is present in the bathroom and no screen or shower base is included – this because the room is also allocated to wheelchair-confined guests.
Despite this particular room being in the original complex, refurbishment was included in the multi-million dollar upgrade and extensions outlined above.
The room is one of 57 Deluxe Rooms in the complex and whilst its primary use is for those guests who have special access requirements, it is also regularly allocated where other Deluxe Rooms are unavailable. This is quite likely to have been the case during your stay – presumably a busy night for the hotel and for Newcastle as a whole.
I trust that this provides some clarification on the layout of the room.
It is worthy of note that in addition to Deluxe Rooms, the hotel also provides Premium and Executive Room options, priced accordingly and above the Deluxe rate.

The matter of your rude awakening at 2.00am is very disappointing and deeply regrettable and we sincerely apologise for this lapse in our cleaning process. Subsequent to your review, this shortcoming has been discussed fully with senior housekeeping staff and all cleaning attendants and additional procedures have been implemented to address the matter.
I trust that we may have opportunity to again welcome you during a future visit to Newcastle and perhaps at that time I may have the pleasure of greeting you personally.
Regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed one week so far, one week to go. This hotel has a lovely outlook from the rooms and restaurant of lovely lawn bordering a natural forest of gums. I require a gluten free diet and the hotel has been the best caterer to my needs I have ever had. They even were able to provide a gluten free packed lunch if pre arranged. Looking forward to my return visit.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelindaCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2013

After staying every week night for the past 11 months my stay at the Apollo has come to an end so I feel the need to tell everyone about the great staff & Hotel. It all starts as soon as you walk into the reception area & are meet by the smiling face of the reception staff weather it be Robyn, Stacey, Linsey, Yvonne, Tim, Danny or Scott they make you feel welcome from the first moment & are more than helpful while you are staying there. I mainly stayed in the new wing on the top floor which has a great view of the city lights & I loved being able to leave the door open & let the fresh air in. The bar & restaurant is run very well by Lee & her lovely staff of Linda, Faith, Lisa, Hanna, Tracy, Sarah & Daniell & back up by David the head chef. I have no problem in recommending this hotel to anyone & have told family & friends all about my time staying here & if it wasn't for the staff being so good I don't think I could have done it for so long & that also goes for the staff behind the seens so a thank also goes out to Berenice, Leah, Vicky, Susan & Cobby. To David the manager a big thank you to you & all of your staff & can you please pass this on to all of them

Room Tip: The rooms on level 3 & 4 have the best views & the restaurant does get really busy between 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Gorgeous room - great view from the balcony. Clean, well spaced room. We had a spa room - and even tho the spa stopped working mid way thru the night - the corner bath was still great. Staff very friendly and eager to please. Rooms clean and very well presented.

We had dinner at the pub down the road- also great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leis5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charlestown
0.3 mi away
Mercure Charlestown
Mercure Charlestown
#2 of 3 in Charlestown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Executive Inn
The Executive Inn
#7 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
4.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
Crowne Plaza Newcastle
#3 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Novotel Newcastle Beach
Novotel Newcastle Beach
#4 of 22 in Newcastle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
3.7 mi away
Junction Hotel
Junction Hotel
#1 of 22 in Newcastle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
5.4 mi away
Quality Hotel Noah's On the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Apollo International? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Apollo International

Property: Best Western Plus Apollo International
Address: 290 Pacific Hwy, Charlestown, Lake Macquarie, New South Wales 2290, Australia (Formerly Quality Hotel Apollo International)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Newcastle > Lake Macquarie > Charlestown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Charlestown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Best Western Plus Apollo International 4.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BEST WESTERN PLUS Apollo International Hotel is a 94 room, recently totally renovated and extended 4.5 star hotel, located 10 minutes south of Newcastle CBD and providing easy access to the city and local beaches. Set against a backdrop of native bush reserve, Apollo International provides quality accommodation, professional personalised service and well appointed modern facilities. Just minutes drive to the heart of Newcastle and 2 hours from Sydney via the F3 expressway. Unmistakable in appearance, the hotel offers arguably the newest, largest and most luxurious guest rooms in Newcastle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Apollo International reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Newcastle
Best Western Plus Apollo International Greater Newcastle/Charlestown, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing